Most applicants who put UNH Franklin Pierce on their list aren't chasing a broad national brand — they're chasing a narrow, deep one. UNH's overall U.S. News rank sits at 136 for 2026-27, a number that by itself wouldn't pull many applicants across state lines. What does pull them is the school's specialty reputation: UNH has been counted among the top 10 intellectual property law programs in the country for roughly the past 30 years, was ranked 4th nationally for IP by U.S. News in 2021, and earned an A+ in IP from preLaw Magazine in spring 2023. That gap between the general rank and the specialty rank is the entire strategic logic of applying here — you are betting on a concentrated brand within one field rather than a broad one across all fields.
The infrastructure behind that reputation is real and specific, not just a marketing label. The Franklin Pierce Center for Intellectual Property anchors the program, and its lineage traces back to the Patent, Trademark, and Copyright Institute that transferred from George Washington University in the school's early years, bringing with it IDEA: The Law Review of the Franklin Pierce Center for Intellectual Property — one of three journals students can work on, alongside the UNH Law Review and the UNH Sports Law Review. Students who want hands-on IP work rather than just coursework can join the Intellectual Property and Transaction Clinic or the International Technology Transfer Institute (ITTI) Clinic, both listed among the school's named clinics. For students who want a global, practitioner-facing add-on, the school runs the Intellectual Property Summer Institute (IPSI), established in 1987 and revived in 2020; it was hosted in Silicon Valley in 2023, putting students in front of the industry rather than just the casebook.
How deep does the IP curriculum go beyond the JD? Deeper than a single concentration. UNH offers an LLM in Intellectual Property, an LLM in Commerce and Technology, and a standalone Master of Intellectual Property (MIP) degree for non-JD professionals — a signal that the IP program is built as an institution-wide specialty, not a single class sequence bolted onto a generalist JD. UNH also runs the country's first ABA-approved Hybrid JD program with an IP focus, launched in 2019, letting students complete the JD in three and a half years through a mix of remote coursework and four in-person immersion sessions a year (fourteen total across the program) — a format aimed squarely at working professionals or career-changers who want the IP credential without relocating to Concord full time.
Mary W. S. Wong, the founding director of the Center for Intellectual Property, went on to an executive role at ICANN, illustrating the kind of practitioner-to-institution pipeline the program is built around. The school's other named specialty strength, sports and entertainment law, runs on a parallel track through the Sports and Entertainment Law Institute, directed by Michael McCann, who also serves as Associate Dean for Academic Administration — useful context if your interest sits at the IP/media/entertainment intersection rather than pure patent or trademark practice.
Does the outcomes data back up the IP pitch? Here the honest answer is: partly, and not with IP-specific numbers. The data pack UNH reports publicly breaks employment down by firm size and sector — government (12.5%), public interest (6.2%), business and industry (49 graduates), and firms of 501+ attorneys (12 graduates, 6.2%) — but it does not break outcomes down by practice area, so there is no verifiable figure for what share of graduates land IP-specific jobs versus general practice. What is documented is that 90% of the Class of 2022 found employment within ten months of graduation, with 77% in bar-passage-required roles, and preLaw Magazine separately rated UNH Best for Government Employment for 2023-2024. If your goal is a large patent-prosecution boutique or an in-house IP seat, the brand and coursework are real assets to lead with in interviews, but you should treat the specific hiring outcome as something to verify directly with the career office rather than something the published data confirms.
Who does this program actually make sense for? Someone who has a genuine, pre-existing interest in patent, trademark, copyright, entertainment, or technology-transfer law, and who is willing to accept a modest general rank (136) in exchange for concentrated specialty resources, a name recognized inside the IP bar, and a physical or hybrid presence in a small legal market. It makes much less sense as a default choice for someone undecided on practice area, since the school's other outcome data — clerkships, biglaw share, government placement — reads like a solid regional public law school rather than a national powerhouse outside IP.
Yes — for a small, selected cohort, UNH offers a genuine alternative to sitting the bar exam, and it is not a marketing gimmick but a formal arrangement with the state's licensing authorities. The Daniel Webster Scholar Honors Program was launched in 2005 by the New Hampshire Supreme Court in collaboration with the law school, the New Hampshire Board of Bar Examiners, and the New Hampshire Bar Association. Graduates of the program are exempt from the New Hampshire bar examination itself, though they must still pass the MPRE and satisfy the standard character-and-fitness requirements before being admitted to the bar. The first class graduated in 2008, so the program now has roughly a decade and a half of admitted-lawyer track record behind it.
What do you actually have to do to earn the exemption? The program is not a shortcut so much as a substitution — you trade the single high-stakes bar exam for two years of continuously assessed, practice-based training. It spans the last two years of law school and is explicitly built around performing lawyering tasks rather than accumulating multiple-choice or essay reps for a single test date. Enrollment is capped at 24 students per class, which makes it one of the most selective components inside the law school itself — smaller than most law firm summer associate classes, and far smaller than the roughly 156 full-time students UNH enrolls in a typical entering JD class. UNH describes it as the only practice-based bar exam alternative in the nation, meaning no other U.S. law school has an equivalent arrangement with its state supreme court.
How does this connect to UNH's broader practice-based culture? The Scholar Program is the most formal expression of a pattern that runs through the whole school. Second- and third-year UNH students are permitted, under New Hampshire Supreme Court rules, to appear in court alongside a bar-licensed mentor — meaning the practical, supervised-practice model isn't unique to the 24-seat Scholar cohort; it's baked into how the state licensing structure treats UNH students generally. That context matters for evaluating the Scholar Program: it's an intensification of an approach the school and the New Hampshire courts already trust, not an isolated experiment.
Should this program be a reason to choose UNH? Only with real caveats. First, it is New Hampshire-specific: the exemption applies to admission to the New Hampshire bar, so if your post-graduation plan is to practice in another state, you need to separately confirm how that state treats a Daniel Webster credential and whether reciprocity or admission-by-motion rules would still require you to sit that state's own exam — this is a live licensing question, not something the data pack can settle, and it's worth confirming directly with the state bar you intend to join. Second, it is genuinely small: with only 24 seats per class against an entering class of roughly 156 full-time students, most UNH students will still take the traditional bar exam. If you enroll hoping for a bar-exam bypass, you're competing for a limited number of internal spots, on top of the admissions competition to get into UNH itself. Third, the tradeoff is time and intensity, not less work: two years of continuous practice-based assessment is arguably more demanding on an ongoing basis than several months of concentrated bar prep, even if it removes the single-test anxiety.
Is it evidence the school takes bar readiness seriously? It's certainly evidence that New Hampshire's licensing authorities trust UNH's training model enough to formally waive the exam for a subset of its graduates — a level of institutional buy-in that's rare nationally. At the same time, UNH's overall first-time bar passage rate for the broader graduating class was 73.78% against a state average of 77.16%, with an ultimate pass rate of 90.09% within two years, according to the reported data. Those figures describe the traditional-track majority, not the Scholar cohort specifically, and the pack does not report a separate bar-related outcome for Scholar graduates since they don't sit the exam. If bar passage confidence generally, not just the Scholar Program specifically, is part of your decision, weigh the schoolwide numbers alongside the Scholar Program's more selective, resource-intensive alternative.
UNH Franklin Pierce accepted roughly 52% of applicants in the most recent ABA reporting cycle — 756 offers out of 1,455 applications — making it a school where a strong majority of applicants who apply do receive an offer, though acceptance is never guaranteed and should not be read as a probability calculation for any individual file. The entering class landed at 248 students, split between 156 full-time and 92 part-time seats, reflecting the school's dual-track JD structure.
The LSAT profile for the entering class runs 151 at the 25th percentile, 155 at the median, and 159 at the 75th percentile. Treat these three numbers as planning anchors rather than cutoffs: a 155 places an applicant squarely at UNH's midpoint, a 159 sits at the top quarter of the incoming class, and a 151 marks the bottom quarter — meaning a score below that is still within the range the school has enrolled students at, just outside the middle 50%. The GPA band moves similarly, from 3.1 at the 25th percentile to 3.5 at the median and 3.72 at the 75th percentile, so an applicant whose GPA sits near 3.5 is tracking the typical admitted student on that metric.
For a slightly earlier entering cohort, the school's own reporting put the class average LSAT at 156 and average GPA at 3.48, with a 51.74% acceptance rate and a 33.51% yield rate (the share of admitted students who chose to enroll) — figures broadly consistent with the more recent 25/50/75 breakdown above and suggesting the admitted profile has been fairly stable year over year rather than swinging sharply.
What does a 52% acceptance rate combined with a 151-159 LSAT band actually mean for how to read your own numbers? It means UNH draws from a wide range of testers rather than clustering tightly around a single score, which is common at schools that also run a part-time/hybrid track (92 of the 248 seats here are part-time) serving applicants balancing work, family, or geography alongside law school. A candidate whose numbers sit below the 25th percentile on both LSAT and GPA is applying against a class where three-quarters of admitted students scored higher on at least one metric — worth knowing when deciding how much time to invest in retaking the LSAT before applying. Conversely, an applicant at or above the 75th percentile on both measures (159+ LSAT, 3.72+ GPA) is positioned above where most of the current class landed, which is the kind of profile that typically anchors scholarship negotiation conversations rather than admission-outcome predictions — a distinct process covered in the school's financing pages.
Because UNH's acceptance rate is close to the midpoint of the range you'll see across ABA-accredited schools nationally, and because it operates the only law school in New Hampshire, its applicant pool likely includes a meaningful share of in-state candidates weighing it against no other in-state option, alongside out-of-state applicants drawn specifically to programs like intellectual property. Neither the pack nor public reporting breaks out an in-state/out-of-state acceptance differential, so that dynamic can be inferred only in general terms, not stated as fact.
Yes, most UNH Franklin Pierce graduates find law-related work, but the honest picture is a modest one: 69.8% of graduates landed in jobs that were full-time, long-term, and either bar-passage-required or JD-advantage, out of 192 total graduates in the reporting cohort. That means roughly seven in ten graduates secured the kind of durable, law-credentialed employment that outcome-focused applicants should be evaluating schools on — and roughly three in ten did not, whether by choice, geography, or market conditions.
Where do the jobs actually land? The firm-size breakdown tells the real story of what "getting a legal job" means coming out of UNH. Of the graduates the school placed at law firms, the largest single bucket — 23 graduates — went to firms of 1-10 attorneys, the small-firm and solo-adjacent end of the market. Another 11 landed at firms of 26-50 attorneys, 7 at firms of 51-100, and smaller numbers scattered across 11-25 (5) and 101-250 (2) attorney firms. Two graduates went solo. At the opposite end, 12 graduates — 6.2% of the class — landed at firms of 501 or more attorneys, the "Big Law" tier that pays the six-figure salaries that dominate national law-school salary conversations. A separate 6 graduates went to firms in the 251-500 range. In short: Big Law is a real but narrow outcome at UNH, reachable for a small slice of each class rather than the default path, while the median graduate who goes into private practice lands at a small or mid-size firm.
Government, public interest, and business tracks matter more here than Big Law. Government employment absorbed 24 graduates (12.5% of the class) — consistent with preLaw Magazine's ranking of UNH as Best for Government Employment for 2023-2024 — while public interest work accounted for another 12 graduates (6.2%). Business and industry roles, which include JD-advantage positions in-house or outside traditional law practice, took the single largest number of graduates: 49. Combined with the reported "largest employment type" being New Hampshire itself, the pattern suggests a school whose graduates disproportionately stay in-state and build careers across government, business, and local practice rather than migrating to national Big Law markets. Clerkships were modest and concentrated at the state and local level: 6 state/local clerkships and 0 reported federal clerkships in this cohort.
How does this compare to a differently defined, earlier snapshot? A separate figure the school has cited for its Class of 2022 puts overall employment at 90% within ten months of graduation, with 77% in bar-passage-required jobs — both higher than the 69.8% full-time/long-term bar-required-or-JD-advantage figure from the more recent compilation used elsewhere in this profile. The two numbers use different definitions and cover different graduating years, so they should not be read as contradictory so much as a reminder that outcomes can shift meaningfully class to class at a school with roughly 192 graduates per year, and that any single year's snapshot deserves scrutiny against the school's current ABA 509 disclosure before you rely on it.
What about the bar exam? UNH's first-time bar passage rate was 73.78%, running below the state's overall first-time average of 77.16% for the same period — a real gap worth sitting with if the plan is to practice in New Hampshire or a UBE jurisdiction. The two-year ultimate pass rate, which captures graduates who needed a second attempt, climbs to 90.09%, indicating that most graduates who don't pass on the first try do pass within two years. Applicants weighing this against other schools should know that UNH also runs the Daniel Webster Scholar Honors Program, a practice-based two-year honors track capped at 24 students per class in which graduates are exempted from the New Hampshire bar exam entirely (though they still must pass the MPRE and meet character-and-fitness requirements) — a genuinely unusual, state-specific pathway that only a small fraction of any class can access, and one that doesn't move the overall bar-passage statistics reported above since those figures reflect the broader graduating class.
The bottom line on "is this a good outcome?" UNH Franklin Pierce is not a Big Law feeder — 6.2% of a class landing at 501+ firms is well below what the largest national and regional powerhouses report — but it is also not a school where most graduates go unemployed. The realistic outcome set is: a plurality in business/industry or small-to-midsize firm practice, a meaningful government and public-interest contingent (aligned with its Rudman Center for Justice, Leadership, and Public Service), a narrow but real Big Law door for a small number of graduates, and a bar-passage rate that trails the state average closely enough to warrant a serious look at how you'll prepare, particularly if the Daniel Webster Scholar track isn't an option for you.
UNH Franklin Pierce's graduates pass the bar on their first attempt at a 73.78% rate, running roughly 3.4 percentage points below the 77.16% New Hampshire state average for the same test administration. That gap narrows substantially over time: the school's own reported two-year ultimate pass rate of 90.09% means the large majority of graduates who don't clear the exam on the first try do pass it within two years, which is the metric bar regulators and many employers actually care about most.
A first-time rate below the state average is a real data point worth sitting with, not explaining away — it means a meaningful share of each graduating class needs a second attempt (and a second round of expense and delayed start to their career) before they're licensed. For an applicant evaluating fit, the honest question isn't just "what's the rate" but "what does the school do to change it," and that's where UNH's structure is unusual among American law schools.
The Daniel Webster Scholar Honors Program is UNH's most distinctive answer to the bar exam problem — it lets a small cohort skip the exam entirely. Launched in 2005 in partnership with the New Hampshire Supreme Court, the state Board of Bar Examiners, and the state bar association, this is a two-year, practice-based honors track capped at 24 students per class. Graduates of the program still must pass the MPRE and meet character-and-fitness review, but they are admitted to the New Hampshire bar without sitting for the traditional written exam, based on their performance in supervised practice-based coursework instead. It is the only program of its kind in the country. Because participation is capped at 24 seats, the DWS track affects only a slice of each class — the bar statistics above reflect the students taking the conventional path, not the Scholars who are licensed a different way.
What this means in practice for an applicant sizing up UNH: the traditional first-time pass rate lagging the state average is a legitimate diligence item, especially if you're admitted to the standard JD track rather than DWS and you're weighing UNH against other regional options. At the same time, the 90% two-year rate suggests the gap is more about timing than about a large permanent population of graduates who never pass. If bar passage is central to your decision, it's worth asking the admissions office directly which bar-prep supports (commercial course stipends, in-house bar coaching, academic support programming) are built into the curriculum for students outside the Scholars program, since the data pack here does not itemize those supports beyond DWS itself.
The bar outcome also connects to employment: 69.8% of the most recent graduating class landed in jobs that were bar-passage-required or JD-advantage within the reporting window. A slower path to licensure for some graduates is one plausible contributor to that figure sitting where it does, alongside New Hampshire's small legal market generally.
UNH Franklin Pierce's published full cost of attendance is $69,442 for a single year as a full-time student, and Law School Transparency's debt-financed three-year estimate for the JD puts total borrowing at $219,793 — but neither number is what most admitted students actually pay, because UNH funds financial aid broadly rather than narrowly.
Sticker price versus what students actually pay. Annual tuition is listed at $42,000 with $348 in mandatory fees, and the school estimates $27,094 for off-campus living costs, which together build the $69,442 total cost-of-attendance figure. That is the number a fully unfunded student would face. But UNH reports that 69% of students receive some grant aid, with a median grant of $20,000 a year for full-time students — enough to cut effective tuition roughly in half for a typical grant recipient. Looking at the distribution: 34% of students receive a grant covering less than half of tuition, and another 33% receive a grant covering half to the full tuition amount; the pack reports 0% receiving a grant that covers full tuition. In plain terms, most students land somewhere in the middle of the discount range, not at either extreme — and only a small share (the school's own materials put it near 3.5%) pay the full sticker price with no grant at all.
Why the $219,793 debt figure is worth taking seriously even though it's not universal. That LST estimate models a student borrowing the full cost of attendance for three years, compounding fees and interest along the way — it is the ceiling case, not the median case, given that most students receive some grant offset. Still, it's a useful anchor for anyone comparing UNH to other options: it tells you what the debt load looks like if your grant package is thin or nonexistent, and it should be the number you stress-test against your own likely monthly payment before enrolling.
How the new federal loan rules interact with a number this size. As of the 2025-26 cycle (verify current figures before you borrow), Grad PLUS loans are being eliminated for new borrowers effective July 2026, and federal Direct Unsubsidized loans for law students are capped at $50,000 a year and $200,000 in aggregate. A debt load near $219,793 sits above that $200,000 federal aggregate ceiling, which means a student borrowing at that level would need to cover at least part of the gap through private loans, savings, or a larger scholarship than the median — private loans typically carry less favorable terms and none of the federal protections like income-driven repayment or Public Service Loan Forgiveness eligibility. For the mechanics of federal borrowing limits, the new Repayment Assistance Plan, and PSLF eligibility, see our general loans and PSLF guide.
What this means if you're weighing an offer. Because UNH's grant program covers roughly two-thirds of students to some degree, the single most important number in your own admissions file isn't the $69,442 sticker figure — it's the size of the grant letter you actually receive relative to that $20,000 median. A package meaningfully below median pushes you closer to the $219,793 debt-ceiling scenario; a package at or above median moves you well below it. Given that New Hampshire is a small, single-law-school legal market and UNH's own reporting shows a meaningful share of graduates entering government (12.5%) and business/industry roles rather than the highest-paying Big Law tier (6.2% of the class went to firms of 501+ attorneys), it's worth running your own numbers on what monthly payment a given salary range in that market can actually support before treating a big grant discount as optional. For a framework on negotiating a scholarship offer up, see our scholarship negotiation guide, and for the broader question of whether the investment pencils out against likely outcomes, see our is-law-school-worth-it guide.
One data gap worth flagging directly. The pack's scholarship-retention figures — how many students entered with a conditional scholarship and how many later had it reduced or revoked for not maintaining a GPA cutoff — show as zero or not reported across the three most recent years in UNH's compilation. That could mean UNH does not attach GPA-renewal conditions to its scholarships in a way that shows up in this data, or it could mean the figures simply weren't reported for this compilation. Either way, if you receive a conditional scholarship offer, ask the school directly what GPA or class-rank threshold you must maintain to keep it for all three years — that condition, more than the headline award amount, often determines your real three-year cost.
Illustrative: 3-year borrowing at the 2026-27 federal rate (8.07%) over 10 years; your figures depend on your offer and salary.
UNH Franklin Pierce runs the first ABA-approved Hybrid JD program built around an intellectual-property curriculum, welcoming its inaugural class in 2019. Students in the Hybrid track complete the JD in three and a half years through a structured mix of remote coursework and four in-person immersion sessions per year (fourteen total across the program), rather than sitting in a classroom in Concord five days a week.
The program sits inside a school that has built its identity around IP for decades. UNH's Franklin Pierce Center for Intellectual Property anchors the curriculum, and the school has spent roughly thirty years ranked among the top 10 IP programs nationally, including a No. 4 IP specialty ranking from U.S. News in 2021 and an A+ grade in IP Law from preLaw Magazine in Spring 2023. Students, whether in the residential or Hybrid JD, can pursue concentrations in Intellectual Property Law, Entertainment Law, Sports Law, Sports & Entertainment Law, or Health Law & Policy, and can publish in IDEA: The Law Review of the Franklin Pierce Center for Intellectual Property, alongside the general UNH Law Review and the UNH Sports Law Review.
Beyond the JD, UNH offers degree options that let students layer IP training onto other credentials: an LLM in Intellectual Property, an LLM in Commerce and Technology, an LLM in International Criminal Law and Justice, a standalone Master of Intellectual Property (MIP), and joint-degree paths (JD/MBA with the Peter T. Paul College of Business and Economics, JD/MPP with the Carsey School, and JD/MSW). The school's IP Summer Institute, established in 1987 and revived in 2020, has drawn practitioners to sessions as far afield as Silicon Valley in 2023 — a signal of how central the IP brand is to UNH's national visibility, distinct from its output as a regional New Hampshire law school.
What the calculus comes down to for an applicant: if you already know you want IP, entertainment, or tech-adjacent practice, the Hybrid JD lets you keep a job or stay geographically anchored while still training inside a program with three decades of specialty depth, rather than treating online delivery as a generic convenience. If IP isn't your target practice area, the residential JD and its broader concentrations are the more natural fit. The pack does not break out separate tuition or cost-of-attendance figures for the Hybrid track specifically, so applicants weighing the format should confirm current Hybrid JD tuition and fee schedules directly with admissions rather than assuming the standard full-time figures apply unchanged.
UNH students can appear in New Hampshire courtrooms before they graduate, under a state Supreme Court rule that lets second- and third-year law students appear alongside a bar-licensed mentor. That rule sits on top of a clinical program that placed 166 students into filled clinic slots out of 222 available, plus 120 students into field placements and 483 into simulation courses — a heavy dose of practice-based training relative to a total JD enrollment of 685.
The named clinics reflect the school's specialty strengths: a Criminal Practice Clinic, an Intellectual Property and Transaction Clinic, and the International Technology Transfer Institute (ITTI) Clinic, which lets students work on real IP transactional matters. The Warren B. Rudman Center for Justice, Leadership, & Public Service adds another track for students oriented toward public-service lawyering.
The most distinctive practical-training option, though, is the Daniel Webster Scholar Honors Program, launched in 2005 with the New Hampshire Supreme Court, the state's Board of Bar Examiners, and the New Hampshire Bar Association. It's a two-year, practice-based honors track limited to 24 students per class; graduates who pass the MPRE and meet character-and-fitness requirements are admitted to the New Hampshire bar without sitting the bar exam. It is described as the only practice-based bar exam alternative in the nation, and it has been running since its first class graduated in 2008.
UNH Franklin Pierce is the only law school in New Hampshire, which makes it the default pipeline into the state's courts, agencies, and bar association. That position is reinforced structurally: the Daniel Webster Scholar Honors Program exists only because the New Hampshire Supreme Court, the state Board of Bar Examiners, and the New Hampshire Bar Association built it jointly with the school, and the student-practice rule that lets 2Ls and 3Ls appear in court with a mentor is a New Hampshire Supreme Court rule specific to this school's students.
That local integration shows up in outcomes, too — preLaw Magazine rated UNH Best for Government Employment for 2023-2024, and the employment data shows 24 graduates (12.5%) going into government roles and 6 into state or local clerkships, alongside a base of New Hampshire-connected alumni that includes a state supreme court justice (Carol Ann Conboy), a state senator (Donna Soucy), and Manchester's former mayor (Frank Guinta). The pack identifies New Hampshire itself as the single largest reported employment category for graduates, underscoring how much of the school's placement runs through the state it alone serves.
The tradeoff of being the only in-state option is that networking density is high locally, which is worth weighing against UNH's national name recognition in IP law specifically.
A 151 sits at UNH's 25th percentile, a 155 at its median, and a 159 at its 75th percentile — those are the three anchors reported for the school's entering class, and they're the right frame for evaluating your own number, not a predictor of admission. UNH's overall acceptance rate runs just above 50%, which is relatively open compared to many programs, but the school also reports a wide GPA spread (3.1 at the 25th percentile up to 3.72 at the 75th), meaning the file is read as a whole rather than on the LSAT alone.
Where your score lands matters most for money, not just admission. UNH reports that 69% of students receive some grant aid, with a median grant of $20,000 among full-time students, and that grants cluster in two visible bands — roughly a third of students get less than half-tuition scholarships and another third get half-to-full-tuition awards. Since scholarship committees anchor heavily on where an applicant's LSAT and GPA sit relative to the school's own medians, a 159 (75th percentile) is a meaningfully stronger negotiating position than a 151 (25th percentile), even though both fall within the range UNH actually admits. If you're sitting near the median with a scholarship offer in hand, it's worth learning how scholarship committees actually respond to addenda and competing offers — see /law-school-scholarship-negotiation.
Because the LSAT has been reshaped since August 2024 — two scored Logical Reasoning sections, one scored Reading Comprehension section, an unscored variable section, and Logic Games removed entirely — a retake strategy today looks different than it did a few years ago, and schools consider your highest score regardless of how many times you sat. If you're below UNH's 151-159 band and IP or another UNH concentration is genuinely the goal, a structured retake using official practice material is usually a better lever than applying and hoping; see /how-to-study-for-the-lsat for the mechanics. Whatever your number, build your file around UNH's own deadlines and document checklist rather than generic advice — /law-school-application-timeline walks through that sequencing. And because UNH's published debt-financed cost estimates run well above sticker tuition once living costs are added, it's worth reading how federal loan caps and repayment plans work before you commit to a number — see /law-school-loans-and-pslf and /is-law-school-worth-it.
Every JD application file is built from the same core pieces — an LSAT score reported through LSAC, transcripts, letters of recommendation, a personal statement, and a resume — and the file's job is to give an admissions committee a clear, coherent read on who you are and how you'll perform in law school. For general timing and sequencing of when to sit the LSAT, request letters, and submit, see the shared application timeline at /law-school-application-timeline; for how to prepare for the test itself, see /how-to-study-for-the-lsat.
At UNH Franklin Pierce, the file lands against a class where the middle 50% of admitted students score between a 151 and a 159 on the LSAT (median 155), with GPAs spanning roughly 3.1 to 3.72 (median 3.5). Those numbers are planning anchors, not thresholds: a 155 sits at UNH's LSAT median, a 159 at its 75th percentile, and a 151 at its 25th. UNH received 1,455 applications for its most recent reported cycle and extended 756 offers, an acceptance rate near 52% — meaningfully more open than the most selective national programs, which gives applicants room to use the personal statement to explain a specific fit, not just defend a number.
Because UNH's identity is built around intellectual property, sports law, and its Daniel Webster Scholar honors track, a personal statement or addendum that connects your background — a technical degree, a media or entertainment interest, or a stated intent to practice in New Hampshire — to those programs will read as more deliberate than a generic essay. If you intend to apply to the Daniel Webster Scholar Honors Program, note that it enrolls only 24 students per class and operates as a separate, practice-based track layered onto the JD; check current program-specific application requirements directly with the school, since the pack does not specify a separate deadline or fee for it.
Most students at UNH Franklin Pierce pay something below the sticker price: 69% of the entering class receives a grant, with a median grant among grant recipients of $20,000 a year. Full tuition runs $42,000 annually plus $348 in fees, and the school's own estimated cost of attendance — tuition, fees, and living costs — is $69,442 for a full-time student living off campus (living costs alone are estimated at $27,094). Of students who get aid, 34% receive less than half-tuition and 33% receive between half and full tuition; the pack shows 0% receiving a full-tuition award, so the realistic negotiating range for most admitted students is a partial scholarship, not a full ride.
Scholarship award letters at nearly every law school are built around where your LSAT and GPA land relative to the school's own medians (155 LSAT / 3.5 GPA at UNH), and a file that sits at or above both numbers is the strongest position from which to ask a school to reconsider its initial offer, or to show a competing offer from a peer school. The mechanics of that negotiation — what to say, when to ask, what leverage actually moves a committee — are covered in general terms at /law-school-scholarship-negotiation; the specific number that matters at UNH is your position against that 151/155/159 LSAT band and 3.1/3.5/3.72 GPA band, since those are the bands the aid committee is measuring you against.
On the borrowing side, the federal loan rules that apply to any law student changed materially for the 2026-27 borrowing year: Grad PLUS loans have been eliminated for new borrowers, and federal Direct Unsubsidized loans are capped at $50,000 per year and $200,000 aggregate for law students, inside an overall $257,500 lifetime federal limit. Because those caps are fixed and Grad PLUS is gone, students facing UNH's roughly $69,000 annual cost of attendance who don't cover the gap with scholarships or savings will need to look to private loans for any shortfall — a meaningfully different financing landscape than in past cycles, so verify current caps and rates before you borrow. On repayment, new federal borrowers will choose between a Standard Plan (no PSLF credit) and the income-driven Repayment Assistance Plan, or RAP (which does count toward PSLF); PSLF credit under current rules requires enrollment in RAP rather than the Standard Plan, which is relevant given the share of graduates who go into government and public-interest work. General mechanics of federal loans and PSLF are covered at /law-school-loans-and-pslf.
The practical takeaway for UNH specifically: with a $20,000 median grant against the current $42,000 tuition sticker, and with only a small share of students reportedly paying full price, most admitted students should expect to negotiate from a partial-scholarship baseline rather than treat the initial offer as final.
Whether UNH Franklin Pierce is worth it depends less on a national ranking and more on whether your goals match what this specific school is built to do — and the honest answer splits into at least three distinct cases. General frameworks for weighing law school cost against expected outcomes are covered at /is-law-school-worth-it; here's how UNH's own numbers should feed into that framework.
If you're IP-curious. UNH's clearest institutional strength is intellectual property: the Franklin Pierce Center for Intellectual Property, the IDEA law review, decades of top-10 national IP rankings, and a dedicated IP and Transaction Clinic are not generic offerings — they're the school's signature. For an applicant certain they want a patent, trademark, or technology-transactions career, that concentration of curriculum, journal, and clinical infrastructure is a real, differentiated asset that a broader regional school won't match, and it's worth weighing against cost more heavily than you would a generic elective.
If you're NH-bound. UNH is the only law school in New Hampshire, and its largest reported employment category for graduates is New Hampshire itself, with second- and third-year students permitted to appear in court under New Hampshire Supreme Court rules alongside a licensed mentor. For someone planning a New Hampshire legal career, that in-state pipeline, plus the Daniel Webster Scholar Honors Program — a practice-based, 24-seat track whose graduates are exempt from the New Hampshire bar exam if they pass the MPRE and meet character-and-fitness requirements — is a genuinely unusual value proposition unavailable anywhere else in the country.
If you're weighing it against the general market. Here the numbers require a level head. Of the most recent graduating class (192 graduates), 69.8% landed in jobs that were full-time, long-term, and either bar-passage-required or JD-advantage. Only 6.2% (12 graduates) went to firms of 501+ attorneys — the "Big Law" tier where salaries cluster near the high end of the profession's bimodal distribution — while the bulk of the class spread across small and mid-size firms (23 graduates at firms of 1-10 attorneys, 11 at 26-50), government (24 graduates, 12.5%), business and industry (49 graduates), and public interest (12 graduates, 6.2%). That distribution matters for financing: a Big Law salary can absorb debt that a government or small-firm salary cannot, and only about one in sixteen UNH graduates lands in that top firm tier.
On bar passage, UNH's first-time pass rate was 73.78% against a state average of 77.16%, with an ultimate two-year pass rate of 90.09% — meaning most UNH graduates who don't pass on the first attempt do pass within two years, but the first-time gap against the state average is real and worth factoring into how much bar-prep runway you'll want to plan for.
On cost, UNH's own estimated full-time cost of attendance is $69,442 a year, and one third-party estimate placed the total debt-financed three-year cost of attendance at $219,793 — a number that should be weighed against the reality that 6.2% of graduates enter the salary tier best positioned to service that debt quickly, while the rest enter government, public interest, business, or small-firm roles where income-driven repayment (and, for the roughly 19% combined in government and public-interest work, potentially PSLF) becomes a more central part of the financing plan than at a Big-Law-feeder school. USNews ranks UNH 136th nationally as of the 2026-27 cycle — a data point to hold loosely rather than treat as determinative, given how concentrated the school's actual strengths are in IP, sports law, and New Hampshire practice specifically.