Maryland Carey Law traces its founding to 1816, when David Hoffman established the Maryland Law Institute; regular instruction began in 1824, which the school itself describes as making it the fourth-oldest law school in the country (some accounts place it third). Either way, this is not a school that built its identity in the last generation — its history runs through nearly every era of American legal and civil-rights development, and that history is baked into the campus, the building names, and even the curriculum requirements you'll encounter as a student today.
The school's 19th-century arc was contentious. Dean John Prentiss Poe led the institution from 1871 to 1909, but dissatisfaction with his tenure led opponents to found a rival, the Baltimore University School of Law, in 1890; that school split again into the Baltimore Law School in 1900. The rivals eventually reunited in 1911 and merged into the University of Maryland's law program in 1913 — meaning the school you'd apply to today is itself the product of a Baltimore legal-education competition that lasted over two decades.
The most consequential chapter, though, is civil rights. Women were first admitted in 1920, with the first five graduating in 1923. Then in 1936, the Maryland Court of Appeals decided Murray v. Pearson, ordering the school to admit Donald Gaines Murray, a Black applicant who had been rejected on racial grounds. That ruling ended the school's policy of racial exclusion. Marshall was never a student here; he was denied admission to this very school because of his race. That the university's law library — the largest in the state — now bears his name is a direct, deliberate acknowledgment of that history, not a generic honorific. Juanita Jackson Mitchell later became the first African American woman to graduate from the school and went on to a prominent civil-rights legal career, part of the same continuous thread.
The physical campus reflects a mix of old and new. Since 2002, the school has operated out of the Nathan Patz Law Center in downtown Baltimore, a purpose-built facility rather than a converted older structure — relevant if you're picturing what daily life looks like versus an ivy-covered quad. And in a detail that shows up on more law-school trivia lists than admissions materials, poet Edgar Allan Poe is buried on the school's historic grounds at Westminster Hall, making Maryland one of the only law schools in the country that can claim a literary giant interred on campus.
The "Carey" in the school's current name — the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law — dates only to 2011, when a $30 million gift from the W.P. Carey Foundation prompted the renaming. For applicants, the practical significance isn't the name itself but what the gift and the surrounding institutional identity signal: a public law school, part of the University of Maryland, Baltimore, with enough resources to sustain a wide range of centers and clinical offerings alongside its historic core.
That clinical identity is arguably the school's most distinctive present-day feature, and it has deep roots. Maryland Carey Law's Clinical Law Program is described as one of the region's largest public interest law firms in practice and was the first clinical program in the country to receive the ABA's John Minor Wisdom Award. The school backs this up structurally: full-time day J.D. students face the "Cardin Requirement," a mandatory clinical experience named for alumnus and former U.S. Senator Benjamin Cardin, meaning hands-on client work isn't an elective add-on here but a graduation condition. With 18 named clinics spanning areas like immigration, consumer bankruptcy, environmental law, and criminal defense, the breadth is unusual even among schools that emphasize experiential learning.
Beyond the clinics, the school's long alumni list underscores how deeply it is woven into Maryland's own governance: multiple Maryland governors (including Marvin Mandel, Theodore McKeldin, and Martin O'Malley), sitting and former U.S. senators (Ben Cardin, Angela Alsobrooks among them), and numerous judges on the state's highest courts trace their law degrees here. A U.S. Attorney General (Benjamin Civiletti) and a former CIA executive director (A.B. Krongard) are also among its graduates. If your goal involves Maryland state government, the Baltimore bench and bar, or federal service tied to the D.C.–Baltimore corridor, this is a school whose alumni network has literally run the institutions you'd be entering.
For a prospective applicant, the through-line worth internalizing is this: Maryland Carey Law's age and its civil-rights history aren't decorative — they show up structurally, in a mandatory clinical requirement, in a library name that commemorates a rejection rather than a donation, and in a regional alumni network built over two centuries rather than two decades.
A 156 LSAT places you at Maryland Carey Law's 25th percentile, a 164 sits exactly at the median, and a 166 marks the 75th percentile for the most recently reported entering class — figures that matter far more than the school's 26.08% overall acceptance rate, which by itself tells you little about where any individual applicant stands. Out of 2,876 applications, the school extended 750 offers and enrolled 229 students (208 full-time, 21 part-time), a class assembled from a pool where the middle 50% of admits' LSAT scores ran from 156 to 166 and GPAs ran from 3.37 to 3.88, with a 3.72 median GPA.
The right way to use these numbers is as planning anchors, not predictors. If your LSAT is at or above 166, you're in the range that put admitted students at Maryland's 75th percentile; a score of 164 aligns with where the median admitted applicant sat; a 156 places you at the 25th percentile — meaning a substantial share of the admitted class scored below that number, not that a 156 guarantees or forecloses anything on its own. GPA works the same way: 3.88 marks the 75th percentile, 3.72 the median, and 3.37 the 25th percentile. Because Maryland reports both LSAT and GPA as full 25th/50th/75th spreads rather than a single average, applicants whose numbers split across the two bands (say, a GPA near the 75th percentile paired with an LSAT near the 25th) are common, and neither number cancels the other out — schools read them together.
Where you land in that band also has direct financial consequences here, which is why it's worth reading alongside cost rather than in isolation. Seventy-nine percent of the class received some form of grant aid, with a median full-time grant of $28,000 against a full-time tuition and fee cost of just over $40,000. But the distribution of that aid is uneven: 33% of grant recipients received awards covering less than half of tuition, 31% received between half and full tuition, and 11% received full-tuition awards. In practical terms, a candidate presenting at or above the 75th percentile on LSAT and GPA is the kind of applicant schools typically compete for with their largest scholarship offers, while a candidate nearer the 25th percentile is more likely to see a partial award or none — though the pack does not break down award size by individual LSAT/GPA band, so treat that as a general pattern rather than a guaranteed outcome at Maryland specifically. Applicants weighing a scholarship offer against these medians should look at the shared guide on negotiating law school scholarship offers (/law-school-scholarship-negotiation) for how to use a competing offer or a score near a school's median as leverage.
The class structure itself is also worth noting for how you read your own fit: Maryland enrolls a meaningful part-time cohort (21 of 229 students), which typically signals an evening or flexible-schedule option built for working adults and career-changers in the Baltimore area rather than a purely traditional full-time model. If you're evaluating your numbers against the medians, factor in which division — full-time or part-time — you'd actually be applying to, since combined class statistics blend both populations.
Finally, remember that LSAT and GPA medians shift somewhat cycle to cycle, and the figures above reflect the most recent reporting cycle in the data available. Anyone actively preparing an application should verify current-cycle medians directly with the school before finalizing where their own numbers sit, and should treat LSAT preparation itself as a long-horizon project — see /how-to-study-for-the-lsat for how applicants typically move a score meaningfully before applying.
Every full-time day J.D. student at Maryland Carey Law must complete a clinical course before graduating — a graduation mandate the school calls the Cardin Requirement, named for alumnus and longtime U.S. Senator Ben Cardin (class of 1967). This isn't a symbolic nod to "experiential learning"; it is a structural feature of the day-division curriculum that sets Maryland apart from schools where clinics remain an elective add-on for a self-selecting minority of students.
The scale behind the requirement backs up the claim. The school reports 243 clinic seats available in the most recent cycle, with 242 filled — essentially full utilization, meaning the capacity exists to actually deliver a clinic seat to nearly every student who needs one, not just the students who apply earliest or have the right connections. On top of that, 167 field placements were filled and 571 simulation-course seats were filled, so the clinical requirement sits inside a much larger ecosystem of live-client and simulated-practice work rather than standing alone.
The menu of clinics is unusually broad for a school this size. Options include the Consumer Bankruptcy Clinic, Consumer Protection Clinic, Criminal Appellate Clinic, Criminal Defense Clinic, Decarceration Initiative Clinic, Environmental Law Clinic, Eviction Prevention Clinic, Federal Appellate Immigration Clinic, Forensic Defense Clinic, Gender, Prison, and Trauma Clinic, Immigration Clinic, Intellectual Property and Technology Law Clinic, LGBTQI+ Equality Clinic, Low-Income Taxpayer Clinic, Mediation Theory and Practice, Medical-Legal Partnership Clinic, Public Health Law Clinic, and the Youth, Education and Justice Clinic. That range lets students satisfy the requirement in a subject that actually matches their intended practice area — a tax student can take the Low-Income Taxpayer Clinic, a would-be prosecutor or defender can choose Criminal Defense or Forensic Defense, an immigration-focused student has two separate immigration clinics to choose between.
The program's reputation isn't self-declared. Maryland's Clinical Law Program is described as one of the largest public-interest law firms in the region, and it was the first clinical program in the country to receive the American Bar Association's John Minor Wisdom Award, a recognition specifically for public-service and professionalism achievement in legal education. "Clinical Law" is also listed among the school's formal concentrations, so a student who wants to build a transcript and resume specifically around clinical and public-interest lawyering — rather than treating the required clinic as a one-off box to check — has an institutional path to do so.
One caveat worth flagging for prospective applicants: the Cardin Requirement, as reported, applies specifically to full-time day J.D. students. Maryland Carey also enrolls a part-time division (21 of the 229 entering students in the reporting class were part-time), and the pack does not specify whether the same mandatory-clinic rule applies to that division in the same way — anyone weighing the part-time track for work or family reasons should confirm directly with the school how the clinical requirement is structured for part-time students.
Maryland Carey's employment outcomes point overwhelmingly toward Maryland itself — the state's own reporting identifies Maryland as the largest single destination for its graduates — with a real but secondary Big Law pipeline and an unusually strong footing in state and local clerkships. Of the 208 graduates in the reporting class, 88% landed in jobs that are full-time, long-term, and either bar-required or J.D.-advantage, the standard measure of a "real" law job nine to ten months out.
Where do the private-practice jobs go? Private practice is the largest single bucket, but it's spread across firm sizes rather than concentrated at the top. Twenty-four graduates went to firms of 1-10 attorneys, 7 to firms of 11-25, 7 to firms of 26-50, 8 to firms of 51-100, 5 to firms of 101-250, 6 to firms of 251-500, and 21 — about 10.1% of the class — landed at firms of 501 or more attorneys, the Big Law category where first-year salaries cluster around the high end of the national bimodal salary distribution. That means roughly as many Maryland Carey graduates went to the smallest firms (1-10 attorneys) as went to the very largest ones, and the bulk of the private-practice class sits somewhere in the small-to-midsize range in between — a profile that fits a school whose primary market is the Baltimore-Washington-Annapolis corridor rather than a school built around a handful of national Big Law feeders.
How much of the class goes into government and public interest? Government employers absorbed 23 graduates (11.1% of the class) and public-interest organizations absorbed 9 (4.3%) — modest but meaningful slices that make sense given the school's location a few miles from Annapolis, the state capital, and its proximity to Baltimore's city and county government infrastructure. Business and industry roles took another 19 graduates.
What about clerkships? This is where Maryland Carey's local orientation shows up most clearly: graduates secured 4 federal clerkships versus 63 state and local clerkships. That roughly 16-to-1 ratio in favor of state and local courts is a strong signal that the school's clerkship pipeline runs through the Maryland judiciary rather than the federal bench — valuable experience for anyone aiming at a career centered on Maryland courts, but a data point worth weighing for an applicant whose specific goal is a federal clerkship as a springboard to national litigation or academia.
Does the bar exam confirm the in-state focus? Yes. Maryland Carey's first-time bar pass rate was 81.69%, compared with a Maryland state average of 75.59% for the same administration — the school's graduates outperformed the statewide first-time pass rate by roughly six points. The ultimate pass rate (within two years) climbed to 89.47%, indicating that most graduates who don't clear the bar on the first attempt do clear it on a subsequent one. Because Maryland's bar outcomes are what's reported here, and because so much of the class stays in-state for clerkships and government work, the practical takeaway is that Maryland Carey functions primarily as a Maryland-bar, Maryland-market law school — a strong choice for someone building a career in Baltimore, Annapolis, or the D.C. suburbs, and a school where the 10.1% Big Law placement rate should be read as a real but non-dominant outcome rather than the center of gravity.
For context on how a bimodal national salary distribution and firm-size categories generally work, see the shared guide on whether law school is worth it — but the specific mix above, drawn from Maryland Carey's own reporting, is what should drive a decision about this school in particular.
Yes — Maryland Carey graduates pass the bar at a meaningfully higher rate than the statewide average. The school's first-time bar passage rate is 81.69%, compared with a Maryland statewide first-time average of 75.59% for the same testing cohort — roughly a six-point edge over everyone else sitting for the same exam in the same jurisdiction.
That first-time number only tells part of the story. Looking at the two-year ultimate pass rate — which captures graduates who needed a second attempt — 89.47% of Maryland Carey test-takers were eventually admitted to the bar. For an applicant deciding where to spend three years and a substantial sum of money, the ultimate rate is arguably the more honest measure of whether a school's academic program and bar-prep support actually get graduates licensed, not just how many clear the exam on the first try.
Why does this margin exist? The data pack doesn't break out Maryland Carey's specific bar-support curriculum, but the school's structure gives some plausible connective tissue: every full-time day J.D. student completes the mandatory clinical requirement (the "Cardin Requirement," named for alumnus and U.S. Senator Benjamin Cardin), and the school runs 243 available clinic seats plus 571 filled simulation-course seats — meaning most students graduate having already practiced applied legal analysis, not just doctrine, well before bar season. Whether that clinical intensity is the direct cause of the passage gap isn't something the pack lets us prove, but it's a reasonable piece of context alongside the number itself.
For most applicants, Maryland is also the most likely jurisdiction of practice: the school's own data shows Maryland is its largest employment destination for graduates. That matters because a bar-passage edge is most valuable when it's an edge in the state where you actually intend to practice — and here, the school's edge is specifically over other Maryland-licensed test-takers, not a national blended average.
One caution: the pack does not specify the exact administration (month/year) tied to the 81.69%/75.59% comparison, so applicants should verify the current-cycle numbers on the school's ABA disclosures or the Maryland Judiciary's published bar statistics before treating this as a live, up-to-the-minute figure.
Illustrative: 3-year borrowing at the 2026-27 federal rate (8.07%) over 10 years; your figures depend on your offer and salary.
Most Maryland Carey students don't pay sticker price. Annual tuition and fees run $37,830 in tuition plus $2,179 in fees, and the school's own estimated full cost of attendance — including an off-campus living estimate of $32,842 — comes to $72,851 for a full-time student. But 79% of students receive some grant aid, and the median grant for full-time students is $28,000 a year — enough to cut the tuition-and-fee line by nearly 70% for a typical grant recipient.
The distribution of that aid matters as much as the median. Among students receiving grants, 33% get an award covering less than half of tuition, 31% land in the half-to-full tuition range, and 11% receive a grant covering full tuition or more. In practical terms: a meaningful share of the class is paying close to full price (the roughly one-fifth receiving no grant at all, plus those in the smallest award band), while a smaller group — the 11% in the full-tuition-or-more band — is attending at little or no net tuition cost. Where an individual applicant lands in that spread is driven by where their LSAT and GPA sit against the school's medians (156/164/166 LSAT and 3.37/3.72/3.88 GPA at the 25th/50th/75th percentiles) — a score or GPA above the median is the kind of leverage point worth raising directly in any financial aid conversation.
The pack's tuition figure appears to reflect the school's standard-rate tuition line rather than a separately broken-out resident/non-resident schedule; applicants should confirm current in-state versus out-of-state tuition directly with the school's financial aid office, since public law schools typically set a lower resident rate and Maryland Carey's own materials should specify which figure applies to a given applicant's residency.
What the pack does not disclose is any detail on conditional scholarships — that is, whether Maryland Carey's merit awards carry a GPA floor required to keep the money in years two and three, and if so, what share of conditionally-scholarshiped students actually lose or keep their aid. The school's reported entering and reduced-scholarship figures for the last three cycles were not populated in available data, so this guide cannot tell you the retention rate on conditional awards. Any applicant offered a merit scholarship here should ask directly, in writing, what GPA or class-rank threshold is attached and how many peers in recent years lost the award.
For the mechanics of comparing scholarship offers, negotiating an initial award, and modeling net price against total borrowing, see the shared guide on negotiating law school scholarships and on law school loans and PSLF — since federal borrowing limits changing in 2026 make the gap between sticker price and net price even more consequential for financing a legal education.
Maryland Carey's most distinctive strengths sit in health law, cybersecurity/national security law, and environmental law — three areas where the school has built dedicated centers, concentrations, and nationally ranked LL.M. programs. According to LLM Guide, Maryland Carey's LL.M. programs in Health Law and Cybersecurity Law both rank in the top 10 nationally, and the school was the first law school selected for the U.S. Cyber Command's Academic Engagement Network — a specific, verifiable marker of federal recognition in that field.
The health law strength is anchored by the Journal of Health Care Law & Policy, a standalone Public Health Law concentration alongside Health Care Law, and a Medical-Legal Partnership Clinic that places students in direct legal-services work tied to health outcomes. Cybersecurity is built around the Center for Health and Homeland Security (also operating as the Center for Cyber, Health, and Hazard Strategies), directed by Professor Michael Greenberger, and a dedicated Cybersecurity and Crisis Management concentration and program — a combination of academic coursework and a research center that's unusual for a school of Maryland Carey's size.
Environmental law is the third leg: the school runs a standing Environmental Law Program, taught in part by Professor Robert Percival, a long-tenured environmental law scholar named in the school's own faculty materials, along with an Environmental Law Clinic and an Agriculture Law Education Initiative.
Beyond these three signature areas, Maryland Carey offers concentrations spanning Business Law, Intellectual Property Law, International and Comparative Law, Dispute Resolution, Family Law/Child Advocacy, Labor/Employment Law, Tax Law, and others — 20 named concentrations in total in the pack — supported by five student-edited journals (Maryland Law Review, Journal of Health Care Law & Policy, Journal of Business & Technology Law, Journal of Race, Religion, Gender and Class, and Journal of International Law).
Clinical training is not optional at Maryland Carey: the school's Cardin Requirement mandates that every full-time day J.D. student complete a clinical experience before graduating, and the school's Clinical Law Program is described as one of the region's largest public interest law firms, the first program to receive the ABA's John Minor Wisdom Award. With 243 clinic seats and 242 filled, and an additional 167 filled field placements, most students get supervised client-facing practice across offerings that include the Immigration Clinic, Consumer Protection Clinic, Criminal Defense Clinic, Environmental Law Clinic, LGBTQI+ Equality Clinic, and Low-Income Taxpayer Clinic, among others.
Other named centers extend the school's footprint into race and law (the Gibson-Banks Center for Race and the Law), immigrant justice (the Chacón Center for Immigrant Justice), and dispute resolution (the Center for Dispute Resolution, C-DRUM) — giving applicants interested in public-interest-adjacent specializations several concrete, named entry points beyond the three flagship areas.
If you want to practice law in or around Annapolis, City Hall, or a Maryland courtroom, Maryland Carey's alumni roster is less a curiosity than a career map. Six Maryland governors trace back to this law school — Albert Ritchie, Austin Lane Crothers, Theodore McKeldin, Herbert O'Conor, Marvin Mandel, and Martin O'Malley — and the current U.S. Senator from Maryland, Angela Alsobrooks, is a 1996 graduate. She joins a long line of Maryland Carey alumni who reached the U.S. Senate, including Ben Cardin, Charles Mathias, Millard and Joseph Tydings, Daniel Brewster, and George L.P. Radcliffe, plus U.S. House members Elijah Cummings and Eric Swalwell. At the state level, Bill Ferguson and Mike Miller both led the Maryland Senate as presidents after earning their degrees here, and O'Malley and Stephanie Rawlings-Blake carried Maryland Carey credentials into the Baltimore mayor's office.
The judicial bench in Maryland is thick with Carey graduates as well: multiple judges on the Maryland Court of Appeals (Sally Adkins, Mary Ellen Barbera, Lynne Battaglia, Joseph Getty, Clayton Greene Jr., Glenn Harrell Jr., Robert Murphy, Alan Wilner), plus federal judges on the U.S. District Court for Maryland (Richard Bennett, Julie Rubin, George Levi Russell III, Brendan Hurson) and the Fourth Circuit (Andre Davis, Simon Sobeloff). Benjamin Civiletti, a 1961 graduate, served as U.S. Attorney General. This is also the school tied to Murray v. Pearson, the 1936 case that forced the university to admit Donald Gaines Murray and ended its racial exclusion — the school's law library is now named for Thurgood Marshall, even though Marshall himself was denied admission here because of his race.
That historical weight shows up in current placement data, not just the alumni directory. The pack shows Maryland's own labor market as the school's largest employment destination, with 23 graduates (11.1%) going into government roles and 63 state or local judicial clerkships captured in a single reporting year — a volume that reflects the school's entrenched relationships with Maryland's courts and agencies, not a general national clerkship pipeline. Only 4 graduates landed federal clerkships in the same period, reinforcing that Maryland Carey's clerkship strength is concentrated at the state and local level, where its alumni network is deepest.
The school has also formalized its public-service identity structurally: the Cardin Requirement, named for alumnus Senator Ben Cardin, mandates a clinical experience for every full-time day J.D. student, and the Clinical Law Program is described as one of the region's largest public-interest law firms, the first to receive the ABA's John Minor Wisdom Award. For an applicant whose goal is a seat in Maryland government, a clerkship with a Maryland judge, or a path toward elected office in Baltimore or Annapolis, this alumni network is a genuine structural advantage — one built over two centuries in a school founded in 1816. For someone targeting a different state's judiciary or a national Big Law market, that same density of in-state political and judicial ties is simply less relevant, and should be weighed against the school's smaller presence in the numbers discussed elsewhere in this guide.
Your LSAT and GPA don't predict admission — they tell you where you sit against the class Maryland Carey actually enrolled. The school's most recent entering class shows an LSAT range of 156 (25th percentile) to 166 (75th percentile), with 164 as the median, and a GPA range of 3.37 to 3.88, with 3.72 as the median. A 164/3.72 sits at the statistical center of the class; a 166 and 3.88 puts you at the top quarter on both measures, which is generally the zone schools use to anchor merit scholarship offers rather than admission decisions themselves.
Because LSAT score bands drive so much of merit aid at a public school like this one, it's worth treating your test date as a financial decision, not just an academic one. The current LSAT (since August 2024) drops Logic Games and scores you across two Logical Reasoning sections and one Reading Comprehension section, on the familiar 120-180 scale; schools consider your highest score. A jump from the 25th percentile (156) to the median (164) or the 75th percentile (166) at Maryland Carey is the kind of movement that plausibly changes your scholarship offer, not just your applicant profile — a topic covered in depth at /law-school-scholarship-negotiation. For LSAT prep mechanics and timeline, see /how-to-study-for-the-lsat.
Maryland Carey received 2,876 applications for its most recent entering class and extended 750 offers, admitting roughly 26% of applicants before yielding a class of 229 students (208 full-time, 21 part-time). That volume means the school reads applications across a full cycle rather than a single fixed moment, and — as with most law schools using rolling admissions — applying earlier in the cycle generally means your file is reviewed while more seats and more scholarship funds remain available, rather than later when both are scarcer.
Given that Maryland Carey enrolls both a full-time and a smaller part-time cohort (21 students in the most recent class), applicants weighing work or family obligations against a J.D. have a structural option here that many peer schools don't offer at scale. For the general mechanics of building an application timeline — when to take the LSAT, when to request letters, how early is 'early' — see /law-school-application-timeline. The core strategic point specific to a pool this size is simple: with roughly 2,876 applicants competing for around 229 seats, a complete, early file gives the admissions committee the most room to consider you against the full range of that year's applicant pool, rather than against whatever seats and aid happen to remain later in the cycle.
At Maryland Carey, 79% of students receive some grant aid, with a median full-time grant of $28,000 against a total estimated cost of attendance around $72,851 — meaning even a typical grant recipient is still financing well over half the annual cost. The aid is also unevenly distributed: 33% of grant recipients receive less than half-tuition grants, 31% receive between half and full tuition, and 11% receive full tuition, so where you land in that range matters enormously to your actual four-year price tag.
Maryland Carey's own public data does not report how many entering students on conditional scholarships (awards tied to maintaining a minimum GPA) actually kept that award through graduation, so this guide cannot state a retention rate for this school — treat any scholarship offer's fine print as the only reliable source on that condition. As a general rule across law schools, conditional scholarships are commonly tied to class-rank or GPA benchmarks that a meaningful share of any entering class will not hit, because law school curves are typically built to distribute grades around a mandatory median — so a scholarship that looks generous on your admit letter can shrink or disappear after 1L grades post. Before enrolling, ask the school directly for its conditional-scholarship retention data by cohort, and read the award letter's exact GPA or rank threshold rather than assuming it's a formality. For a fuller walkthrough of how to negotiate or stress-test a scholarship offer, see /law-school-scholarship-negotiation; for how the resulting debt load interacts with federal loan caps and repayment plans, see /law-school-loans-and-pslf.
For someone who wants to practice in Maryland — especially in Baltimore, Annapolis, or the state and federal courts that sit atop this market — the honest answer is that the math here works differently than it would for someone chasing a national Big Law career. Carey Law's own placement data shows its largest employment category by far is "Maryland" itself, and a meaningful share of the class lands in state and local clerkships (63 in the most recent reporting year) rather than in the country's largest firms. That in-state gravity is the lens through which the worth-it question should be answered.
Start with cost. Full-time tuition runs $37,830 a year plus $2,179 in fees, and the school's own estimated full cost of attendance — tuition, fees, and living costs — is $72,851 for a single year. Multiply that across three years and, before any scholarship, you're looking at a sizable investment. The part-time program, at $24,831 in annual tuition, is a real lever for applicants who can keep working while they study, though it stretches the timeline. On the financing side, roughly 79% of students receive some grant aid, with a median award around $28,000; the distribution skews toward partial help rather than full rides — about a third of grant recipients get less than half tuition covered, another third get half-to-full, and only about 11% get a full-tuition scholarship. That means most admitted students should plan around a meaningful, though partially offset, tuition bill rather than assume a large discount will materialize (see /law-school-scholarship-negotiation for how to push on that number before you commit).
On the borrowing side, the federal rules that apply to anyone starting law school going forward matter a lot here. As of the 2026-27 cycle, Grad PLUS loans are gone for new borrowers, and federal Direct Unsubsidized loans are capped at $50,000 a year and $200,000 in aggregate — verify current figures before you borrow. A single year's cost of attendance at Carey Law sits close to that annual federal cap even before fees creep upward, which means a student with modest or no scholarship could brush against the aggregate limit well before finishing three years, and may need private loans or savings to close the gap. That's a real planning number, not a scare tactic — run your own scenario using your likely grant band (see /law-school-loans-and-pslf for the mechanics of RAP, the Standard Plan, and PSLF).
Now put outcomes against that cost. Across recent graduates, about 88% landed in jobs that are bar-required or JD-advantage, with roughly 10% going to firms of 501+ attorneys (the Big Law tier), about 11% into government work, and a smaller share — about 4% — into public interest positions. If your goal is a national Big Law offer at any cost, this isn't a school built primarily around that outcome; the 10% Big Law figure is real but modest next to the state-court, government, and public-sector concentration the rest of the data shows. If instead your goal is a Maryland judgeship clerkship, a state agency role, a prosecutor's or public defender's office, or a firm serving Baltimore-Washington corridor clients, the placement pattern is a better fit, and the roughly 15% combined government-and-public-interest share is exactly the population for whom Public Service Loan Forgiveness is designed — but only if you actively enroll in the income-driven RAP plan rather than the default Standard Plan, since Standard Plan payments earn no PSLF credit.
The bar-passage numbers reinforce the in-state read: Carey Law's first-time bar pass rate of 81.69% ran well above the state's overall first-time average of 75.59%, and the two-year ultimate pass rate reached 89.47%. For a school whose graduates disproportionately sit for the Maryland bar, that gap is a meaningful signal that the school does what it needs to do for the market it actually feeds. Weigh your own LSAT and GPA numbers against the school's medians before assuming a scholarship outcome (see /how-to-study-for-the-lsat and /law-school-application-timeline), and treat this section alongside the general framework at /is-law-school-worth-it — because the true test of value here isn't a national ranking, it's whether you plan to build a career inside Maryland's legal market.