THE ALI METHOD Know your archetype
HomeLaw School Guides
The Ohio State University

The Ohio State University Law School Guide: Admissions, Cost and Outcomes

The Ohio State University law school guide: 24.62% acceptance rate, median LSAT 168, median GPA 3.91, tuition $35,650, first-time bar passage 93.13%.

Lovare Institut Editorial Team

|

October 13, 2026

Read the school overview →
US News rank
30
Applications
2,291
Acceptance rate
24.62%
Median LSAT (25th-75th)
168 (163-169)
Median GPA (25th-75th)
3.91 (3.64-3.97)
1L class size
159
Full-time tuition
$35,650
Est. cost of attendance
$60,955
Receiving scholarships
90.0%
Employed in bar-required or JD-advantage jobs
93.0%
Into the largest firms (501+)
18.5%
First-time bar passage
93.13%
Ultimate (2-year) bar passage
95.08%

Download the full guide (PDF)

Enter your email to unlock the complete guide as a polished PDF.

You'll also get occasional updates from Lovare Institut. Unsubscribe anytime.

Why does Moritz's bar passage rate beat the Ohio average by 13+ points?

Moritz College of Law's first-time bar passage rate sits at 93.13%, compared with a 78.58% average for all takers of the same exam statewide — a gap of roughly 14.5 percentage points. That is the headline fact, and it is not a one-year fluke: the school's own reporting for the Class of 2024 shows a closely aligned overall first-time passage rate of 91.95%, and the "Ultimate Bar Pass Rate" — the share of graduates who eventually pass within two years of graduation — reached 95.08% for the Class of 2022. Read together, these numbers describe a school whose graduates clear the bar at a high and fairly stable rate across multiple graduating cohorts, not just in a single strong testing cycle.

What's actually driving the gap?

The honest answer is that Moritz's public data compilations report outcomes, not the internal mechanics that produce them, so any explanation has to be built carefully from what the pack does show rather than guessed at. Three data points are worth weighing.

First, the entering class is academically strong by the numbers Moritz itself reports: a 168 median LSAT (25th/75th percentiles of 163/169) and a 3.91 median GPA (25th/75th of 3.64/3.97), drawn from a pool of 2,291 applicants for 159 seats — a 24.62% acceptance rate. Nationally, incoming LSAT and GPA credentials are among the strongest predictors of later bar performance, because the bar exam and the LSAT both test disciplined reading, reasoning under time pressure, and written analysis. A class this selective is, by definition, arriving with the raw academic profile that tends to translate into stronger closed-book exam performance three years later.

Second, Moritz reports a substantial base of experiential and skills training that touches nearly every student before graduation: 134 clinic seats offered (130 filled), 156 filled field placements, and 930 enrollments across simulation courses, on top of 32 co-curricular offerings and roughly 80 faculty members serving a total JD enrollment of 486. This is a lot of hands-on legal training relative to class size, though the pack does not specify a formal bar-prep curriculum, structured tutoring program, or academic support office, so it would be an overreach to draw a direct causal line from clinics to bar scores. What can be said fairly is that graduates leave having practiced legal analysis repeatedly and in varied formats, which is broadly consistent with — though not proof of — strong bar outcomes.

Third, the downstream employment numbers are internally consistent with a graduating class that is passing the bar reliably and quickly: 93% of graduates landed in full-time, long-term bar-passage-required or JD-advantage roles, and the school's materials separately cite 93.8% of the Class of 2024 in full-time, long-term bar-passage-required employment specifically — a narrower category — ten months after graduation. A class that struggled broadly with bar passage would not typically post employment numbers this concentrated in bar-required work, since most of those jobs require a passed bar before a graduate can practice.

How does this compare to the school's broader standing?

Modestly, in that Moritz's bar outcomes track its general reputation rather than dramatically outperforming it. The school is ranked 30th in the U.S. News 2026-27 rankings (and was tied for 28th out of 197 schools in the 2025 edition), and was ranked 41st by Above the Law in 2024. Faculty scholarly impact was ranked tied for 34th nationally by Brian Leiter's 2024 Scholarly Impact Score. None of these rankings measure bar passage directly, but they corroborate a picture of a solidly upper-tier, well-resourced public law school where a mid-90s first-time bar rate is plausible rather than an outlier statistical event.

What should an applicant take from this?

The reliable, quotable fact is simple: Moritz graduates have passed the bar on the first attempt at roughly 93% over the most recently reported cycle, against a statewide average in the high 70s, and that gap has held up across at least two graduating classes' worth of reporting (2022's two-year ultimate rate and 2024's first-time rate). What the pack does not let us do is attribute that gap to any single program, course, or intervention — Moritz has not published that breakdown, so any claim beyond the numbers themselves would be speculation dressed as fact.

Where does a 168 LSAT and 3.91 GPA actually land you at Moritz?

A 168 LSAT and 3.91 GPA sit almost exactly on Moritz's published medians for its entering class — the 50th percentile LSAT is 168 and the 50th percentile GPA is 3.91. That means an applicant with those numbers is neither above nor below the statistical center of the class; they are sitting precisely where the largest share of admitted students cluster, based on the school's reported 25th/50th/75th splits of 163/168/169 (LSAT) and 3.64/3.91/3.97 (GPA).

It is worth being precise about what that position does and does not tell you. Moritz received 2,291 applications for a class of 159 seats, admitting 564 applicants for a 24.62% overall acceptance rate. A median LSAT/GPA is a planning anchor, not a probability: it describes where an applicant's numbers sit relative to the class the school actually enrolled, not the odds that any individual applicant with those numbers will be admitted. An applicant above the 75th percentile (169 LSAT / 3.97 GPA) is positioned above the bulk of the entering class on the numbers; someone at the 25th percentile (163 LSAT / 3.64 GPA) is positioned below most of it. A 168/3.91 applicant is simply at the class's statistical middle.

What does sitting at the median mean for cost?

This is where the numbers matter practically. Moritz reports that 90% of students receive some form of grant aid, with a median grant of $29,984 against full-time tuition of $35,650 plus $1,613 in fees — before adding an estimated $23,692 for off-campus living, for a total estimated cost of attendance around $60,955. The school also breaks grant recipients into bands: 16% receive less than half-tuition, 37% receive between half and full tuition, and 29% receive a grant covering full tuition or more. Added together, roughly two-thirds of grant recipients are getting at least a half-tuition scholarship, and nearly three in ten are getting full tuition or better.

Because law school scholarships are typically built around where an applicant's LSAT and GPA fall relative to a school's medians, an applicant entering right at Moritz's 168/3.91 midpoint is in the range where the school's own numbers show the bulk of its grant activity happening — the half-tuition-and-up bands together account for two-thirds of aided students. That does not guarantee any specific award; Moritz's public compilations do not break out award size by individual applicant credential, and the pack reports no conditional-scholarship retention data (the fields for entering and reduced awards are not populated), so nothing can be said here about whether scholarships at Moritz come with GPA-based renewal conditions. An applicant should ask directly about retention terms when comparing offers — see the general playbook on negotiating law school scholarships for how to use a school's own median data in that conversation.

The bottom line on positioning

A 168/3.91 applicant is at Moritz's center of gravity, not its ceiling or its floor. That position lines up with the school's most heavily populated grant bands, but the actual dollar figure any individual receives depends on factors — full application file, timing, institutional priorities — that are not disclosed in aggregate reporting and should never be inferred from medians alone.

What did the $30 million Moritz gift actually buy admitted students?

The Moritz name on this law school is not a marketing label — it traces to a specific $30 million gift in 2001 from Michael E. Moritz, an Ohio State undergraduate from 1954 and a 1961 graduate of the law school. At the time, it was the largest single gift Ohio State had ever received, and the university renamed the College of Law in his honor shortly after.

The gift was earmarked for three things the pack specifically documents: full-tuition scholarships, endowed faculty chairs, and other institutional initiatives. That structure still shapes the financial picture applicants see today. Ninety percent of the current entering class receives some grant aid, and the median grant among those recipients is $29,984 — nearly matching the school's own tuition figure of $35,650 (plus $1,613 in fees). Within the aid distribution, 29% of students land in the "full tuition or more" band, 37% receive scholarships covering half to full tuition, and 16% receive less than half. In other words, a meaningful share of every class is funded at or near the full-ride level the original gift was designed to create.

The endowed-chair side of the gift is visible in the faculty roster: Sarah Rudolph Cole holds the Michael E. Moritz Chair in Alternative Dispute Resolution, one of the named professorships the donation helped establish. Endowed chairs like this are how a gift of this size compounds — it doesn't just write scholarship checks for one class, it permanently subsidizes senior faculty lines, which in turn is part of how a public law school in Columbus recruits and retains scholars who might otherwise go to a private, better-funded peer.

For an applicant, the practical translation is this: Moritz's total cost of attendance is estimated at $60,955 for a year, tuition and fees make up just under $37,300 of that, and the living-cost estimate for the rest is $23,692. Against that backdrop, a median grant of roughly $30,000 offsets close to the entire tuition line for a typical aided student — not a hypothetical "average discount," but a number drawn directly from the school's own reporting. Applicants weighing an offer here should treat their own scholarship letter as the number that matters, but they can use the published bands (16% under half, 37% half-to-full, 29% full or more) to gauge where a given offer sits relative to classmates, and can reasonably expect the school's aid office to be well practiced at packaging awards, since doing so at scale has been part of its institutional identity for two decades.

What the gift did not do, as far as the pack documents, is change the school's public tuition rate for students outside the grant system — the 10% of the class receiving no grant faces the full sticker cost. The Moritz gift built a scholarship engine layered on top of ordinary public-university tuition, not a tuition-free model for everyone.

Is the #1-ranked Program on Dispute Resolution a reason to choose Moritz over a higher-ranked peer?

Moritz's Program on Dispute Resolution is ranked #1 in the nation, which is a distinct, specialty-specific ranking sitting alongside the school's overall U.S. News position of 30th (2026-27 cycle) — meaning Moritz can credibly claim to be the best place in the country to study ADR while still sitting outside the top tier of general rankings. Whether that trade is worth it depends entirely on what an applicant plans to do with the degree.

The program's strength isn't just a ranking headline. It has its own dedicated scholarly outlet, the Ohio State Journal on Dispute Resolution, giving students in the field a specialty journal to write for and cite-check on, something most law schools without a top-ranked ADR program cannot offer at the same depth. The subject also has a named chair behind it: Sarah Rudolph Cole holds the Michael E. Moritz Chair in Alternative Dispute Resolution, meaning the program's flagship scholar occupies an endowed position specifically built around this specialty rather than a general contracts or civil procedure line. That combination — a #1-ranked program, a dedicated journal, and an endowed chair in the exact subject — is a concentration of institutional resources around ADR that a generalist top-15 school without a comparable specialty ranking may not match.

Moritz also backs this up with breadth in skills training that dispute-resolution work depends on: the school reports 134 available law clinic slots (130 filled), 156 filled field placements, and 930 filled simulation-course seats, plus 32 co-curricular offerings. The pack also notes that Moritz's lawyering skills teams won two national championships in the 2024-25 year — a competitive-skills credential that dovetails with a dispute-resolution-heavy curriculum, since ADR training and competition-style advocacy draw on overlapping skill sets.

The honest caveat is what the pack does not show. It doesn't break out how many Moritz graduates go on to ADR-specific careers, mediation practices, or arbitration boutiques, so there's no way to quantify the #1 ranking's actual return in placement terms. What the employment data does show is a broader picture: of 157 total graduates, 93% obtained full-time, long-term, bar-passage-required or JD-advantage employment, 18.5% went to firms of 501+ attorneys, and the largest employment category was in-state (Ohio). That's a solid overall outcomes picture for a regionally rooted public school, but it isn't proof that the ADR ranking itself is driving those numbers — a prospective student choosing Moritz specifically for dispute resolution should treat the #1 program as a genuine academic and reputational asset in that niche, not as a guarantee of a particular job market outcome the pack doesn't itemize.

So the honest framing is: if an applicant's goal is dispute resolution, mediation, or arbitration practice specifically, Moritz offers a concentration of ranked strength, dedicated scholarship outlets, and named faculty leadership that a higher-generalist-ranked school may not replicate in that specific field. If the goal is a generic path to a larger firm or a different practice area entirely, the #1 ADR ranking is a nice credential on the wall but not the variable that should override the school's overall rank of 30th in a broader school-choice decision.

Can Moritz get you to Big Law, or is this really an Ohio-first pipeline?

Both, in proportions worth understanding before you enroll. Of the 157 graduates in the most recently reported class, 29 — about 18.5% — went to firms of 501 or more attorneys, the size bracket that maps to the "Big Law" salary scale. Add the 13 graduates who landed at firms of 251–500 attorneys and roughly 27% of the class started at a firm large enough to pay on or near the national large-firm scale. That is a real, non-trivial Big Law pipeline for a school ranked 30th by U.S. News for 2026-27 — but it still means most of the class did not go that route.

How many Moritz graduates go to Big Law firms?

Big Law (501+ attorneys) absorbed 29 of 157 graduates, or 18.5% of the class, based on the school's reported firm-size distribution. That distribution also shows 13 graduates at firms of 251-500 attorneys, 7 at firms of 51-100, 13 at firms of 101-250, and smaller clusters at 11-25 (5) and 26-50 (3) attorneys. Another 24 graduates went to small firms of 1-10 attorneys — nearly as many as went to the very largest firms. Read together, the firm-size curve is genuinely bimodal: a meaningful slice at the top of the market, a comparable-sized slice at small firms, and a middle band spread across mid-size regional shops.

Where do most graduates actually work?

The school's own reporting identifies Ohio itself as the single largest employment category for the class — more graduates end up practicing in-state than in any other single outcome bucket the school tracks. Combined with 14 graduates (8.9%) going into government roles and 19 (12.1%) into public interest work, a substantial share of each class is building a career inside Ohio's legal market — courts, agencies, regional firms, and the state's business community — rather than migrating to New York, D.C., or California for a national firm. That in-state gravity is consistent with a flagship state university law school whose name, alumni network, and employer relationships are concentrated in Columbus and across Ohio's other major legal markets.

What about clerkships?

Clerkships are present but modest in volume: 2 graduates secured federal clerkships and 5 secured state or local clerkships in the most recent class. That is a small number in absolute terms, which is normal for a class of this size, but it means a clerkship path at Moritz is realistic for a subset of highly credentialed graduates rather than a default track built into the curriculum for dozens of students.

Does the alumni network back up the Ohio-first read?

Moritz's most prominent named alumni skew heavily toward Ohio public life and the judiciary: multiple Ohio Supreme Court justices (including Evelyn Lundberg Stratton and Yvette McGee Brown, the first African-American woman to sit on that court), Ohio governors and U.S. senators (John Bricker, George Voinovich, William Saxbe — the latter also a U.S. Attorney General), and a long list of Ohio state legislators, mayors, and appellate judges. At the same time, the network is not exclusively local: Jeffrey Sutton ('90) sits on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, Brian Sandoval ('89) became Governor of Nevada and later a federal district judge there, and Henry Schuck ('09) founded and runs ZoomInfo, a publicly traded company. The pattern supports both halves of the question: Moritz produces graduates who go on to national-level roles, but the center of gravity — bench, bar, and business — remains Ohio.

What does the bar-passage data say about the base the pipeline rests on?

Whichever path a graduate takes, Moritz's bar outcomes are strong on both dimensions the school reports. The first-time bar passage rate for the Class of 2024 was 93.13% (91.95% overall by the school's separate reporting), against a state average of 78.58% for the same sitting — a gap of roughly 15 points. The Ultimate Bar Pass Rate (graduates who pass within two years) reached 95.08% for the Class of 2022. Combined with 93% of graduates landing in full-time, long-term, bar-passage-required or JD-advantage jobs within ten months, the data suggests that whichever door a graduate walks through — a 500-plus-lawyer firm, an Ohio agency, a small local practice, or a clerkship — nearly all of them are employed in law and licensed to practice.

So which is it — Big Law feeder or Ohio pipeline?

The honest answer is that Moritz runs both lanes simultaneously, at different scales. Roughly one in five to one in four graduates enters the large-firm market where Big Law salaries and hours apply; a comparable or larger share stays inside Ohio's courts, government, and mid-size and small-firm practice, which is where the school's largest single employment bucket sits. If your goal is specifically a 501+-attorney firm on the coasts, Moritz can get you there — the 18.5% Big Law figure is real — but you should not assume it's the modal outcome. If your goal is building a legal career centered on Ohio, with strong bar-passage numbers behind you and an alumni network embedded in the state's bench, legislature, and business community, that is arguably the more typical and more probable path through this school, based on where the data shows the largest share of each class actually lands.

What's the real return on a Moritz JD once grants and Ohio salaries are netted out?

  • Full-tuition scholarship: Est. debt at graduation: $71,076; ~Monthly payment: $862/mo
  • Median grant (~$29,984/yr): Est. debt at graduation: $92,913; ~Monthly payment: $1,127/mo
  • Sticker (no aid): Est. debt at graduation: $182,865; ~Monthly payment: $2,219/mo

Illustrative: 3-year borrowing at the 2026-27 federal rate (8.07%) over 10 years; your figures depend on your offer and salary.

What does full sticker price look like against the median Moritz grant?

Moritz's own reported total cost of attendance for a full-time student is $60,955 a year, built from $35,650 in tuition, $1,613 in mandatory fees, and $23,692 in estimated off-campus living costs. Against that sticker price, the school reports a median scholarship of $29,984 for full-time students — enough to cover roughly 84% of tuition alone, before fees or living costs, for a student sitting at the middle of the aid distribution.

How common is it to get a grant at all?

Very common: 90% of full-time students receive some grant aid, according to the school's own reporting. That means paying full sticker price without any institutional discount is the exception at Moritz, not the norm — though the size of that discount varies widely across the class.

How is aid actually distributed across the class?

The school reports its aid in three bands. About 16% of students receive a grant covering less than half of tuition, 37% receive a grant covering between half and the full tuition amount, and 29% receive a grant covering full tuition or more. Read together with the 90% overall grant rate, that leaves roughly 10% of the class paying full price with no institutional grant. The practical range, then, runs from a full-tuition scholarship at the top band down to a partial award covering a modest fraction of tuition at the bottom band — a wide spread that makes the $29,984 median useful mainly as a planning anchor rather than a number to expect by default.

Does Moritz have a specific tradition of funding full-ride aid?

Yes, and it's tied directly to the school's name. In 2001, Michael E. Moritz — a 1961 graduate of the law school — gave $30 million to Ohio State, at the time the largest single gift in the university's history, specifically to fund full-tuition scholarships and endowed chairs, among other purposes. The college was renamed in his honor afterward. That gift is part of the institutional basis for the meaningful full-tuition band (29% of the class) the school still reports today, though the pack does not break out how many of those full-tuition awards trace to the Moritz gift specifically versus other scholarship funds.

What should an applicant actually budget for?

Start from the $60,955 published cost of attendance, then subtract whatever grant offer you receive rather than assuming the $29,984 median applies to you — award letters at Moritz, as at most law schools, are tied to each applicant's own file rather than distributed evenly. A student landing in the full-tuition band effectively faces a cost of attendance close to the $23,692 living-expense component alone, while a student receiving no grant faces the full $60,955. Because these differences compound over three years, it is worth comparing any Moritz offer against offers from peer schools using the same net-cost logic — see our scholarship-negotiation guide for how to do that comparison and how to ask a school to revisit an initial offer.

What about financing whatever a grant doesn't cover?

Whatever gap remains between a grant and the $60,955 cost of attendance is typically financed through federal Direct Unsubsidized loans, capped at $50,000 a year and $200,000 in aggregate for law borrowers as of the 2026-27 lending rules, with any additional shortfall met through savings or private loans since Grad PLUS is no longer available to new borrowers. That system, and how repayment plans like the income-driven Repayment Assistance Plan or Public Service Loan Forgiveness interact with it, is general to all law schools rather than specific to Moritz — see our loans and PSLF guide for the mechanics.

What does Moritz's 134-year alumni network of judges and governors tell you about long-term career reach?

Moritz has been graduating lawyers since it opened in October 1891 with 33 students in the basement of the old Franklin County Courthouse, and that 134-year head start shows up in an alumni body of roughly 11,000 spread across the country. What that number actually tells you is less about brand prestige and more about where the network concentrates: heavily in Ohio's judiciary, statehouse, and business community, with pockets of national reach in the federal courts and Washington.

The Ohio depth is the clearest signal. Moritz alumni have served as governor of Ohio three times over (John W. Bricker, C. William O'Neill, and George Voinovich), as Ohio attorney general and U.S. senator (William Saxbe, who also served as U.S. Attorney General), and on the Ohio Supreme Court repeatedly — including Evelyn Lundberg Stratton and Yvette McGee Brown, the first African-American woman to sit on that court. Dozens of Moritz graduates have gone on to the federal bench in Ohio's Northern and Southern Districts, and Jeffrey Sutton ('90) sits on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. This is consistent with the school's current outcomes data, which lists Ohio as the largest single employment destination for recent graduates — the alumni network and the placement pattern point the same direction.

The reach isn't purely local, though. Brian Sandoval ('89) became governor of Nevada and later a federal district judge there, and current placements include state and federal clerkships each year (2 federal, 5 state/local in the most recent reported class) that feed into that same judicial pipeline nationally. On the business side, alumni include Henry Schuck ('09), founder and CEO of ZoomInfo, and John W. Creighton Jr., a former president and CEO of Weyerhaeuser — evidence the degree has also launched non-litigation careers in industry leadership.

The school's own facilities and naming history reflect how this network has funded itself forward: Drinko Hall, Moritz's home since 1958, is named for John Deaver Drinko, a 1944 alumnus who became managing partner of BakerHostetler, and the college itself was renamed in 2001 after a $30 million gift from Michael E. Moritz ('61 law), at the time the largest single gift in Ohio State's history, which endowed full-tuition scholarships and faculty chairs still in use today.

For a prospective applicant, the practical read is this: if your goal is a seat on an Ohio bench, a role in Ohio state government, or a career built inside the Columbus/Ohio legal and business market, Moritz's alumni density there is a genuine, decades-deep asset. If your goal is a national placement outside government or the judiciary — say, a coastal Big Law career — the network still has known nodes (Sixth Circuit, various U.S. District Courts, some Fortune 500 leadership), but it is not the primary lever; that outcome will depend more on the school's current on-campus recruiting and the firm-size placement data covered elsewhere in this guide.

How should you read your own LSAT/GPA against Moritz's 24.62% acceptance rate?

A 24.62% acceptance rate tells you Moritz's admitted class is a small, credential-dense slice of roughly 2,300 applicants competing for about 159 seats — but it is not a probability calculator, and the honest way to use it is to locate your own LSAT and GPA against Moritz's published percentiles rather than ask "what are my chances."

Moritz's reported LSAT range runs from a 25th percentile of 163 to a 75th percentile of 169, with a 168 median; on the GPA side, the 25th-75th runs 3.64 to 3.97, with a 3.91 median. If your numbers sit at or above the 168/3.91 median, you're positioned at or above the class's statistical center on the numbers the school reports — that's a planning anchor, not a promise. If you're at the 163/3.64 mark, you're inside the school's reported range but on its lower edge, which typically means the rest of your file (softs, writing, work experience, an upward grade trend) has to do more work to make the case that your file reads like the numbers alone won't show.

Because the LSAT is scored 120-180 and schools consider your highest sitting, the score you report to Moritz is whichever attempt is best — so if your diagnostic or first real score sits below 163, the calculus is usually whether a few more months of official practice material can move you into or above Moritz's middle 50%, since even a few points can shift how a file is read internally. The current LSAT (since August 2024) is two scored Logical Reasoning sections, one scored Reading Comprehension section, and an unscored variable section, with Logic Games removed and an unscored writing sample submitted separately online — mechanics worth understanding in detail before you sit for it (see /how-to-study-for-the-lsat).

The LSAT/GPA numbers also matter beyond the admit decision: they are the primary lever behind scholarship award size. Moritz reports that 90% of students receive some grant, with a median grant of $29,984 against total estimated annual cost of attendance near $60,955 — but the distribution is uneven: roughly 29% of students receive a grant covering full tuition, 37% get half-to-full, and 16% get less than half. Where your LSAT and GPA sit relative to the 168/3.91 median is generally the single biggest factor in which of those bands you land in, which is why it's worth treating your numbers as a financial-aid lever as much as an admissions one — a topic covered in more depth at /law-school-scholarship-negotiation. None of this is a guarantee; a high LSAT/GPA combination relative to Moritz's medians simply changes how your file is read and how the school prices your seat, nothing more.

What should your Moritz application actually emphasize?

Your Moritz application should do two things clearly: show where your numbers sit against the school's 168 LSAT / 3.91 GPA medians, and give the committee a concrete reason you specifically fit Moritz rather than a generic mid-Big-Ten public law school. Since Moritz's own outcomes data shows Ohio as its largest employment destination and its Program on Dispute Resolution is a genuine national specialty, applicants with a real interest in Ohio practice, public-sector law, or ADR have an easy, honest hook to write toward in a personal statement or "why this school" addendum — reviewers can tell the difference between a tailored answer and a template.

If your LSAT or GPA falls below Moritz's median, use the rest of the file — an addendum explaining a grade anomaly, a writing sample that shows analytical range, or work experience tied to law — to do the work the raw numbers won't. If your numbers are at or above median, don't assume the file writes itself; strong numbers still benefit from a specific, well-supported statement of purpose, since scholarship decisions (not just admission) often hinge on how compelling the full file reads.

Practically, build your timeline backward from your target LSAT score and recommend letters early — a rushed file rarely represents an applicant well, and application mechanics (deadlines, letter timing, transcript requests) are worth mapping out months in advance; general timeline guidance is at /law-school-application-timeline. Because this section can't state Moritz's specific deadline or fee without risking an outdated figure, verify both directly on the school's admissions page before you finalize your plan.

How do most admitted students actually pay for Moritz?

Most admitted students at Moritz pay with a mix of grant aid and federal loans, and the school's own numbers show aid is not a rounding error here: 90% of the entering class receives some form of grant, with a median award of $29,984 among full-time grant recipients. That's real money against a sticker price of $35,650 in tuition plus $1,613 in fees, and it matters because Ohio State's total estimated cost of attendance — including $23,692 in off-campus living costs — comes to roughly $60,955 per year.

The aid isn't evenly distributed as a flat discount; it's tiered. Of admitted students who get grants, Moritz reports 16% receive less than half-tuition, 37% land in the half-to-full-tuition band, and 29% receive a full-tuition scholarship. That spread means your LSAT and GPA relative to Moritz's medians (169/168/163 at the 75th/50th/25th, and a 3.97/3.91/3.64 GPA spread) is the single biggest lever on which of those three bands you fall into — a score at or above the 75th percentile puts you in a materially stronger negotiating position than one at the 25th. If you have competing offers, it's worth understanding how scholarship committees actually respond to that leverage; see the scholarship negotiation guide for the mechanics of asking.

On the loan side, the picture changed meaningfully for the 2026-27 borrowing cycle: Grad PLUS loans are gone for new borrowers, and law students now rely on the Direct Unsubsidized Loan, capped at $50,000 per year and $200,000 in aggregate (within a $257,500 lifetime federal cap), at a rate near 8.07% plus roughly a 1.057% origination fee (verify current figures before you borrow). Against Moritz's ~$61,000 all-in annual cost, the federal loan cap alone doesn't fully cover the bill for a student paying sticker price — the gap has to be closed by scholarship money, savings, or a private loan. This is exactly why the 90%-grant-recipient figure matters: for most of the class, the scholarship is what keeps that annual shortfall small or eliminates it, rather than pushing students into private borrowing at less favorable terms.

Repayment design is also worth planning around before you sign anything. New federal borrowers choose between a Tiered Standard Plan and the Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP), an income-driven option; critically, the Standard Plan is the default and earns no PSLF credit, so anyone planning to work toward Public Service Loan Forgiveness in a government or nonprofit role after Moritz needs to affirmatively enroll in RAP, not assume it happens automatically. Given that a meaningful share of Moritz graduates go into government and public-interest work (figures below in the outcomes section), this decision point is not abstract for a chunk of each class. For the fuller mechanics of RAP, PSLF, and the tradeoffs between them, see law school loans and PSLF; for how the loan caps interact with total cost of attendance and whether the investment pencils out, see is law school worth it.

Is Ohio State Moritz worth it if you plan to practice in Ohio?

For someone planning to build a career in Ohio, Moritz's own outcomes data points toward a strong in-state case: the school's largest reported employment category for its graduates is Ohio itself, its bar passage numbers beat the state average by a wide margin, and its in-state public tuition keeps the debt load more manageable than at most private peers. Whether that adds up to "worth it" depends on what kind of legal career you're aiming for and how much you're paying to get there — the pack doesn't hand you a single verdict, but it gives you real numbers to run the math yourself.

What do the employment numbers actually show?

Of the Class of 2024's 157 graduates, 93% landed full-time, long-term jobs requiring bar passage or a JD advantage ten months after graduation — a strong outcome by any national standard, and one Moritz reports directly rather than leaving to estimate. The distribution across employer types is informative for an Ohio-focused applicant: 29 graduates (18.5%) went to firms of 501+ attorneys (the "Big Law" category), while the firm-size breakdown shows a further 13 at firms of 251-500, 13 at 101-250, 7 at 51-100, 5 at 11-25, and 24 at firms of 1-10 attorneys. Government work absorbed 14 graduates (8.9%), public interest another 19 (12.1%), and business/industry roles took 13. Clerkships added 2 federal and 5 state/local placements. That's a class that fans out across the full range of practice settings rather than concentrating narrowly in one — useful context if your plan is a mid-size Columbus, Cleveland, or Cincinnati firm rather than a national Big Law office.

Generic labor-market context helps explain why that firm-size spread matters financially: nationally, entry-level compensation at the largest firms clusters near $215,000, while the far larger population of new lawyers at smaller firms, government agencies, and public-interest employers earns considerably less. Moritz's own reporting doesn't break out starting salaries by employer type in this pack, so treat that $215,000 figure as general market context for the roughly one-in-five graduates entering Big Law — not as a Moritz-specific number, and not as a baseline for the other four-fifths of the class.

How strong is the bar-passage case for staying in Ohio?

Very strong on the numbers Moritz reports: its Class of 2024 first-time bar passage rate was 93.13% (the school also cites an overall first-time figure of 91.95% for the same class), against a state average of 78.58% — roughly a 15-point gap. Its Ultimate Bar Pass Rate (graduates who pass within two years) reached 95.08% for the Class of 2022. For an applicant whose plan is to sit for the Ohio bar and start practicing locally, a first-time pass rate that clears the state average by this much is a meaningful signal that the school's curriculum and bar-prep support are calibrated well for that exact exam — one less variable to worry about relative to schools whose first-time rates track closer to, or below, their state average.

What does it cost relative to what you get back?

Ohio State's full-time tuition is $35,650 (plus $1,613 in fees), with a total estimated cost of attendance around $60,955 including living costs. That is a public-school price point, and it matters directly to the worth-it calculation: a graduate who takes a public-interest, government, or smaller-firm Ohio job — the outcome for a majority of this class, given that only 18.5% land in Big Law — is repaying that debt on a salary well below the Big Law peak, and a lower principal balance changes that math substantially. Layer in that 90% of the class receives grant aid with a median award near $29,984, and a large share of admitted students are not paying full sticker price to begin with. The debt-to-income ratio for a Moritz graduate entering Ohio government or public-interest work, aided by even a partial scholarship, looks considerably more sustainable than the same calculation would at a private school charging $15,000-$20,000 more per year with comparable aid.

Who is this the strongest bet for?

An applicant who wants to practice in Ohio, whose LSAT and GPA sit at or above Moritz's medians (169/168/163 LSAT and roughly 3.97/3.91/3.64 GPA across the 75th/50th/25th percentiles) and can therefore negotiate meaningful scholarship money, is looking at a genuinely favorable combination: below-average debt for a T30-ranked program, a bar-passage safety margin well above the state average, and an employer base concentrated in the state where they intend to work. The roughly 11,000-alumni network, concentrated heavily in Ohio courts, agencies, and firms, is also a practical asset for anyone building a career regionally rather than chasing a national Big Law track.

Who should think twice?

Someone who is set on a national Big Law career regardless of location, or who would need to pay full sticker price without meaningful aid, should weigh Moritz's roughly 18.5% Big Law placement rate and its public, state-school pricing against schools with stronger national large-firm pipelines or aid specifically targeted at that outcome. Similarly, if geographic mobility outside Ohio (or the broader Midwest) is the priority, it's worth confirming — beyond what this pack reports — how strong Moritz's placement is in the specific target market, since the data here identifies Ohio as the largest employment destination without breaking out other regions. As always, current U.S. News rankings (Moritz sits at 30 in the most recent cycle referenced here) shift year to year and shouldn't be the deciding factor on their own. For the general framework behind weighing sticker cost, aid, and career plans against each other, see is law school worth it.