The school most people still remember as "Hastings" became University of California College of the Law, San Francisco (UC Law SF) on January 1, 2023, after the governing board voted to strip the name of founder Serranus Clinton Hastings and the California legislature and governor approved the change. The renaming closed a controversy that had been building since at least 2017 and reached back to the school's founding in 1878.
Hastings, the first chief justice of the California Supreme Court, endowed the school in 1878 with a $100,000 donation, making it the first law school of the University of California and establishing it as a separate legal entity affiliated with, but not governed by, the UC Regents. That founding gift bought him permanent naming rights for over 140 years — until the school's own historical record caught up with him.
In 2017, adjunct professor John Briscoe published "The Moral Case for Renaming Hastings College of the Law," documenting Hastings' role in financing militias responsible for massacres of the Yuki people in Mendocino County during what is now recognized as the California genocide, specifically the Round Valley Settler Massacres of 1856–1859. The school did not act quickly. A 2020 commission chaired by Chancellor David L. Faigman confirmed the historical findings but initially recommended against changing the name. It took a 2021 New York Times article and renewed advocacy — including from alumnus Willie Brown — to push the board to reverse course and vote for removal.
The school's legal and operating name is University of California College of the Law, San Francisco, commonly shortened to UC Law SF. The rebrand also touched the school's scholarly output: the flagship journal formerly called the Hastings Law Journal is now the UC Law Journal, and other publications carry the UC Law prefix as well.
The renaming required more than an internal board vote. Because the school's name and governance trace back to 19th-century state statute, the change needed legislative and gubernatorial approval before it took effect on January 1, 2023 — a reminder of how unusually entangled this school's identity is with California state law, not just university policy.
Yes. Descendants of Serranus Clinton Hastings sued to block the name change, arguing the school was bound by the terms of the founding gift. That suit was dismissed in 2024, clearing the last legal obstacle to the new name.
A vestige does remain. The school's 11-member Board of Directors includes ten members appointed by the California governor and one seat statutorily reserved for a direct descendant of Serranus Clinton Hastings — currently Claes H. Lewenhaupt. There is also an older financial mechanism tied to the original 1878 gift: under a 19th-century state statute, if state funding to the school ever drops below $7,000 per year, the state is obligated to return Hastings' original $100,000 donation, plus interest, to his family. Both details are artifacts of the same founding-era arrangement that made the renaming legally complicated in the first place.
Practically, the renaming does not change the JD program, the faculty, or the location — it changes the name on the diploma and the journals, and it settles a genuinely unusual chapter of institutional history that current students and alumni discuss openly. Anyone researching the school under its former name should expect to see "Hastings College of the Law" in older case law, alumni bios, and historical materials; current materials, journals, and diplomas use UC Law SF or the full University of California College of the Law, San Francisco name. The episode is also a useful signal of how this school's governance and history diverge from a typical UC campus — a theme that carries directly into how the school is actually run today.
UC Law SF is legally affiliated with the University of California system but is not governed by the Regents of the University of California — instead it answers to its own 11-member Board of Directors. That distinction, unusual among public law schools, dates back to the school's founding structure in 1878 and was reinforced by an 1886 California Supreme Court decision.
When founder Serranus Clinton Hastings endowed the school in 1878, he set it up as a separate legal entity affiliated with the university rather than a division of it, and a dispute between Hastings and his own hand-picked board led to the 1886 case Kewen's Case. The California Supreme Court's ruling in that case struck down legislative attempts to fold the school under the Regents and cemented its independence — a status that has persisted, with adjustments, for well over a century. That's the structural reason UC Law SF's governance looks nothing like that of its cross-bay peer, UC Berkeley School of Law, which is a conventional Regents-governed UC campus.
Governance sits with an 11-member Board of Directors: ten members are appointed by the California governor, and one seat is statutorily reserved for a direct descendant of founder Serranus Clinton Hastings, a seat currently held by Claes H. Lewenhaupt. That gubernatorial-appointment structure, plus the founding-family board seat, is a direct legacy of the same 19th-century arrangement that produced the 2023 renaming dispute and the family's unsuccessful lawsuit against it.
No. The school has held ABA accreditation since 1939, was one of 27 charter members of the Association of American Law Schools in 1900, and maintains a chapter of the Order of the Coif — the same markers of institutional standing that conventionally-governed law schools carry. The JD is a University of California degree; what differs is who sits on the board deciding budgets, leadership, and policy, not the accreditation or degree-granting authority itself.
Yes, one specific and unusual one. Under the 19th-century statute tied to Hastings' original $100,000 founding gift, if state funding to the school ever falls below $7,000 per year, the state must return that original gift, with interest, to the Hastings family. It's a legal relic rather than a live financial risk, but it illustrates how tightly the school's founding-era legal structure is still woven into its present-day governance and finances.
For day-to-day student experience, the governance structure is mostly invisible — courses, clinics, and career services operate like those at any accredited law school. Where it matters is context: UC Law SF's identity, its 2023 renaming, and its unusual board composition are all downstream of the same founding-era independence from the Regents, and understanding that history explains why this school's institutional story reads so differently from other UC law schools.
A 152-157 LSAT spans UC Law SF's entire reported middle range for its most recent entering class — 152 sits at the 25th percentile, 155 is the median, and 157 marks the 75th percentile. In plain terms, if you're anywhere in that band, you are within the range the school itself uses to describe a typical admit, not an outlier in either direction.
UC Law SF received about 2,100 applications and extended roughly 890 offers, for a reported acceptance rate near 42%. The entering class landed at 201 students (197 full-time, 4 part-time). None of that is a probability statement about your file — acceptance rate describes the applicant pool as a whole, not any individual's chances — but LSAT and GPA bands matter more than raw selectivity ratios for understanding where you stand.
GPA tells a similar story. The middle 50% ranges from 3.16 (25th percentile) to 3.68 (75th percentile), with a 3.47 median. A candidate at, say, 156 LSAT / 3.5 GPA is sitting almost exactly at both medians simultaneously — the profile UC Law SF's own numbers describe as the center of its class. Someone at 152 LSAT / 3.16 GPA is at the bottom edge of both reported bands, while a 157 / 3.68 candidate is at the top edge of both. Where you fall inside that 152-157 window, and how your GPA lines up alongside it, is the single most useful lens for thinking about scholarship eligibility (addressed in the next section) — schools frequently calibrate merit aid to where an applicant sits relative to their medians, since a splitter who's above median on one number and below on the other pulls the class average in different directions.
What the data pack does not support is any claim about how a specific score-GPA combination converts into an offer decision. UC Law SF publishes 25th/50th/75th figures, not admission rates by cell, and this guide will not manufacture odds language it can't back up. If your numbers sit inside or above this band, you're squarely within the range the school's admitted class already reflects; if you're below it, the honest framing is that you'd be asking the committee to weigh other parts of your file more heavily, not that any specific score forecloses anything.
Illustrative: 3-year borrowing at the 2026-27 federal rate (8.07%) over 10 years; your figures depend on your offer and salary. Note: the full-tuition scenario is a hypothetical for comparison purposes only — the data pack reports 0% of students receiving a full-tuition award.
Yes — UC Law SF reports that 62% of its students receive some form of grant, but the school's own three-year retention data shows that roughly 37-41% of students on conditional scholarships have had their award reduced after the first year. That is not a rounding-error risk; it means well over a third of conditionally-scholarshiped students are losing money partway through law school, at a time when their debt load and course selection are already locked in.
What the grant numbers actually show. Of students receiving aid, the school reports that 25% get a grant covering less than half of tuition, 36% get a grant covering somewhere between half and full tuition, and 0% receive a full-tuition award. The reported median grant among full-time students is $33,718 — against annual tuition of $59,800 (plus $190 in fees) and a total estimated cost of attendance of $94,090 including living expenses. Even a median grant recipient is still financing roughly $60,000 a year in cost of attendance through loans, savings, or other aid, since the typical award covers a bit over half of tuition alone and a much smaller share of full COA. No student in the reported bands is receiving a full ride.
The retention numbers, year by year. UC Law SF's conditional-scholarship cohorts and reduction rates over three recent cycles were: 69 entering students in 2022-23, with 28 (40.6%) losing part of their award; 73 entering in 2023-24, with 28 (38.4%) reduced; and 96 entering in 2024-25, with 36 (37.5%) reduced. The pattern is remarkably stable — right around 38-41% of every conditional cohort has seen its scholarship shrink after the first year, across three straight years of reporting. That consistency matters: this isn't a one-time anomaly tied to an unusually hard curve in a single year, it's a structural feature of how the conditional program has functioned for at least three consecutive entering classes.
What 'conditional' means, mechanically. A conditional scholarship is standard across many law schools: it is awarded for the first year but carries a requirement — typically a minimum law-school GPA — that a student must hit to keep the full award in later years. The data pack does not disclose UC Law SF's specific GPA threshold or exactly how a reduced award is recalculated, so applicants should treat that detail as a question to ask admissions directly, not something this guide can state as fact. What the pack does make clear is the outcome: a large share of students who start with conditional aid do not keep all of it.
Why this matters for your decision. If you are offered a conditional scholarship at UC Law SF, the retention data says you should budget as if there is a real chance — well above one-in-four, based on three years of reported outcomes — that your grant shrinks after 1L year. That means running your own numbers two ways: what your annual cost looks like if you keep the full award, and what it looks like if it's reduced, given that tuition alone is $59,800 and full cost of attendance is estimated near $94,090. Because law school GPA in the first year is curved and relative — your standing depends on how your specific section performs, not just your own effort — a conditional award is a bet on relative class performance, not just personal effort, and roughly two in five students in UC Law SF's own recent cohorts have lost that bet in whole or in part.
Before accepting a conditional offer, it's worth asking the school directly for the exact GPA or class-rank benchmark tied to your specific award, since that figure is not part of what UC Law SF publishes in the aggregate data referenced here. It's also worth comparing any offer against other schools' packages before committing — for a walkthrough of how to do that constructively, see the general playbook on negotiating law school scholarship offers.
Yes, for a real slice of the class — but the honest picture is a school that sends a meaningful minority into Big Law while reporting zero graduates into federal or state clerkships in its most recent class, despite sitting steps from the courts that hand out those jobs. Of 114 total graduates, 16 (14%) landed at firms of 501+ attorneys, the segment of the market that pays the roughly $215,000 first-year salary most applicants picture when they say 'Big Law.' That is a genuine outcome, not a rounding error, and it sits alongside a broader employment picture in which 83.3% of graduates were in full-time, long-term jobs requiring bar passage or a JD advantage.
Big Law is real but narrow at UC Law SF, and the rest of the class is spread across small and mid-size practice. Beyond the 16 graduates at 501+ firms, the firm-size distribution shows 21 graduates at firms of 1-10 attorneys, 7 at 11-25, 4 at 26-50, 3 at 51-100, 7 at 101-250, and 4 at 251-500. No graduates are recorded in solo practice. Read together, that means roughly half the employed class went into small or boutique firms rather than large-firm practice.
Not according to the school's own reported numbers for this class: the data pack shows 0 federal clerkships and 0 state/local clerkships among the graduating cohort. That is a notable gap given the school's Civic Center location, which puts it within walking distance of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California, the California Supreme Court, and San Francisco City Hall. Proximity clearly has not, at least in this reporting cycle, converted into a visible clerkship pipeline. That said, the school's alumni roster includes sitting and former judges — including California Supreme Court justices Marvin Baxter and Carol Corrigan and federal judges William H. Orrick and Edward Davila — evidence that a bench-and-bar track record exists historically even where current-year clerkship placement is reported at zero. Applicants who specifically want a clerkship-focused path should weigh this reported gap seriously rather than assume geography alone will deliver one.
California is where the class stays. The pack identifies 'California' as the largest single employment category, consistent with a school whose degree, moot court reputation, and alumni network are most concentrated in-state. Beyond the firm jobs already discussed, 10 graduates (8.8%) went into government roles and 20 (17.5%) into public interest work — together accounting for more than a quarter of the class, a public-service footprint larger than any individual firm-size category, including the Big Law (14%) and 1-10-attorney (18.4%) tiers. Only 4 graduates are recorded in business and industry roles, a smaller slice than at schools with heavier corporate-counsel pipelines.
If your goal is Big Law, a 14% placement rate into 501+ firms means it happens at UC Law SF, but it is not the default outcome — most classmates end up at small firms, government offices, or public-interest organizations. If your goal is public-interest or government law in California, the 26.3% combined public-interest-plus-government share, plus concentrations like Public Interest Law and Social Justice Lawyering and centers such as the Center for Gender and Refugee Studies and the Center for Racial and Economic Justice, reflect an institutional identity that supports that track. Either way, the school's own numbers — not its Civic Center address or Ninth Circuit walking distance — are the more reliable guide to where its graduates land.
Because 'most graduates admitted to the California Bar' is a volume ranking, not a pass-rate ranking — and on the pass-rate measure, UC Law SF's first-time takers actually score below the statewide average. The school's own site describes UC Law SF as ranked #1 for 'Graduates admitted to the California Bar,' which reflects the sheer number of alumni who become licensed California attorneys over time, not the percentage who pass on their first attempt. Those are two different statistics, and an applicant comparing schools should not conflate them.
On the ABA-reported first-time bar passage data, UC Law SF posted an 80.87% first-time pass rate against a state average of 82.63% — a gap of roughly 1.8 percentage points. That gap narrows over time: the school's reported two-year ultimate pass rate is 83.09%, indicating that a meaningful share of graduates who do not pass on the first attempt do pass on a retake. Separately, the school's own official materials cite an 86% first-time pass rate for the 2025 bar administration specifically — a different figure from the 80.87% ABA compilation figure in this data pack, most likely because the two numbers reflect different testing cycles or reporting windows rather than a contradiction. Applicants should treat both figures as directionally useful but verify the most current NCBE/California State Bar release before relying on either for decision-making, since bar statistics shift by administration and jurisdiction.
It plausibly contributes. UC Law SF's entering-class LSAT profile runs 152 (25th percentile) to 155 (median) to 157 (75th percentile), and GPA runs 3.16 to 3.47 to 3.68 — a range that sits below the profile of California's higher-ranked bar performers, and the first-time bar exam correlates, on average, with entering credentials across the industry. The school's own scholarship-retention data offers a related signal: of 96 students entering with conditional scholarships in 2024-25, 37.5% saw their scholarships reduced, a rate that has stayed fairly consistent across the three years reported (37.5%, 38.4%, and 40.6%). That level of academic attrition pressure inside the school suggests a meaningful share of each class is working from a less cushioned academic starting point, which can also show up in first-time bar outcomes.
Treat the first-time pass rate, not the 'most admitted' ranking, as the more decision-relevant number, and expect that a first-time miss is not necessarily a dead end at this school given the ultimate two-year rate of 83.09%. An applicant whose LSAT sits at or above UC Law SF's 75th percentile (157) is entering from a stronger position within the school's own range than one near the 25th percentile (152), and that gap in incoming credentials is one plausible driver of the difference between the school's first-time and ultimate bar outcomes. None of this is a prediction about any individual's bar result — it is simply the range within which UC Law SF's own reported numbers sit relative to the state average.
Yes, in the narrow but concrete sense that the campus sits inside San Francisco's Civic Center, within walking distance of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California, the California Supreme Court, and San Francisco City Hall. For a law student, that geography is not scenery — it means oral arguments, hearings, and clerkship-adjacent courtroom exposure are a few blocks away rather than a transit ride or a plane ticket away, and it underpins a heavy field-placement and clinical footprint: UC Law SF reports 118 clinic seats available with 97 filled, and 149 filled field placements in a single reporting year, alongside 465 filled simulation-course seats across its 16 co-curricular offerings.
The moot court program is the other half of this advantage story. The National Jurist ranked UC Law SF's program No. 2 nationally in 2022-23, after ranking it No. 1 in each of the two prior years — a sustained, multi-year top-2 standing rather than a single good result. That kind of program depth is reinforced institutionally: the school houses a Center for Litigation and Courts and a Center for Negotiation & Dispute Resolution (CNDR), both of which feed advocacy training, and it has produced sitting judges and litigators among its alumni, including federal judge William H. Orrick and state appellate justices such as Marvin Baxter and Carol Corrigan.
What this combination plausibly buys a student is dense, real-world advocacy training and physical proximity to the California and Ninth Circuit legal ecosystem — useful for anyone aiming at litigation, clerkships, or California government and public-interest law, which the data pack identifies as the school's largest employment category (listed simply as 'CALIFORNIA'). It should not be read as a guarantee of any particular outcome: of 114 total graduates in the reporting class, 83.3% obtained a job that was bar-required or JD-advantage, 14% (16 graduates) landed at firms of 501+ attorneys, 8.8% went into government, and 17.5% went into public interest. Those are the numbers the location and moot court program feed into — real strengths, but ones that show up in a labor-market outcome profile weighted toward the California market and public-sector/litigation paths rather than a Big Law-dominant one.
In short: the Civic Center address and the moot court pedigree are genuine, verifiable assets for courtroom-facing training and California-market integration, not evidence of national placement strength across all practice areas.
It means UC Law SF has made an AI-enabled lawyering lab a required part of the JD curriculum for all students, according to the school's own site. The requirement is paired with an institutional bet on the subject: the school runs a dedicated AI Law & Innovation Institute, giving the lab a home base for research and programming rather than treating it as a one-off elective bolted onto the curriculum.
Beyond the fact of the requirement and the supporting institute, the data pack does not specify the lab's credit weight, semester placement, learning outcomes, or which faculty teach it — so prospective students should treat those operational details as open questions to confirm directly with admissions rather than assumptions to plan around. What can be said with confidence is that UC Law SF is positioning AI literacy as baseline training for every graduate, not a specialization reserved for students who opt in, which is a distinctive structural choice relative to schools that offer AI-and-law coursework only as electives.
Realistic peer schools to weigh against this one: University of California, Berkeley School of Law (Berkeley Law/Boalt Hall)
UC Law SF's reported LSAT range runs from a 152 at the 25th percentile to 155 at the median to 157 at the 75th percentile, with GPAs of 3.16/3.47/3.68 across the same percentiles. That band matters less as a predictor of admission — this school does not publish, and this guide does not use, any probability framing — and more as a planning anchor for where your own number sits and what it might mean for cost.
Since the August 2024 format change, the LSAT consists of two scored Logical Reasoning sections, one scored Reading Comprehension section, and an unscored variable section, with Logic Games removed entirely; a separate unscored Argumentative Writing sample is submitted online. Most applicants who move their score meaningfully do so through sustained practice with official material over several months, not last-minute cramming, and schools consider your highest score if you test more than once. For a detailed study approach, see the shared guide at /how-to-study-for-the-lsat.
What's specific to UC Law SF is what your score band interacts with financially. Tuition plus fees runs $59,990 for full-time students, and the school's own estimated full cost of attendance is $94,090 once living expenses ($34,100 estimated off-campus) are included. Against that backdrop, 62% of students receive some grant aid, with a median grant of $33,718 among full-time recipients — but the distribution is uneven: 25% of grant recipients get less than half tuition covered, 36% get between half and full tuition, and the pack shows 0% receiving full-tuition awards. In practice, that means a score at or above the 157 75th-percentile mark is the kind of number that tends to move you toward the stronger end of that half-to-full band rather than the smaller partial awards — though the exact offer any individual receives is set by the school, not predictable from percentiles alone.
One number in the pack is worth building into your LSAT strategy directly: conditional scholarship retention. Across the three most recent cohorts reported, between 37.5% and 40.6% of students holding conditional scholarships had their awards reduced before graduation. That is a meaningfully high reduction rate, and it means an applicant weighing a conditional scholarship offer at UC Law SF should read the GPA-retention trigger in the offer letter as carefully as the sticker amount — a strong LSAT number that earns a bigger initial award is only worth its face value if you can also clear whatever law-school GPA benchmark keeps it intact. For the mechanics of reading and negotiating an offer like this, see /law-school-scholarship-negotiation.
Finally, because federal Grad PLUS loans are gone for new borrowers as of July 2026 and Direct Unsubsidized loans are capped at $50,000/year and $200,000 aggregate, a shortfall between UC Law SF's roughly $94,090 estimated annual cost and available federal borrowing is a real possibility for students without substantial grant coverage — plan financing alongside your LSAT prep, not after it. See /law-school-loans-and-pslf and /is-law-school-worth-it for the broader financing and outcomes framework, and /law-school-application-timeline for how LSAT timing fits your overall application calendar.
Your application should do two things at once: position your numbers honestly against UC Law SF's published medians, and show you understand what kind of school you're applying to right now — a public, San Francisco–based law school that changed its name in 2023, sits outside the UC Regents' direct governance, and is actively rebuilding its identity around practical training and public-interest law.
Start with the numbers, because they set the frame for everything else. UC Law SF's most recently reported class carries an LSAT range of 152 (25th percentile) to 157 (75th percentile), with a 155 median, and a GPA range of 3.16 to 3.68, with a 3.47 median. Treat these as planning anchors, not as odds: a 157 sits at the school's 75th percentile, a 152 at its 25th, and a 155 puts you squarely at the class median — none of that predicts an outcome, but it tells you which parts of your file are already doing the work and which need reinforcing in the rest of the application. If your LSAT sits below 152, expect the rest of the file — GPA trend, work experience, writing — to carry more weight; if you're retaking, the general mechanics of how to move a score are covered at /how-to-study-for-the-lsat, and schools consider your highest score under the current LSAT format (two scored Logical Reasoning sections, one scored Reading Comprehension section, no Logic Games since August 2024).
UC Law SF's acceptance rate of roughly 42% (about 890 offers out of 2,100 applications for a class of 201) is meaningfully more open than at the most selective schools, but that figure describes the applicant pool overall, not any individual's chances — resist reading it as a probability for your own file. What it does suggest is that the file review has real room to differentiate on fit and narrative, not just numbers.
On narrative: this is a school in the middle of visible change, and your personal statement or 'why us' essay is a natural place to engage with that rather than ignore it. UC Law SF spent over a century as Hastings College of the Law before removing founder Serranus Clinton Hastings' name in 2023 over his role in financing violence against the Yuki people; it remains legally independent of the UC Regents, governed by its own board; and it is currently building out things like an AI-enabled lawyering lab and a slate of practice-facing concentrations (Civil Litigation, Technology Law and Lawyering, Social Justice Lawyering, Health Law and Policy, among others). Applicants who can speak specifically to this — why the renewed public-interest and practical-skills emphasis matters to them, or why the location matters — write a stronger 'why this school' section than applicants who submit boilerplate. The campus sits in San Francisco's Civic Center within walking distance of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, the Northern District of California, the California Supreme Court, and City Hall; if courtroom or clerkship exposure during school is part of your plan, that proximity is worth naming explicitly rather than assuming the admissions committee will infer it.
On timeline: the pack does not include a published application deadline or fee for UC Law SF, so verify both directly with the admissions office before you build your calendar — the general shape of the law school admissions cycle (rolling review favors earlier applications, letters of recommendation and the LSAT should be locked down well ahead of your target deadline) is covered at /law-school-application-timeline. Because rolling admissions reward earlier files at most schools, an early, well-documented application with a clear addendum for any GPA anomalies or gaps is worth prioritizing over a late one.
Finally, if UC Law SF's moot court program (ranked among the top nationally by The National Jurist in recent cycles) or its roughly ten journals and dozens of clinics and centers speak to your interests, name the specific ones rather than gesturing generally at 'clinical opportunities' — specificity is what separates a tailored application from a template.
A conditional scholarship offer from UC Law SF is not free money locked in for three years — it's a bet you make with the school's own numbers on the table, and the school's own data show a substantial share of recipients lose part of that award. UC Law SF's total estimated cost of attendance is $94,090 a year (roughly $59,800 in tuition plus $190 in fees and about $34,100 in living costs for a student living off campus), so understanding exactly what a scholarship offer does and doesn't cover is central to deciding whether the degree pencils out.
Start with the scholarship data itself. About 62% of students receive some grant aid, and the median grant among full-time recipients is $33,718 — enough to meaningfully offset tuition, but well short of covering the full cost of attendance for most students. Of those receiving aid, roughly a quarter get less than half tuition covered and about 36% get between half and full tuition; the pack shows 0% receiving full tuition, so a 'full ride' at UC Law SF is not part of the typical aid picture. Whatever award letter you receive, treat the headline dollar figure as a starting point, not the end of the conversation — negotiating a scholarship offer using competing offers and updated numbers is its own skill, covered in general terms at /law-school-scholarship-negotiation.
The harder number to sit with is retention. UC Law SF's own conditional-scholarship data show that in the most recent reported entering cohort, 96 students held conditional scholarships and 36 of them — 37.5% — had their award reduced; the two prior cohorts show similarly steep reduction rates of 38.4% and 40.6%. In plain terms: across the last three reported years, roughly two out of every five students who started with a conditional scholarship at UC Law SF ended up with a smaller one after their first year, almost always because a GPA or class-rank condition tied to the school's grading curve wasn't met. If your offer letter has a GPA floor attached, model your finances assuming you might land in that reduced group — not just the best case where you keep the full award.
On borrowing: federal rules for new borrowers are changing as of July 1, 2026 — Grad PLUS loans are being eliminated, and law is capped at $50,000 a year in federal Direct Unsubsidized loans (annual) with a $200,000 aggregate and a $257,500 lifetime federal cap, at a rate expected around 8.07% for 2026-27 plus roughly a 1.057% origination fee (verify current figures before you borrow, since these terms are time-sensitive). Run the arithmetic against UC Law SF's own $94,090 cost of attendance: the $50,000 annual federal cap alone leaves a gap of roughly $44,000 a year unmet, before any scholarship is applied; even with the median $33,718 grant, most students are still looking at a five-figure annual shortfall to cover through savings or private loans. That gap is exactly why the scholarship offer's size and durability matter more here than the sticker price alone.
On repayment and forgiveness: new federal borrowers will choose between a Standard repayment plan and the income-driven Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP); Standard is the default and earns no credit toward Public Service Loan Forgiveness, so anyone planning to rely on PSLF must actively enroll in RAP. Whether that matters to you depends on where you expect to land: UC Law SF's own outcomes show about 17.5% of graduates in public interest roles and 8.8% in government, versus roughly 14% at firms of 501+ attorneys — so PSLF planning is directly relevant to a meaningful minority of the class, while most graduates will be repaying on a private-sector or California public-sector salary rather than counting on eventual forgiveness. For the general mechanics of loans, RAP, and PSLF, see /law-school-loans-and-pslf; for a broader framework on weighing sticker cost against likely outcomes before you commit, see /is-law-school-worth-it.
Whether UC Law SF is worth it is not a yes/no question — it's a question of which applicant you are. For a Californian who gets meaningful scholarship money, wants to practice in the state, and doesn't need a Big Law paycheck to make the math work, the calculus looks very different than it does for someone paying full sticker price with Big Law as the only acceptable outcome. UC Law SF's own numbers — a U.S. News rank of 156, a total cost of attendance estimated around $94,090 a year, and a graduate outcomes profile tilted toward California public-sector and mid-size-firm work rather than national Big Law — make this a school where the financial framework matters more than the brand name on the diploma.
Annual tuition and fees run about $59,990, and the school's own estimate of total cost of attendance — tuition plus roughly $34,100 in off-campus living costs and fees — lands near $94,090 per year. Over three years, that's in the neighborhood of $280,000 before interest, if a student pays full freight. That number matters because, as of the 2025-26 cycle, federal Direct Unsubsidized loans for law students are capped at $50,000 per year and $200,000 in aggregate, and Grad PLUS loans — which used to fill any gap between the federal cap and the actual cost — are gone for new borrowers starting July 2026 (verify current figures before relying on this). A student paying near-full price at UC Law SF's estimated cost of attendance could bump into that federal ceiling and need private loans or savings to cover the difference — a genuinely different risk profile than it was for prior cohorts who could lean on Grad PLUS.
Sixty-two percent of students receive some grant aid, with a median grant around $33,718 — enough, for many, to meaningfully close the gap between sticker price and what's actually paid. But the more important number for due diligence is what happens after year one. UC Law SF's own conditional scholarship data shows that in the 2024-25 cohort, 96 students entered with conditional scholarships and 36 — about 37.5% — had their awards reduced. The prior two years show similar patterns: 38.4% and 40.6% of conditionally-scholarshiped students lost part of their award after first year. That means an entering student holding a merit scholarship at UC Law SF faces roughly a one-in-three-to-two-in-five chance their aid shrinks based on first-year grades — before they've even locked in the return that scholarship was supposed to help finance. Anyone admitted with a conditional award should ask, in writing, exactly what GPA threshold protects it, and should model their three-year cost assuming the scholarship might not survive 1L year. (For the mechanics of negotiating and stress-testing scholarship offers, see the scholarship-negotiation guide.)
UC Law SF's first-time bar passage rate was 80.87%, compared to a state average of 82.63% — meaning graduates pass at a rate modestly below the statewide average, though the two-year ultimate pass rate rises to about 83.09%, which suggests most graduates who don't pass on the first attempt do pass eventually. On employment, 83.3% of graduates were employed in full-time, long-term jobs that were bar-required or JD-advantage — a reasonably strong headline number — but the composition of those jobs matters. Only about 14% (16 of 114 graduates) landed at firms of 501+ attorneys, the Big Law tier that anchors the widely cited ~$215,000 starting-salary peak; the more common outcomes were smaller firms (21 graduates went to firms of 1-10 attorneys), public interest positions (17.5%), and government roles (8.8%). If your worth-it math depends on a Big Law salary paying down $280,000 in debt on an accelerated timeline, UC Law SF's own placement data says that's the outcome for a minority of each graduating class, not the median path.
One thing the data pack does support unambiguously: UC Law SF sits in San Francisco's Civic Center, within walking distance of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California, the California Supreme Court, and San Francisco City Hall, and its graduates' largest employment concentration is within California. For someone committed to practicing in the Bay Area or California generally — in government, public interest, or California-market firms — that proximity to courts and to the state's legal infrastructure is a real, usable asset that shows up in outcomes, not just marketing copy. It does less for someone whose ambition is a national Big Law career centered in New York or another market.
UC Law SF's entering class sits at an LSAT median of 155 (25th/75th of 152/157) and a GPA median of 3.47 (25th/75th of 3.16/3.68). Treat these as planning anchors, not odds: a 157 LSAT places an applicant at this school's 75th percentile, which is relevant to where they might land on the scholarship-band spectrum (25% of the class pays less than half tuition, 36% pays between half and full, and no reported band pays exactly full elsewhere in that range) — but it says nothing about the likelihood of admission itself. Before finalizing an LSAT target, decide whether the marginal points you might gain from more prep meaningfully change your scholarship tier here, since that's the leverage point the data actually supports. (See the LSAT prep guide for how to think about diminishing returns on additional study time.)
UC Law SF is most defensible for three kinds of applicants: those receiving grant aid that brings the real cost well under the ~$94,000 sticker; those targeting California public-sector, public-interest, or mid-market firm careers where the school's Civic Center location and roughly 26% combined government/public-interest placement are genuine strengths; and those for whom Public Service Loan Forgiveness is a realistic ten-year plan, since PSLF remains statutorily intact for graduates who go into qualifying government or 501(c)(3) work and actively enroll in an income-driven repayment plan (verify current program rules before committing to this path). It is a harder case for an applicant paying full price purely on the bet that a rank-156 J.D. delivers Big Law odds — the school's own placement numbers show that's the outcome for roughly one in seven graduates, not the default. For the full generic playbook on running this math for any school, see the law-school-worth-it guide; the numbers above are what make that playbook specific to UC Law SF.