Texas Southern University's law school exists because the state of Texas tried to avoid integrating the University of Texas School of Law. In 1946, Heman Marion Sweatt applied to UT Law and was denied admission because he was Black. Sweatt sued, represented by NAACP attorney Thurgood Marshall, in the case that became Sweatt v. Painter. Rather than risk a court order to integrate UT, the Texas legislature passed Senate Bill 140, creating a new university to offer law and other professional instruction to Black Texans. That institution opened in 1946 as the Texas State University for Negroes and was renamed Texas Southern University in 1951. The law school today carries the name of the attorney who forced the state's hand — Thurgood Marshall — and who went on to argue Brown v. Board of Education and become the first Black U.S. Supreme Court justice.
That origin is not a marketing footnote; it is the school's reason for being, and it still shapes who TMSL is. The school was built to give Black Texans a path into the legal profession that the state had explicitly tried to deny, and its mission has stayed oriented toward opening that door rather than narrowing it. TMSL is a member-school of the Thurgood Marshall College Fund, the national organization supporting historically Black public colleges and universities, and of the Association of American Law Schools.
The school's history has not been uniformly smooth, and a fair accounting says so. In 2017, the ABA censured TMSL for noncompliance with nondiscrimination standards after finding evidence of gender discrimination and sexual harassment, on top of earlier findings that the school was out of compliance with admissions standards. By 2020, the ABA found TMSL back in full compliance with all accreditation standards. Applicants weighing the school today should know both halves of that record: a formal censure occurred, and the school worked its way back to full compliance within a few years.
The founding mission has also evolved into present-day programming rather than staying frozen in 1946. In 2016, TMSL launched the nation's first LL.M. program focused specifically on Immigration and Naturalization Law — a modern extension of the same underlying commitment to serving populations the legal system has historically underserved. The school's research infrastructure carries a similar thread: the Earl Carl Institute for Legal and Social Justice, the Center for Legal Pedagogy, and the Institute for International and Immigration Law are all organized around access and justice rather than generic doctrinal training. Its two student-edited publications, the Thurgood Marshall Law Review and the Thurgood Marshall School of Law Gender, Race, and Justice Law Journal, keep that framing in their names and subject matter.
Where this history shows up most concretely is in the school's alumni body, which reads like a roster of the legal and political figures who built on the ground Sweatt's case opened. Graduates include U.S. Representatives Sylvia Garcia, Al Green, and Hank Johnson; Texas House member Senfronia Thompson; former Congressman Craig Washington; Morris Overstreet, the first African-American elected to statewide office in Texas; Mississippi Supreme Court Justice Leslie D. King; Jackson, Mississippi Mayor Chokwe Antar Lumumba; sitting and senior federal judges Kenneth M. Hoyt and Brian C. Wimes; and Belvin Perry, the Florida judge who presided over the Casey Anthony trial. These are not abstractly impressive names — they are a direct, traceable line from a lawsuit about being denied admission to a law school, to a law school that exists because of that denial, to graduates who went on to hold the kind of public offices and judgeships that shape law themselves.
For a prospective applicant, the practical translation of this history is straightforward: TMSL was built as an access institution, not a prestige play, and it has stayed one. Its library holds more than 350,000 volumes and volume equivalents, a substantial research base for a school of its size, and its centers and LL.M. offering signal a continued institutional bet on immigration law and social-justice-adjacent practice areas rather than a pivot toward corporate prestige credentialing. Anyone applying should understand they are choosing a school whose identity is inseparable from a specific civil rights case — and whose more recent accreditation history includes both a real disciplinary episode and a documented return to compliance.
TMSL admitted about a third of applicants in the cycle reflected in ABA 2025 compilations — 673 offers out of 2,032 applications, a 33.12% acceptance rate, feeding an entering class of 221 students, all full-time (the school does not run a part-time JD track). That acceptance rate places TMSL well outside the most numerically selective tier of law schools, but a 33% rate still means roughly two-thirds of applicants were not offered a seat, so admission is not automatic for anyone.
The LSAT and GPA bands describe where the middle of the admitted class sits, not a prediction of any individual applicant's outcome. TMSL's LSAT 25th/50th/75th percentiles are 148/150/152, and its GPA 25th/50th/75th percentiles are 2.99/3.33/3.62. In plain terms: a 150 LSAT sits at the school's median, a 152 is at its 75th percentile, and a 148 is at its 25th percentile — useful as planning anchors for where an applicant's numbers fall relative to the class, not as odds of getting in. The same logic applies to GPA: a 3.33 is the class median, and both a 2.99 and a 3.62 are common, bracketing figures within the middle half of admitted students. Applicants studying for the test should treat these bands as context for the LSAT's mechanics, covered in more depth on the LSAT prep spoke, rather than as a target score guaranteeing anything.
TMSL is a public law school with annual tuition of $19,202 plus $1,836 in fees, and its total estimated cost of attendance — including an off-campus living estimate of $27,784 — comes to about $48,822 per year. That sticker price is meaningfully lower than the typical private law school, which matters directly to the affordability calculus for students choosing between debt loads.
About 51% of students receive some grant aid, with a median grant among recipients of $7,363 — a partial-tuition award, not close to covering tuition in full for most who get one. The distribution of awards skews toward smaller amounts: 33% of students receive aid covering less than half of tuition, 17% receive aid covering between half and full tuition, and only 1% receive a full-tuition award. In other words, grant aid at TMSL is real but modest for most recipients, and full rides are rare.
One number deserves particular attention from anyone counting on a scholarship to make the school affordable: of the students who entered in 2024-25 with a conditional scholarship, 56 of 83 — 67.5% — had that award reduced, meaning roughly a third kept their award fully intact after year one. Conditional scholarships are typically tied to maintaining a minimum GPA within the school's mandatory curve, and a two-thirds retention rate signals that this is a real risk, not a formality — applicants should ask directly what GPA threshold their own offer requires and model their budget for the possibility of losing the award. Comparable retention figures were not reported for the two prior cycles in the available data, so no multi-year trend can be stated.
Taken together, the admissions and cost profile describes a school that is moderately selective by acceptance rate, serves a class whose numeric credentials sit below the range typical of higher-ranked schools, and keeps its base cost relatively low for a program in a major legal market — while asking a meaningful share of scholarship recipients to hold onto a GPA threshold to keep their aid. Applicants for whom cost is the deciding factor should weigh the in-state tuition advantage against the real chance of a reduced or lost scholarship after year one, and read the school's own conditional-scholarship terms before enrolling.
Texas Southern's Thurgood Marshall School of Law reported a first-time bar passage rate of 62.89%, against a Texas statewide first-time average of 82.61% — a gap of roughly 20 percentage points. That single comparison is the number most prospective students find first, and it is real. But TMSL's own ultimate, two-year bar passage rate — the share of a class that eventually passes within two years of graduation, counting retakes — is 76.00%. That is a materially different picture: most graduates who don't clear the bar on the first attempt do clear it on a later one, and the two-year figure is the one that more closely tracks whether a graduate ultimately becomes a licensed, practicing attorney.
It's worth being precise about which numbers are being compared, because the pack contains two different first-time figures that cover different scopes. TMSL's own reporting states that for July 2024 first-time takers, the school's Texas Bar Examination passage rate was 75.91% — a number specific to the Texas exam alone. Separately, the ABA-style first-time passage rate cited for all jurisdictions in 2023 was 63.45%, and the most recent first-time rate reported here is 62.89%. The takeaway isn't that these numbers contradict each other; it's that 'first-time bar pass rate' can mean different things depending on which exam sitting, which jurisdiction, and which cohort year is being measured. A single Texas-only sitting can look meaningfully stronger than a blended, multi-jurisdiction, multi-cycle figure. Anyone comparing TMSL to another school should confirm which of these two kinds of numbers they're looking at on both sides of the comparison.
What's likely driving the gap. TMSL's entering class has an LSAT median of 150 (25th/75th percentile of 148/152) and a GPA median of 3.33 (25th/75th of 2.99/3.62). Entering academic credentials are often cited as one factor associated with bar passage outcomes, and TMSL's entering class has a median LSAT of 150. That's a real structural factor a prospective student should weigh — not as a moral judgment on any individual applicant, but as an honest predictor of the licensure hurdle a class as a whole will face nine months and then two years after graduation.
TMSL's institutional history adds another layer of context. The school was censured by the ABA in 2017 for noncompliance with nondiscrimination standards, and was earlier found out of compliance with admissions standards; by 2020, the ABA found TMSL back in full compliance with all accreditation standards. That history doesn't explain a specific bar-passage number, but it signals that TMSL has operated under heightened regulatory scrutiny in the recent past and has since been recertified as meeting the ABA's standards across the board, including presumably its bar-passage requirements, which the ABA monitors closely for every accredited school.
What this means if you're deciding whether to enroll. A 20-point first-time gap is not something to wave away, but it is also not the whole story. If your plan is to sit for the Texas bar once and be done, the honest planning number is the first-time rate, which ranges from 62.89% to 75.91% depending on which cohort and jurisdiction you're measuring, not the 82.61% state average, which blends in schools with much higher entering medians. If your plan realistically includes the possibility of a second attempt, the two-year ultimate rate of 76% is the more useful anchor, because it captures what actually happens to most of a TMSL class over a slightly longer horizon. Either way, a prospective student should treat bar preparation as a serious, resourced undertaking from day one at TMSL rather than an afterthought — building study time, a prep course budget, and a post-graduation timeline that assumes the first attempt might not be the last one.
One more caveat: bar passage requirements and the structure of the exam itself are in flux nationally. States are transitioning toward the NCBE's NextGen bar exam later this decade, and passage-rate comparisons made today may not translate directly once that transition happens. Anyone using these numbers to plan multiple years out should verify the current passage-rate reporting and exam format for the cycle they'll actually sit for.
Big Law is a narrow path out of Texas Southern: of the school's reporting cohort, 8 graduates — 4.9% — landed at firms of 501 or more attorneys, the tier that anchors the roughly $215,000 large-firm salary scale nationally. The realistic, honest framing is that TMSL is not a Big Law feeder school, and an applicant whose primary goal is a large-firm associate seat should treat that outcome as a narrow exception at TMSL rather than a probable destination.
The fuller firm-size picture, drawn from TMSL's reported employer breakdown, shows where the bulk of graduates who go into private practice actually land: 44 graduates at firms of 1-10 attorneys, 6 at firms of 11-25, 5 at 26-50, 5 at 51-100, 2 at 101-250, 9 at 251-500, and 1 solo practitioner, alongside the 8 at 501-plus firms. In other words, small firms — the 1-10 attorney category — are by far the single largest private-practice destination for TMSL graduates, several times larger than the 501-plus category. That distribution matters for how you think about starting salary and practice setting: small-firm practice in Texas typically means faster client contact and broader responsibility earlier, but a very different compensation trajectory than the large-firm track.
Outside private practice, government work is a substantial and specific outcome for this school: 23 graduates, or 14% of the class, went into government positions, and the pack identifies Texas itself as TMSL's largest overall employment destination — consistent with a law school whose graduates are concentrated in the state where they trained. Business and industry roles accounted for 12 graduates. Public interest placement was comparatively small at 4 graduates (2.4%), and clerkships were rare: 1 federal clerkship and no reported state or local clerkships. For an applicant weighing a public-interest or government-service career specifically, TMSL's meaningful government placement rate is a more relevant data point than its Big Law number.
The headline outcome measure to anchor all of this against is TMSL's percentage of graduates in full-time, long-term positions where a JD is required or an advantage: 56.1% of the class of 164 total graduates. That means a little over half of the class secured what's generally considered the gold-standard employment outcome — a durable, full-time job that uses the law degree — within the reporting window. The remaining graduates fall into some combination of part-time work, short-term positions, JD-unnecessary jobs, or unemployment; the pack does not break out that remainder in further detail, so a prospective student should ask TMSL directly for the full employment-status breakdown (the ABA 509 disclosure) rather than assume a specific split.
What this means for your career math. If your goal is specifically a large national or global firm paying at the top of the market, the data says that path exists at TMSL but touches under 1 in 20 graduates, and you should plan your law school choice, your grades, and your networking strategy accordingly rather than assuming the credential alone opens that door. If your goal is Texas-based government work, a state agency, a prosecutor's or public defender's office, or a small or mid-size Texas firm, TMSL's placement pattern — heavily weighted toward small firms and government roles, concentrated in Texas — is a closer match to what actually happens to most of its graduates. Either way, treat the 56.1% full-time, JD-required/advantage rate, not the Big Law percentage, as the number that tells you what a TMSL degree most commonly converts into nine months after graduation.
For the 2024-25 entering class, the odds were not in most students' favor: of the 83 students who started law school at TMSL with a conditional scholarship, 56 — 67.5% — had that award reduced. Put the other way, only about one in three students who entered on a conditional scholarship kept it fully intact. That is the most recent cohort TMSL has reported, and it is the number to anchor your expectations on if a conditional award shows up in your offer letter.
TMSL's ABA disclosures show no entering conditional-scholarship cohort recorded for 2022-23 or 2023-24 (both years show zero entering and zero reduced), which most likely reflects a gap in what was reported for those cycles rather than a claim that no students held conditional awards — worth confirming directly with the admissions office if a multi-year retention trend matters to your decision, since one data point (2024-25) is a thin basis for a pattern.
Context for why this matters financially: only 51% of TMSL's J.D. students receive any grant at all, and the median grant among those who do is $7,363 — a fraction of the roughly $48,822 estimated annual cost of attendance. Scholarship banding data shows 33% of students receive an award covering less than half of tuition, 17% receive half-to-full coverage, and just 1% receive a full-tuition award. In other words, even a scholarship that survives the conditional-renewal test is, for most recipients, a partial offset rather than a full ride — so a reduction on top of an already-partial award increases the loan burden meaningfully rather than marginally.
Conditional scholarships at law schools generally require maintaining a minimum GPA or class-rank benchmark after the first year to keep the full award; TMSL's specific GPA or rank threshold for renewal is not stated in its public ABA disclosures, so admitted students should get that trigger in writing before enrolling and treat the 67.5% reduction rate as the realistic baseline for what happens if that bar is not cleared. Given TMSL's 25th-75th percentile LSAT band of 148-152 and GPA band of 2.99-3.62, applicants near the lower end of that range who receive a conditional offer should budget for the strong possibility of losing part of the award after 1L year, not treat the initial offer letter as the number they'll pay for three years.
TMSL's alumni roster includes sitting and former members of Congress, state legislators, judges, and a big-city mayor — a legacy that traces directly to the school's founding purpose, not incidentally to it. TMSL exists because Heman Sweatt, represented by Thurgood Marshall, was denied admission to the University of Texas School of Law; Texas created the school in 1946 to forestall integration, and it was later named for Marshall himself. That civil-rights origin shows up in the alumni list: U.S. Representatives Sylvia Garcia, Al Green, and Hank Johnson; Texas House member Roberto Alonzo and longtime Texas House member Senfronia Thompson; Arkansas State Senator Stephanie Flowers; Mississippi Supreme Court Justice Leslie King; Jackson, Mississippi Mayor Chokwe Antar Lumumba; federal judges Kenneth Hoyt and Brian Wimes; and Belvin Perry, the Florida judge who presided over the Casey Anthony murder trial. Morris Overstreet, the first African American elected to statewide office in Texas, is also a TMSL graduate.
That bench of public-sector and political leadership lines up with where current graduates land: government work is TMSL's second-largest reported outcome after firm jobs, with 23 of the most recent graduating class (14%) going into government roles, and the school's graduates predominantly stay and work in Texas. That continuity — a law school built to serve public institutions still feeding graduates into public institutions — is a real and traceable thread.
What the alumni list does not predict, however, is the private-sector outcome distribution for a typical current graduate. Of TMSL's most recent reported graduating class of 164, 56.1% obtained a job that was full-time, long-term, and either bar-required or J.D.-advantage — the standard measure of a strong law-degree outcome. Only 8 graduates, or 4.9% of the class, went to a firm of 501 or more attorneys (the Big Law tier). The much larger firm-side outcome is small practice: 44 graduates went to firms of 1-10 attorneys, more than any other single category, with another 9 landing at firms of 251-500 lawyers. Public interest placement was small at 2.4% (4 graduates), and the class produced 1 federal clerkship and no reported state or local clerkships.
Bar passage is the other half of this picture, and it's the more urgent one for a prospective applicant to weigh against the alumni legacy: TMSL's first-time bar passage rate was 62.89%, well below the state average of 82.61%, though the school's ultimate two-year passage rate climbs to 76%. The honest read is that TMSL's institutional legacy of producing prominent public officials and judges is real and well-documented, but it was built over decades by a much larger pool of graduates than any single recent class — a current applicant should evaluate the school on what today's placement and bar numbers show for today's class, not assume the alumni outcomes are the modal outcome.
TMSL launched the nation's first LL.M. program focused specifically on immigration and naturalization law in 2016, and it remains one of only two degree programs the school offers alongside the J.D.
J.D. students have access to the Earl Carl Institute for Legal and Social Justice, Inc., TMSL's research and advocacy arm focused on social-justice legal work, and the Center for Legal Pedagogy, a unit dedicated to legal teaching and learning methods. Two student-edited journals give students publishing and editing experience: the Thurgood Marshall Law Review and the Thurgood Marshall School of Law Gender, Race, and Justice Law Journal.
The school's law library holds more than 350,000 volumes and volume-equivalents, a sizable research collection for a school of TMSL's size. Beyond these named centers, institutes, and the immigration LL.M., the publicly available data does not detail specific clinic offerings, concentrations, or simulation-course counts, so applicants who want to build a program around a specific practice area — immigration law aside — should confirm current clinical and elective offerings directly with the school before enrolling.
If your numbers sit inside TMSL's 25th-75th percentile bands — an LSAT of 148 to 152 or a GPA of 2.99 to 3.62 — you're within the range the school's admitted class actually occupies, with 150 and 3.33 as the class medians to plan around. TMSL admitted about a third of its roughly 2,032 applicants for its most recent class, so this is a school where a complete, honestly-presented file matters more than chasing a marginal LSAT point.
Because the LSAT (in its current post-2024 format of two scored Logical Reasoning sections and one scored Reading Comprehension section) is the number schools weight most heavily in both admission review and scholarship formulas, a retake is often worth the months of prep it takes — schools consider your highest score, and moving even a few points can shift which scholarship band you land in. See the general LSAT prep mechanics at /how-to-study-for-the-lsat.
Given that only 51% of TMSL J.D. students receive any grant and the median award is a partial one, treat any scholarship offer as a number to negotiate, not just accept — especially if your numbers are at or above TMSL's own 75th percentile of 152 LSAT/3.62 GPA. Details on how that leverage conversation works generally are at /law-school-scholarship-negotiation. And because conditional scholarships at TMSL have historically been reduced for a majority of recipients, get the GPA or class-rank renewal condition in writing and model your budget assuming it might not survive to year two.
On financing the rest of the cost, the federal lending landscape is changing for new borrowers starting July 2026 — Grad PLUS loans are being eliminated and federal borrowing is capped, which can leave a gap between TMSL's estimated cost of attendance and what federal loans alone will cover. That shortfall math, and how Public Service Loan Forgiveness fits graduates heading into government or public-interest work (a path a meaningful share of TMSL graduates take), is covered generally at /law-school-loans-and-pslf and /is-law-school-worth-it. For application timing and deadlines, see /law-school-application-timeline — verify TMSL's current-cycle deadline directly, since it isn't publicly listed in the data used here.
Plan around TMSL's full cost of attendance — roughly $48,822 a year, combining tuition and fees near $21,038 with an off-campus living estimate of about $27,784 — rather than around the tuition sticker price alone, because that all-in number is what you'll actually need to fund each year.
Here's the one piece of good news baked into TMSL's price point: as of the 2026-27 cycle (verify current figures before you borrow), the federal Direct Unsubsidized Loan for law students is capped at $50,000 per year. At many private law schools that cap falls thousands of dollars short of the annual cost of attendance, forcing students into private loans to close the gap now that Grad PLUS is gone for new borrowers. At TMSL, a $50,000 annual federal cap actually covers the school's roughly $48,822 estimated cost of attendance in a given year. That doesn't mean law school here is cheap — three years still adds up to well over $140,000 before interest — but it does mean the financing math is simpler and less dependent on private credit than at a pricier peer school.
Scholarships are where you need realistic expectations. About 51% of TMSL students receive some grant aid, but the median award is $7,363 — a meaningful discount, not a game-changer, against a roughly $48,822 annual cost. Looking at the distribution: 33% of students get aid covering less than half of tuition, 17% get between half and full tuition, and just 1% receive a full-tuition award. In practice, most admitted students who get money will get a partial discount in the low thousands, not a free ride, so you should build your budget assuming you'll be borrowing for the large majority of your cost of attendance.
If you're offered a conditional scholarship — one that requires hitting a GPA or class-rank threshold to keep it — read the fine print closely and ask the school directly what percentage of students in your entering class retain their award. TMSL's own 2024-25 data show 83 students entered with a conditional scholarship and 56 (67.5%) had that award reduced into the following year. That means roughly a third of conditionally-scholarshipped students kept that award fully intact after year one, typically because law school's mandatory curve makes it structurally difficult for every conditional-scholarship holder to stay above the required GPA line. Before you enroll, get the retention condition in writing and model your budget for the scenario where you lose the award, not just the scenario where you keep it. For the general mechanics of negotiating and stress-testing a scholarship offer, see our scholarship negotiation guide.
On the repayment side, the same federal rules apply here as everywhere else: new borrowers choose between a Standard repayment plan and the income-driven Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP), and only RAP payments count toward Public Service Loan Forgiveness. If you're borrowing to attend TMSL with an eye toward a government or nonprofit legal career, enrolling in RAP — rather than defaulting into Standard — is the decision that keeps PSLF's 10-year forgiveness clock running. See our loans and PSLF guide for the full mechanics, and treat every number in this section as time-sensitive enough to reverify directly with TMSL's financial aid office and studentaid.gov before you sign a promissory note.
A TMSL J.D. pays off most reliably for someone who intends to practice in Texas, especially in government, solo/small-firm, or public-service work, who can keep debt low through grants or in-state affordability, and who goes in clear-eyed that this is not a Big Law pipeline school. It pays off least reliably for someone borrowing heavily on the assumption of a large-firm salary, given that only 8 of TMSL's most recent graduating class — 4.9% — landed at firms of 501+ attorneys, the segment that anchors the upper peak of the legal profession's famously bimodal starting-salary curve described in national NALP data. The other end of that curve, well below six figures, is where most non-Big-Law graduates nationally land, and TMSL's own employment breakdown is consistent with that: 44 graduates went to firms of 1-10 attorneys, and only a combined 9 graduates went to firms above the 251-attorney range.
Start with the bar exam, because it's the first real checkpoint on the payoff timeline. TMSL's first-time bar passage rate was 62.89%, compared with an 82.61% average across all test-takers in the relevant jurisdictions — a roughly 20-point gap that means a meaningful share of each incoming class will not clear the bar on the first attempt. The picture improves over time: TMSL's two-year ultimate pass rate is 76%, meaning most graduates who don't pass on try one do pass on a subsequent attempt. But that gap matters financially — a delayed bar passage means a delayed start on a legal salary, additional months (sometimes another full exam cycle) of study, and for many graduates, additional living expenses without attorney income while carrying student debt that's already accruing interest. Anyone evaluating TMSL should budget, mentally and financially, for the real possibility of needing a second attempt, rather than assuming a single clean pass.
Next, look at what "successful outcome" means for TMSL graduates specifically. Of the most recent graduating class of 164, 56.1% were employed in jobs that were full-time, long-term, and either bar-passage-required or J.D.-advantage — a meaningfully lower share than at schools with stronger placement records, and it means a substantial minority of graduates end up in jobs that don't require a law license at all, in part-time or short-term roles, or unemployed and seeking work at the time of reporting. Government work employed 14% of the class and public-interest work another 2.4%, for a combined 16.4% in the public and nonprofit sectors — sizable enough that Public Service Loan Forgiveness is a realistic tool for a real fraction of TMSL's graduating class, not a footnote. If you're targeting that path, enrolling in the federal Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP) rather than the default Standard Plan is the specific decision that keeps the PSLF clock running toward forgiveness after 10 years of qualifying payments; see our loans and PSLF guide for the mechanics. Business and industry roles absorbed another 12% of graduates, and the school reports only a single federal clerkship and no state or local clerkships in this cohort — a signal that the clerkship pipeline here is thin compared to schools that place graduates into judicial chambers as a matter of course.
Where TMSL earns real, distinctive standing is not the first-job salary chart — it's the mission and the track record of turning graduates into public officials and community leaders. The school exists because Heman Sweatt, represented by Thurgood Marshall, was denied admission to the University of Texas School of Law because of his race in 1946; the Texas legislature created what became TMSL to preempt integration, and the school has spent nearly eight decades since converting that origin into a pipeline of lawyers who reshape Texas and national public life. Alumni include sitting and former members of Congress (Sylvia Garcia, Al Green, Hank Johnson), state legislators in Texas, Arkansas, and Mississippi, a state supreme court justice, a federal district judge, and the mayor of Jackson, Mississippi. If your definition of "worth it" includes a realistic shot at community leadership, political office, or a stable Texas-based government or solo practice — not a $215,000 Big Law starting salary — TMSL's alumni network and its identity as a historically Black law school with a specific social-justice mission are real, differentiating assets that a pure salary-outcomes table won't capture.
Put the financial and outcome pictures together and the honest answer is conditional. TMSL's roughly $48,822 annual cost of attendance is modest by law school standards, and for students who receive a grant, keep borrowing to something close to that annual COA, and land in one of the government, small-firm, or business/industry roles that together account for the large majority of TMSL's employed graduates, the debt load is serviceable against a realistic starting salary in those fields. For a student borrowing near the federal maximum with the expectation of a Big Law salary to make the math work, the 4.9% Big Law placement rate says that outcome is the exception, not the plan to build a budget around. The degree is worth it in proportion to how closely your intended path — Texas-focused, public-sector- or small-firm-oriented, values-driven — matches the path TMSL actually places most of its graduates on, not the path a small handful reach.