On the numbers the college publishes, Cincinnati's JD is built to be cheap relative to what it produces — and that, more than any single ranking, is the case for calling it a smart-value law degree. Sticker tuition and fees run $24,010 plus $800 in fees for full-time students, and the school's own estimated cost of attendance, tuition plus an off-campus living budget of $25,956, comes to $50,766 for the year. That is a fraction of the sticker price at most private national law schools, and it's the reason National Jurist has named Cincinnati a "Best Value Law School" eight times and U.S. News has ranked it the No. 3 most affordable law school in the country.
The affordability case gets stronger once you look at how the school distributes aid rather than just its list price. Every single student in the entering class — 100% — receives some grant money, with a median grant of $19,000. Set against $24,010 in tuition, that median award covers roughly 79% of tuition for the student sitting exactly at the midpoint of the class. The school's own grant bands show where the rest of the class lands: 32% of grant recipients get an award covering less than half of tuition, 57% land in the half-to-full range, and 3% receive full tuition. (The bands as reported don't sum to 100%, so treat them as a general picture of distribution rather than an exhaustive account of every student's award.) The practical upshot is that a large majority of admitted students are paying well under sticker, which changes the debt-load math on the back end far more than a marginally higher rank would.
Cost only matters if outcomes hold up, and here the data pack gives a specific, checkable answer rather than a vague promise. On bar passage, Cincinnati graduates have consistently outperformed the state average: the school's most recently reported first-time bar passage rate is 85.12%, against a 78.61% Ohio average, and the school reports finishing 2nd in the state for both first-time and overall passage on the July 2023 exam (88% and 83%, respectively). The July 2025 first-time rate was 83%. Looked at over two years, the ultimate bar-passage rate for the class is 91.67% — meaning the overwhelming majority of graduates who don't pass on the first attempt do pass within the tracked window. For a school whose whole value pitch rests on affordability, a bar-passage rate that beats the state average by six to ten points in most recent cycles is exactly the kind of outcome that makes low cost meaningful rather than just cheap.
Employment tells a similar story of solid, not spectacular, outcomes purchased at a low price. Of the most recent graduating class, 90.6% landed in jobs that are full-time, long-term, and either bar-passage-required or JD-advantage — a strong placement rate for a class of 127 graduates. Eleven percent of the class (14 graduates) went into large firms of 501 or more attorneys, the Big Law tier that anchors the high end of the national salary distribution; the rest of the placed class spread across a wide range of firm sizes, from solo practice up through mid-size shops of 101–250 and 251–500 attorneys. Beyond firms, 9.4% of graduates went into government roles and 11.8% into public interest work, with a small number of federal and state/local clerkships rounding out the class. The school's largest reported employment category is simply "Ohio" — consistent with a law school whose value proposition is fundamentally regional: it is training lawyers primarily for the Cincinnati and Ohio market, with access reportedly to 800+ area law firms and Fortune 500 companies as the only law school in the city.
Put those pieces together and the value thesis is specific rather than aspirational: low sticker cost, near-universal grant coverage, bar-passage numbers that beat the state average, and a 90.6% placement rate in bar-required or JD-advantage work, for a class of only 139 students where an 8:1 student-to-faculty ratio is plausible given the school's small footprint. That is a very different value calculation than a national T14 comparison — Cincinnati currently sits at No. 82 in the U.S. News rankings (2026-27 edition, a figure that moves year to year and is worth re-checking before you rely on it) — and the 11% Big Law placement rate means most graduates are not chasing $215,000 first-year salaries. What the numbers support is a narrower but well-documented claim: for someone building a legal career centered on Ohio, particularly Cincinnati, who wants to minimize debt while keeping bar passage and employment odds solid, the cost-to-outcome ratio here is genuinely strong. Whether that adds up to "the smartest value JD in the country" depends on what you're optimizing for — but on affordability, aid coverage, and bar/employment outcomes taken together, it is a defensible claim rather than a marketing line.
It buys a law school old enough to have trained a sitting U.S. president and a Supreme Court justice, and new enough to have just renamed itself after a $43.2 million gift. Founded in 1833 as the Cincinnati Law School, the college is the fourth-oldest continuously operating law school in the United States, behind only Harvard, Virginia, and Yale, and it was the first law school established in the nation's interior. In 1900 it was a charter member of the Association of American Law Schools, and in 1896 then-dean William Howard Taft — later the 27th President and 10th Chief Justice of the United States — merged the school into the University of Cincinnati. Taft is joined on the alumni roster by Willis Van Devanter, a U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice from the class of 1881, giving the school a genuine claim to having shaped the federal bench well before most American law schools existed in their current form.
That long history is not just trivia; it shows up in the institutions the school still runs. Cincinnati Law credits itself with inventing cooperative legal education in 1906, a heritage that connects directly to today's experiential-learning numbers: 64 clinic slots offered with 62 filled, 137 filled field placements, and 219 filled simulation-course seats in the most recent reporting. The Ohio Innocence Project, housed at the college, has helped secure the release of more than 42 wrongfully convicted individuals — a concrete, ongoing output rather than a historical footnote. The Urban Morgan Institute for Human Rights and the Nathaniel R. Jones Center for Race, Gender, and Social Justice extend that same pattern of long-running, named centers with active current programming, alongside a Center for Advocacy and a Corporate Law Center.
The physical campus has changed more recently than the founding date suggests. The school operated for decades at Clifton Avenue and Calhoun Street before relocating in 2022 to a new building at Martin Luther King Drive and Campus Green Drive — meaning most current students are studying in a facility only a few years old, not the building associated with the school's nineteenth-century history. Then, in 2026, the college was renamed the Donald P. Klekamp College of Law following a $43.2 million gift from the family of alumnus and attorney Donald P. Klekamp — a signal of continued institutional investment layered on top of the 2022 building move.
What 1833 buys a 2026 applicant, in practical terms, is a school with a long enough track record to have accumulated real institutional assets — a founding faculty lineage that runs from Timothy Walker through Taft to a current roster including Dean Haider Ala Hamoudi and Dean Emeritus Joseph Tomain, established journals like the University of Cincinnati Law Review and Human Rights Quarterly, and named centers with decades of specific casework behind them — combined with a campus and a name that are both, as of 2026, brand new. That combination of inherited institutional depth and recent reinvestment is the specific thing this history buys; it is not the same as a claim about national prestige or ranking, which the school does not compete on in the same way.
Cincinnati Law's most recently reported entering class numbered 139 students, admitted from 1,353 applications and 443 offers — a 32.74% acceptance rate. That figure describes the applicant pool as a whole, not any individual's chances, but it does tell you this is a school that extends offers to roughly one in three applicants rather than one in ten.
The class's LSAT split runs 156 at the 25th percentile, 159 at the median, and 161 at the 75th percentile. GPA runs 3.64 / 3.80 / 3.91 across the same bands. Use these as planning anchors, not predictors: a 159 LSAT sits you at Cincinnati's midpoint, a 161 or higher puts your score in the top quarter of the class, and a 156 or below places you in the bottom quarter on that metric alone — with GPA doing independent work alongside it.
Cincinnati accepts both the LSAT and JD-Next as valid tests for JD admission, which gives applicants without a strong LSAT sitting an alternative path to demonstrate readiness — JD-Next is a structured online course culminating in an exam, and schools that accept it typically treat a strong result as comparable evidence of preparation. The school also runs a Double Bearcat Direct Admission Program, an LSAT-waiver pathway for qualifying University of Cincinnati undergraduates, which is worth investigating specifically if you're a current or prospective Bearcat considering law school as a 3+3 track.
On timing, Cincinnati publishes a three-tier deadline structure: a February 1 First Choice Application Deadline (generally the point at which applying earliest carries the most benefit for merit consideration), a March 15 Suggested Application Deadline, and a July 1 Final Application Deadline for JD applicants. That spread gives applicants multiple deadline options rather than a single cutoff, which matters if you're still finishing an LSAT retake or waiting on a transcript — but applying nearer February 1 rather than July 1 is the more conservative move if scholarship dollars are a priority, since class seats and grant funds both narrow as the cycle progresses.
Taken together, the numbers describe a school where the middle 50% of the class clusters in the high-150s to low-160s on the LSAT and high-3.6s to low-3.9s on GPA. An applicant well above both medians is a strong scholarship candidate here; an applicant below both should expect to compete primarily on the strength of the rest of the file, and should treat the July 1 final deadline as a real, usable option rather than an afterthought.
Illustrative: 3-year borrowing at the 2026-27 federal rate (8.07%) over 10 years; your figures depend on your offer and salary.
Cincinnati Law can and does place graduates into Big Law, but the honest read of its own outcomes data is that its center of gravity is the Ohio legal market, not the national 501+ firm track. Of 127 total graduates in the reporting class, 14 — 11% — landed at firms of 501 or more attorneys, the bracket that includes the large national and international firms most people mean when they say "Big Law." That is a real, non-trivial slice of the class, and it means a Cincinnati JD is not a closed door to a large firm. But it is a minority outcome, and the rest of the firm-size distribution tells you where most of the class actually goes: 25 graduates to firms of 1–10 attorneys, 15 to firms of 11–25, 7 to firms of 26–50, 1 to the 51–100 bracket, 5 to firms of 101–250, and another 5 to the 251–500 bracket. Add it up and the overwhelming majority of employed graduates are practicing at small and mid-sized firms — the backbone of Ohio's legal economy — rather than at the very largest national shops.
That pattern lines up with the school's own description of itself: Cincinnati Law calls itself the only law school in Cincinnati, with access to more than 800 law firms and Fortune 500 companies in the region, and its own reporting lists Ohio as the largest single employment destination for graduates. If you want to practice in Cincinnati, Columbus, Cleveland, or elsewhere in Ohio, that regional density of firms and employers — combined with the school's public status inside the University of Cincinnati and roughly a century and a half of local alumni networks — is arguably a stronger asset than a marginal improvement in national Big Law placement would be.
Beyond firm practice, the class also fed government work (12 graduates, 9.4%), public interest positions (15 graduates, 11.8%), and business/industry roles (9 graduates). Clerkships were modest in raw number — 1 federal clerkship and 2 state/local clerkships — which is typical for a school of this size and regional orientation rather than a clerkship-pipeline school. Altogether, 90.6% of graduates landed in full-time, long-term positions that were either bar-passage-required or JD-advantage, a solid overall employment outcome even though the mix skews toward Ohio-market firm sizes rather than the largest national firms.
The bar-passage numbers reinforce the same regional strength. On the July 2024 Ohio bar exam, Cincinnati Law's first-time pass rate was 85%. The school's own reporting also shows a two-year ultimate pass rate of 91.67%, meaning the large majority of graduates who don't pass on the first attempt do pass within two years. Cincinnati's bar performance has been consistently strong relative to the state in recent cycles: second in Ohio for both first-time and overall bar passage on the July 2023 administration (88% first-time, 83% overall), 85% first-time on July 2024, and an 83% first-time rate on July 2025. For a school whose primary outcome is Ohio licensure and Ohio practice, that consistent above-state-average bar performance matters more than it would for a school aiming graduates at multiple jurisdictions.
What does this mean for a prospective applicant? If your goal is specifically a 501+ firm and a national Big Law career, Cincinnati's 11% placement rate into that bracket means it happens, but it is not the default outcome, and you should weigh that against schools with materially higher Big Law placement if that single outcome is your priority — details like class rank, journal membership, and OCI performance matter enormously at the margin for that 11%. If your goal is to build a durable legal career in Ohio — at a firm of any size, in government, in public interest, or in industry — Cincinnati's status as the only law school in Cincinnati, its access to 800+ regional firms and Fortune 500 employers, its guaranteed experiential learning through clinics (including the well-known Ohio Innocence Project) and field placements, and its above-average state bar passage make it a well-matched, regionally credible choice. The distinction is worth being clear-eyed about before you enroll: Cincinnati Law is a strong regional Ohio law school with a real but minority Big Law pipeline, not primarily a national Big Law feeder.
Cincinnati's most recent reported first-time bar passage rate is 85.12%, against a state average of 78.61% — a gap of roughly 6.5 points, and its two-year ultimate pass rate for that cohort reaches 91.67%. That is not a one-time spike. The school's own year-by-year bar releases show first-time passage of 88% in July 2023 (good for 2nd in the state that sitting), 85% in July 2024, and 83% in July 2025, with overall (first-time plus repeat) passage of 83% and 81% in the 2023 and 2024 administrations respectively. Read together, these figures point to a program that has posted above-average outcomes across at least three consecutive July sittings, not a single strong year skewing the average.
What's behind it? The data pack does not detail a specific bar-prep curriculum, so any explanation has to stay close to what is documented. A few structural facts are worth weighing. Cincinnati enrolls a comparatively small class — 139 full-time 1Ls in the most recent cycle — with an 8:1 student-to-faculty ratio. Its entering academic profile is solid relative to its own admissions numbers, with a median LSAT of 159 and median GPA of 3.80 (25th/75th percentiles of 156/161 on the LSAT and 3.64/3.91 on GPA). A class this academically consistent, taught in small ratios, is a plausible but not proven contributor to steady bar outcomes — the pack does not supply a causal study, so treat that connection as a reasonable inference from structure rather than a demonstrated mechanism.
The curriculum's experiential emphasis is also documented, even if its link to bar performance isn't explicitly tested in the pack: 62 of 64 available clinic slots were filled, 137 field placements were filled, and 219 simulation-course slots were filled in the reporting year, with guaranteed experiential learning built into the program. Whether or not that experiential load directly drives bar scores, it does mean Cincinnati students spend meaningful time in applied practice settings — Ohio courts, clinics, externships — well before they sit for the UBE-style Ohio exam.
For an applicant, the practical takeaway is this: Cincinnati's bar outcomes have consistently outperformed the state average by a mid-single-digit-to-high-single-digit margin across the years reported, and its ultimate (two-attempt) passage rate clears 90%. That is a genuinely strong, verifiable data point for a school ranked 82nd nationally by U.S. News — bar performance here does not track its general ranking position, and that gap is worth factoring into any comparison with higher-ranked schools that post less consistent state-relative bar numbers.
The Ohio Innocence Project is a working legal clinic housed at Cincinnati's law school that litigates wrongful-conviction cases, and it has helped secure the release of more than 42 individuals — a track record the school lists among its defining features. For an applicant weighing where to spend three years and take on debt, that number matters less as a marketing point and more as evidence that Cincinnati offers a rare thing: an in-house clinic with a two-decade-plus record of actually overturning wrongful convictions, run as part of the regular JD curriculum rather than as an extracurricular add-on.
What the clinic actually is. OIP sits inside Cincinnati's broader clinical program, listed alongside the school's Domestic Violence and Civil Protection Order Clinic as one of its named clinics. Cincinnati reports that 62 of 64 available clinic seats were filled in the most recent reporting year, and that experiential learning — clinics, field placements, and simulation courses — is guaranteed to students rather than left to chance or waitlists. That structural detail matters: at many schools, marquee clinics like an innocence project are oversubscribed and only a small fraction of interested students ever get a seat. The pack doesn't break out OIP's specific enrollment capacity separately from the clinical program as a whole, so an applicant who wants OIP specifically should confirm current seat availability directly with the school rather than assume it based on the aggregate 62-of-64 figure.
Why it fits Cincinnati's broader identity. OIP isn't an isolated program bolted onto an otherwise generic curriculum — it sits inside a law school that also offers a Criminal Law concentration and has been recognized by preLaw Magazine as a Top 25 criminal law program. It shares institutional space with the Nathaniel R. Jones Center for Race, Gender, and Social Justice, another named center focused on social-justice work, suggesting a cluster of criminal-justice and civil-rights-adjacent programming rather than a single standout clinic surrounded by unrelated offerings. Cincinnati also reports a Top 10 Public Service program ranking from preLaw Magazine, and 11.8% of its most recent graduating class went into public interest work, with another 9.4% into government roles — meaningful minorities of the class, though the majority of graduates still go into private firms of varying sizes. If your goal is a career centered on criminal justice reform, public defense, or wrongful-conviction litigation, OIP is a credible on-ramp: it's real casework, not a moot simulation, and it's backed by outcomes you can point to (42+ releases) rather than promotional language alone.
What it does not tell you. The data pack does not name a faculty director for OIP, does not specify how many students rotate through it per year, does not describe its application or selection process, and does not report starting salaries or specific employer placements for its graduates. Faculty member Mark Godsey teaches in criminal law, criminal procedure, and evidence — subject areas that overlap with OIP's work — but the pack does not explicitly state that he directs the clinic, so that connection should not be assumed without independent confirmation. Prospective students who see OIP as a primary reason to choose Cincinnati should reach out directly to admissions or the clinic's staff to ask about current seat capacity, the application timeline for clinic enrollment, and what a typical semester of casework actually involves — none of which the published data captures.
How to weigh it in your decision. OIP is a genuine differentiator: the clinic can point to a track record of over 42 documented exonerations. If wrongful-conviction or criminal-justice work is a serious career interest rather than a passing one, that track record is a legitimate reason to weight Cincinnati more heavily in a side-by-side comparison — more legitimate, frankly, than most of the generic "experiential learning" language schools use in admissions marketing, because this one comes with a verifiable, specific outcome number attached. But it shouldn't be the only reason: it's one clinic within a law school of 398 total JD students, and the broader employment picture — a class where the largest reported employment category is simply "Ohio," with 11% landing at firms of 501+ attorneys and the remainder spread across small firms, government, and public interest — is the more relevant number for anyone not specifically pursuing wrongful-conviction work.
Cincinnati Law's promise of guaranteed experiential learning is not a slogan without numbers behind it: the school reports 64 clinic seats available with 62 filled, 137 filled field placements (externships), and 219 filled simulation-course seats in its most recent reporting cycle. Add five co-curricular offerings on top of that, and a class of roughly 139 incoming students has access to a volume of hands-on slots that regularly exceeds the size of the entering class itself.
The clinical roster includes the Domestic Violence and Civil Protection Order Clinic, where students represent real petitioners in protection-order proceedings, and the Ohio Innocence Project, one of the school's most visible programs — it has helped secure the release of more than 42 wrongly convicted individuals, and students work the actual case files alongside supervising attorneys. Advocacy training runs through the school's dedicated Center for Advocacy, which anchors trial and appellate skills work outside the clinic setting.
Field placements are a particularly deep well here: with 137 filled externship placements against a class size around 139, externships function less like a competitive add-on and more like a default part of the Cincinnati experience for students who want one. That access is helped by the school's claim to being the only law school in Cincinnati, giving students a home-field pipeline into the city's more than 800 law firms and resident Fortune 500 companies without competing against other local J.D. programs for the same placement slots.
Historically, this emphasis on learning-by-doing traces back further than any current dean: the University of Cincinnati is credited as the inventor of cooperative education in 1906, and the law school's current mix of clinics, externships, and simulation courses reads as a modern, single-discipline descendant of that co-op philosophy. The school's 8:1 student-to-faculty ratio is also relevant here — small ratios matter more in a clinical or simulation setting, where faculty supervision per student is the constraint that actually limits how many seats can be offered.
What this means practically for an applicant: if a hands-on, client-facing legal education is a priority, Cincinnati's filled-seat numbers suggest that priority is backed by actual capacity rather than a handful of marquee programs stretched thin across a much larger class.
Cincinnati Law organizes its curriculum around named concentrations rather than leaving students to assemble a specialty on their own. The list includes Business and Entrepreneurship Law, Criminal Law, Environmental and Energy Law, General and Small Practice, Health Law, Innovation, Technology, and Intellectual Property Law, International Law, Litigation and Alternative Dispute Resolution, and Public Interest Law, alongside separate Business Law and International Legal Studies concentrations.
The school's centers give several of these concentrations real institutional weight. The Corporate Law Center supports the business-law track; the Cincinnati Center for the Global Practice of Law and the Urban Morgan Institute for Human Rights back the international and human-rights side of the curriculum (the Urban Morgan Institute also connects to the school's presence in the Vis International Arbitration Moot); and the Nathaniel R. Jones Center for Race, Gender, and Social Justice anchors public-interest and social-justice coursework. The Ohio Innocence Project doubles as both a clinic and a de facto criminal-law center, which helps explain preLaw Magazine's ranking of Cincinnati's criminal law program among the top 25 nationally and its public service program in the top 10.
Student scholarship has its own outlets beyond the flagship University of Cincinnati Law Review: the Human Rights Quarterly, the Immigration and Human Rights Law Review, and the Intellectual Property and Computer Law Journal each map directly onto the international, immigration, and IP concentrations, giving students in those tracks a journal home that matches their coursework rather than a generalist law review alone.
A 159 sits almost exactly at Cincinnati Law's reported median LSAT of 159 (25th/75th percentile of 156/161), which means it lands you squarely in the middle of the school's admitted range rather than above or below it. Under this guide's compliance rules, that placement describes where your number sits relative to the school's own numbers — it is not a prediction about the outcome of your file, which also turns on GPA (Cincinnati's 25th/50th/75th is 3.64/3.80/3.91), writing sample, and softs.
Because a median LSAT rarely moves an admissions committee's assessment of "is this a strong file," the more useful question at a 159 is what it does for cost. Cincinnati reports that 100% of its J.D. students receive some grant aid, with a median grant near $19,000 and roughly 57% of the class receiving a half-to-full-tuition award. The data pack does not specify how LSAT position correlates with which grant band an applicant lands in.
If you're at 159 and have room to retake, the general LSAT mechanics apply: the current test (since August 2024) is two scored Logical Reasoning sections plus one scored Reading Comprehension section, with Logic Games gone and an unscored Argumentative Writing sample submitted separately. Schools consider your highest score, so a disciplined retake using official practice material is a low-risk way to test whether a 161-plus is reachable — for the mechanics of a study plan, see /how-to-study-for-the-lsat.
If 159 is your ceiling, that score sits at Cincinnati's own published median — but it does mean your scholarship outcome is likely to depend more on your GPA (especially relative to the 3.80 median) and file strength than on the LSAT line alone. Either way, once an offer with a grant attached arrives, it's worth knowing that scholarship figures are often a starting point for negotiation rather than a final number; see /law-school-scholarship-negotiation for how that conversation typically works.
Cincinnati Law runs three sequential J.D. deadlines rather than one cutoff: a First Choice Application Deadline of February 1, a Suggested Application Deadline of March 15, and a Final Application Deadline of July 1. Applying by February 1 signals Cincinnati as a top choice and gets a file in front of the committee earliest, which in a rolling-admissions process (the norm at most U.S. law schools) generally means earlier decisions and first access to whatever scholarship funds are still uncommitted — general rolling-admissions mechanics are covered at /law-school-application-timeline. The July 1 final deadline exists for applicants finishing testing or transcripts late in the cycle, but applying that late in a rolling system typically means competing for whatever seats and aid remain.
For University of Cincinnati undergraduates, the school also offers a Double Bearcat Direct Admission Program, which the school states functions as an LSAT waiver pathway, and 3+3 accelerated-degree partnerships with UC, Mount St. Joseph University, and Thomas More University that let qualifying students finish a bachelor's and J.D. in six years instead of seven. Cincinnati also accepts JD-Next in addition to the LSAT as a standardized-testing pathway, which is relevant for applicants who qualify for that alternative assessment rather than sitting for the LSAT itself.
Which track fits depends on your position: current UC undergrads or partner-school students should look hard at Double Bearcat or 3+3 before defaulting to a standard LSAT-based application; anyone treating Cincinnati as a first choice should target February 1 to maximize scholarship timing; and anyone still finishing a retake or waiting on materials has runway through July 1, understanding that later filing in a rolling process generally narrows — not eliminates — available options.
Nearly everyone gets a discount at Cincinnati — literally: 100% of full-time students receive some grant, with a median award of $19,000 against $24,010 in annual tuition (plus roughly $800 in fees). That median grant alone covers about 79% of tuition before you even negotiate. Cincinnati's own reported distribution shows why the headline number matters less than where you land in it: 32% of grant recipients get less than half tuition covered, 57% land in the half-to-full range, and a small 3% get a full ride. In other words, most students cluster in that middle band rather than at either extreme — useful context when you're deciding whether to negotiate a competing offer or accept what's on the table (see the general playbook at /law-school-scholarship-negotiation for how to approach that conversation).
What isn't in Cincinnati's disclosed numbers is any published data on conditional-scholarship retention — the school's compilations report no entering or reduced-award figures for the last three admitted classes. That's a gap worth asking about directly during your decision process: before you sign a scholarship letter anywhere, always confirm in writing what GPA or class-rank threshold you must hold to keep the money for all three years, since law school curves can be unforgiving to a 1L who assumed a merit award was permanent.
The bigger financing story here is the total cost of attendance itself. Cincinnati's estimated full-time COA is $50,766, built from tuition/fees around $24,810 and estimated living costs of $25,956. That number is notably low next to many private law schools, and it lines up almost exactly with the new federal borrowing ceiling that takes effect for law students in 2026-27: as of that cycle, the Direct Unsubsidized Loan for professional programs is capped at $50,000 per year (with a $200,000 aggregate and $257,500 lifetime limit), and Grad PLUS loans are gone for new borrowers. At many expensive law schools, that fixed federal cap now leaves a real gap that has to be filled with private loans or savings. At Cincinnati's cost level, a $50,000 annual federal loan is close to sufficient to cover the full estimated COA even before any scholarship money is applied — meaning a student who receives Cincinnati's median $19,000 grant on top of that borrowing capacity is likely financing the degree well within, not up against, the federal ceiling. That's a materially different risk profile than facing a six-figure private-loan shortfall.
Two cautions apply regardless of sticker price. First, loan terms are moving: the 2026-27 federal rate is expected around 8.07% with roughly a 1.057% origination fee, and only two repayment options exist for new borrowers — a Tiered Standard Plan (which earns zero PSLF credit) and the income-driven Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP), which you must affirmatively choose if you're banking on Public Service Loan Forgiveness later (see /law-school-loans-and-pslf). Verify current rates and rules directly before you borrow, since these figures are time-sensitive. Second, 'affordable' is relative to your own award letter, not the sticker price — always calculate net cost (COA minus your specific grant) rather than anchoring on the median.
For the applicant who wants a low-debt path into Ohio law practice, strong bar outcomes, and a real (if modest) shot at Big Law — yes, on the numbers Cincinnati reports, this is a defensible bet. For the applicant whose only acceptable outcome is a national-market Big Law offer or a top-20 ranking on the resume, the honest answer is that Cincinnati is not built to deliver that at scale, and you should know that going in.
Start with what the outcomes data actually shows. Of Cincinnati's 127 graduates in the reporting class, 90.6% landed in full-time, long-term jobs that were either bar-required or JD-advantage — a solid overall placement rate. But look at where those jobs are: the firm-size breakdown shows the largest single clusters in small practice (25 graduates at firms of 1-10 attorneys, 15 more at 11-25-attorney firms), with only 14 graduates (11%) placing at the 501+-attorney Big Law tier that anchors the salary distribution's upper peak. Another 9.4% went into government and 11.8% into public interest work, and the school's own reporting flags Ohio as the largest single employment destination. Put simply: Cincinnati is a regional-strength school whose graduates predominantly build careers in Ohio, in small-to-midsize firms, government, and public-interest work, with a real but minority path into large-firm practice.
The bar-passage story is a genuine strength, not a caveat. Cincinnati's graduates posted an 85% first-time pass rate on the July 2024 Ohio bar exam, and the school's ultimate (two-year) pass rate reached 91.67%. In a profession where a bar failure can derail a job offer or delay a paycheck by months, that gap over the state average is a meaningful, quotable data point — and it should reassure anyone worried that a mid-range entering LSAT median (159, with a 156-161 25th-75th spread) translates into weak bar preparation. It doesn't, on this data.
The cost side is where Cincinnati makes its strongest case. Every full-time student receives some grant, the median award is $19,000 against roughly $24,010 in tuition, and the school's own materials tout rankings like the No. 3 Most Affordable Law School nationally and an eight-time National Jurist 'Best Value' distinction. Layer that against the shared reality of the 2026-27 federal loan landscape — a $50,000 annual, $200,000 aggregate federal cap now that Grad PLUS is gone — and Cincinnati's roughly $50,766 estimated cost of attendance sits close enough to the federal ceiling that most students shouldn't need to reach for private loans to cover the gap that borrowers at pricier schools now face. Low borrowing needs matter enormously precisely because the salary outcomes here are bimodal but weighted toward the lower cluster: a graduate earning a $70,000-$90,000 small-firm or government salary can service a $60,000-$90,000 debt load far more comfortably than a $200,000 one. That arithmetic is the core of Cincinnati's value proposition — it's not selling you a shot at a $215,000 Big Law salary, it's selling you a manageable debt-to-income ratio if you land in the jobs its graduates actually take.
Who should think twice. If your goal is specifically national Big Law, a federal clerkship pipeline, or the kind of national mobility that comes from a top-15 brand name, Cincinnati's reported numbers — 1 federal and 2 state/local clerkships among 127 graduates, 11% Big Law placement, an 82nd-ranked U.S. News position — suggest you're more likely to find that path at a higher-ranked or more nationally-connected school, even at higher cost. The math only favors Cincinnati if you're weighing a large debt load elsewhere against a real chance at that outcome; if you're not competitive for those roles anywhere, the debt differential matters far more than the ranking differential.
Who it fits well. If you want to practice in Ohio (Cincinnati's location gives access to 800+ firms and the region's Fortune 500 employers, and it's the only law school in the city), you're drawn to public-interest or government work (21% combined here), you value hands-on training (guaranteed clinics and externships, plus the Ohio Innocence Project's 42+ exonerations), and you want to graduate with a debt load your likely starting salary can actually service — Cincinnati's own reported numbers support that plan without requiring you to bet on a Big Law outcome that only 11% of its class achieves.
The LSAT/GPA reality check. With medians of 159 LSAT and 3.80 GPA, and a 25th-75th LSAT band of 156-161, an applicant at or above the 75th percentile (161+ LSAT, 3.91+ GPA) sits above the school's published 75th-percentile benchmarks on both metrics. If your numbers sit below the 25th percentile, treat any offer skeptically and weigh it against the retention terms discussed above, since a scholarship you can't keep past 1L isn't real savings. For general LSAT prep mechanics, see /how-to-study-for-the-lsat; for how to sequence applications and negotiate award letters against Cincinnati's own numbers, see /law-school-application-timeline and /law-school-scholarship-negotiation.