THE ALI METHOD Know your archetype
HomeLaw School Guides
Penn State Dickinson Law

Penn State Dickinson Law Law School Guide: Admissions, Cost and Outcomes

Penn State Dickinson Law law school guide: 42.99% acceptance rate, median LSAT 159, median GPA 3.71, tuition $60,048, first-time bar passage 87.56%.

Lovare Institut Editorial Team

|

October 13, 2026

Read the school overview →
US News rank
62
Applications
1,912
Acceptance rate
42.99%
Median LSAT (25th-75th)
159 (157-161)
Median GPA (25th-75th)
3.71 (3.5-3.86)
1L class size
215
Full-time tuition
$60,048
Est. cost of attendance
$88,573
Receiving scholarships
100.0%
Employed in bar-required or JD-advantage jobs
86.5%
Into the largest firms (501+)
6.3%
First-time bar passage
87.56%
Ultimate (2-year) bar passage
96.70%

Download the full guide (PDF)

Enter your email to unlock the complete guide as a polished PDF.

You'll also get occasional updates from Lovare Institut. Unsubscribe anytime.

What Does It Mean That Dickinson Law Just Reunified with Penn State Law?

As of the 2024–2025 academic year, Penn State's law program is once again a single law school operating two campuses — one in Carlisle (the historic Dickinson Law site) and one in University Park — with Carlisle serving as the primary location. If you're researching "Dickinson Law" and "Penn State Law" and finding conflicting or outdated information, that's because the two names have described the same institution, then two separate institutions, and now one institution again, all within the last two decades.

The back-and-forth traces to a 1997–2000 merger between Penn State University and the then-independent Dickinson School of Law. From 2006 to 2014, the combined institution operated as a single law school with two physical campuses. In summer 2014, however, Penn State obtained ABA approval to split that arrangement into two fully distinct, separately accredited law schools — Penn State Law at University Park and Dickinson Law at Carlisle — each with its own dean, admissions process, and identity for a decade.

That separation didn't last. In November 2022, Penn State announced a task force charged with reuniting the two schools into a single entity, and the reunification was completed during the 2024–2025 academic year. The result, as of 2026, is one law school with two distinct campuses rather than two accredited schools under one university.

Why this matters if you're applying now. A prospective student should understand that Dickinson Law's Carlisle campus — home to Trickett Hall (the school's home since 1918) and the H. Laddie Montague, Jr. law library — is now the primary location of a reunified institution rather than a standalone school competing separately for rankings, faculty, and resources against a University Park counterpart. Practically, that consolidation pools what had been two separate faculties, two alumni pipelines, and two sets of institutional resources back into one law school, connected to Penn State's broader network of more than 800,000 university graduates and a law school alumni base exceeding 8,000. For an applicant, that means the degree, the career-services infrastructure, and the institutional brand are no longer split between two competing Penn State law identities.

It also means Dickinson Law's identity now sits inside a larger, two-campus Penn State Law structure rather than standing entirely alone as it did from 2014–2024. Applicants comparing the school to how it was described in admissions cycles before 2024 should treat older references to "Penn State Law" and "Dickinson Law" as two separate schools with some caution — the current structure is different, and anyone relying on rankings, employment data, or program descriptions attributed to either campus from the 2014–2024 window should confirm which entity that data described.

What hasn't changed. Carlisle remains the older of the two campuses by a wide margin — Dickinson's law program dates to 1834, more than a century and a half before the 2000 merger with Penn State ever occurred — and the facilities central to student life there, including Lewis Katz Hall (completed in 2010 as part of a $52 million construction and renovation project funded partly by a $15 million gift from Lewis Katz) and Trickett Hall, predate the reunification entirely. The clinics, the Dickinson Law Review, and the Carlisle-based faculty didn't disappear during the decade of separation and carry forward into the reunified structure.

For an applicant deciding whether to enroll, the practical question is less about the corporate history and more about what a Carlisle-based J.D. looks like today: one accredited law school, a primary campus in Carlisle, and a name and administrative structure still in a relatively recent state of change. Anyone with specific questions about how reunification affects course cross-listing, faculty movement between campuses, or which campus a given concentration is taught on should confirm current details directly with the admissions office, since the arrangement is new enough that some operational specifics are still settling.

Does Being the Oldest Law School in Pennsylvania (Founded 1834) Still Matter?

Yes, in the sense that Dickinson Law's age is not just a marketing line — it shows up concretely in the school's clinical program, its bar-passage record, and an alumni bench that includes governors, congressmen, and dozens of sitting and former federal judges. Founded in 1834 by John Reed as the law department of Dickinson College and named for Founding Father John Dickinson, the school is described in its own materials as the oldest law school in Pennsylvania and one of the oldest in the nation. It received an independent charter in 1890 and formally ended its affiliation with Dickinson College in 1917, decades before it became part of Penn State through the 1997–2000 merger.

A long run of alumni in public life. That nearly two-century history has produced an alumni list heavy with Pennsylvania political and judicial figures: former governors Andrew Curtin, John Sydney Fine, and Arthur Horace James; former U.S. Senator Rick Santorum; former Pennsylvania Governor and first U.S. Secretary of Homeland Security Tom Ridge; and Pennsylvania Supreme Court justices including Correale Stevens and J. Michael Eakin. On the federal bench, alumni include Matthew W. Brann, current chief judge of the U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania, and a long roster of other Middle, Eastern, and Western District of Pennsylvania judges going back generations, alongside Third Circuit judges D. Brooks Smith and John E. Jones III (the latter also a former president of Dickinson College). For an applicant weighing career networks inside Pennsylvania specifically, that density of judiciary and government alumni is a tangible legacy of the school's age, not just a historical footnote.

Age also shows up in the clinical program. Dickinson Law describes itself as among the first law schools in the country to offer in-house legal clinics, and that early-adopter history has grown into a current roster of eleven clinics spanning areas like immigrants' rights, family law, veterans' and servicemembers' issues, civil rights appellate work, and rural economic development. Combined with a curriculum that requires students to complete at least six of their twelve required experiential-learning credits in a real-world practice setting, the age of the program has translated into infrastructure — physical clinics, community partnerships, faculty expertise — that a newer school would need decades to build.

Does longevity translate into current outcomes? The clearest evidence is the bar-passage numbers: Dickinson Law reports an 87.56% first-time bar passage rate against a state average of 80.17%, with a two-year ultimate passage rate of 96.70%. Those figures reflect the current class, not the school's founding date, but a bar-preparation infrastructure and faculty base built up over nearly two centuries plausibly contributes to that consistency.

What "oldest" doesn't mean. Age is not a proxy for size or national reach — Dickinson Law's total J.D. enrollment and class sizes are modest relative to many peer schools, and its footprint is concentrated in Pennsylvania, where "PENNSYLVANIA" is reported as its largest single employment destination for graduates. An applicant should read the 1834 founding date as evidence of a long-standing, deeply rooted Pennsylvania institution with an unusually deep bench of in-state judicial and political alumni — not as a claim about national ranking or brand recognition outside the region.

Why Does Dickinson Law Beat the Pennsylvania Bar Average by 7 Points?

Dickinson Law's most recent first-time bar passage rate is 87.56%, compared to a Pennsylvania state average of 80.17% for the same administration — a gap of roughly 7.4 percentage points. Zoom out to a two-year window and the school's graduates pass at an even higher 96.70% ultimate rate, meaning the large majority of those who don't clear the bar on the first attempt do so on a later one.

What the data pack shows about the class taking that exam. The entering class that eventually sits for the bar arrives with a median LSAT of 159 (25th/75th percentile of 157/161) and a median undergraduate GPA of 3.71 (25th/75th of 3.5/3.86). Those numbers put the median Dickinson Law student solidly in the range associated with above-average bar performance nationally, and they set a credentials floor that likely does some of the work in explaining the school's edge over the statewide average, which includes graduates of schools with lower entering medians.

What the school does between admission and the bar exam. Dickinson Law requires students to earn at least six of their 12 total experiential-learning credits in a real-world practice setting — not a simulation. The school reports 181 clinic seats filled, 263 field placements filled, and 638 simulation-course seats filled in a class-size context of roughly 665 total J.D. students, meaning most students pass through multiple hands-on placements, not just one. Dickinson Law was also among the first law schools in the country to build in-house legal clinics, a structural commitment to practice-based training that predates the current bar-passage numbers by decades. Whether this experiential load is the specific mechanism behind the 87.56%-versus-80.17% gap is not something the data pack quantifies directly — the school does not publish a study isolating clinic participation from bar outcomes — but the two facts (heavy required practical training, above-average bar passage) sit side by side in the same record.

Reading the ultimate 96.70% rate correctly. A two-year, 96.70% ultimate pass rate means that of the graduates who don't pass on their first sitting, nearly all of the remainder clear the exam by their second attempt, which matters for anyone weighing this school primarily as a credential to practice law in Pennsylvania. First-time passage is the headline number, but for a graduate's actual career, the two-year rate is arguably more informative: it tells you how many Dickinson Law graduates are licensed to practice within roughly a year of taking the bar the first time.

A note on where this fits relative to the school's employment story. With 86.5% of the reporting class landing full-time, long-term, bar-required or J.D.-advantage jobs, and the school's own reporting noting that over 90% of the class of 2023 was employed in similar roles within 10 months, a bar-passage rate that beats the state average by 7 points is not an isolated statistic — it is the gate that most of that employment sits behind, since bar-required jobs cannot be started, in most cases, without a passing score.

Applicants should treat Dickinson Law's bar numbers as a genuine differentiator relative to the Pennsylvania average, while recognizing that the pack does not break out passage rates by LSAT band, campus, or first-generation status, so no more granular claim can be made about which students are driving the gap.

Where Do Dickinson Law Graduates Actually Work?

Most Dickinson Law graduates end up practicing in Pennsylvania, and most land at small and mid-sized firms rather than the largest national firms. Of the 223 graduates in the reporting class, 86.5% secured full-time, long-term jobs that were either bar-required or J.D.-advantage — the standard measure of a meaningful legal-market outcome — and the data pack identifies Pennsylvania as the single largest employment destination for the class.

Law firms are the biggest single sector, but size varies widely. Across all firm-size categories, roughly 97 graduates took jobs in private practice. The most common firm size is the smallest: 26 graduates went to firms of 1-10 attorneys, more than any other single bracket. From there the numbers spread across the range — 12 graduates at firms of 11-25 attorneys, 17 at firms of 26-50, 10 at firms of 51-100, 12 at firms of 101-250, and 5 at firms of 251-500. At the very top of the market, 14 graduates (6.3% of the class) landed at firms with 501 or more attorneys — the "Big Law" tier that anchors the high end of the national salary distribution. That means Big Law is a real but minority outcome at Dickinson Law: for every graduate who lands at a firm of that size, roughly six classmates are working at firms with 250 or fewer attorneys, and one went solo.

Government and public-interest work make up a substantial share of the class. Fifty-two graduates (23.3%) took government jobs, and another 19 (8.5%) went into public-interest roles — together accounting for close to a third of the graduating class. That combined share is notably larger than the Big Law slice, and it reflects a placement pattern common at schools with strong regional public-sector and clerkship pipelines rather than a national Big Law feeder profile.

Clerkships and business roles round out the picture. Nineteen graduates secured clerkships — 4 at the federal level and 15 in state or local courts — and 9 graduates moved into business and industry roles outside traditional legal practice. These numbers are modest in absolute terms but meaningful relative to a graduating class of 223: clerkships alone account for roughly 1 in 12 graduates, a credential that matters disproportionately for litigation-focused careers.

How this compares to the school's own multi-year framing. The school separately reports that about 91% of its class of 2022 obtained full-time, long-term J.D.-required employment nine months after graduation, and that over 90% of the class of 2023 was employed in long-term, full-time J.D.-required or J.D.-advantage jobs within 10 months. Those figures, drawn from different graduating cohorts than the 86.5%/223-graduate dataset above, point in the same direction — employment outcomes in the high-80s-to-90s percent range — but they are not directly comparable year-over-year without knowing whether measurement windows (9 months versus 10 months) and definitions matched exactly.

What this means for someone choosing Dickinson Law. An applicant who wants a realistic sense of outcomes should read the firm-size distribution as the core signal: a Dickinson Law J.D. is far more likely to lead to practice at a small or mid-sized Pennsylvania firm, or into a government or clerkship role, than into a 501+-attorney Big Law shop. That doesn't make the Big Law pathway impossible — 14 graduates took it — but it is a minority outcome, and the school's placement strength is clearly concentrated in its home state and in public-sector and smaller-firm practice.

Running the Numbers: Is an $88,573 Cost of Attendance Worth It Here?

  • Median grant (~$36,000/yr): Est. debt at graduation: $157,719; ~Monthly payment: $1,914/mo
  • Sticker (no aid): Est. debt at graduation: $265,719; ~Monthly payment: $3,224/mo

Illustrative: 3-year borrowing at the 2026-27 federal rate (8.07%) over 10 years; your figures depend on your offer and salary.

How Far Do Dickinson Law's Grants Actually Go?

Every single admitted student who enrolls at Dickinson Law receives some form of grant aid — the school reports 100% of its J.D. class getting institutional grants, which is a meaningfully different starting point than schools where scholarships go to a select few. The real question isn't whether you'll get money, but how much, and Dickinson Law's own distribution answers that directly: 72% of grant recipients land in the half-tuition-to-full-tuition band, 22% receive less than half tuition, and 0% receive a full-tuition award. In other words, if you get an offer here, the most likely outcome is a scholarship covering somewhere between half and all of tuition — but a genuinely full ride is not something the school's data shows happening.

Run the numbers on what that means in dollars. Sticker tuition and fees run $60,479 a year, and the school's own cost-of-attendance estimate, once you add $28,094 for off-campus living, comes to $88,573 annually. The reported median grant among recipients is $36,000 per year. Apply that median award against the COA estimate and the effective annual cost drops to roughly $52,573 — still a substantial number, but a very different one than sticker COA. Because grants here cluster in that half-to-full range rather than at the extremes, a below-median offer and an above-median offer can move your net cost by tens of thousands of dollars over three years, which is exactly why comparing scholarship letters line by line matters more than comparing acceptance letters.

One structural note worth flagging for planning purposes: the data pack does not report conditional scholarship retention figures (the entering and reduced counts for the last three years show no data), so prospective students should ask the admissions office directly how merit awards are structured year to year — specifically whether a grant is guaranteed for all three years or contingent on maintaining a GPA benchmark. That's a question worth asking before you sign, not after your 1L grades post, and it's not something this guide can answer from the published pack.

For a systematic way to compare scholarship offers against COA and negotiate where you have leverage, see the shared playbook at /law-school-scholarship-negotiation.

With a 157-159-161 LSAT Band, Where Do You Stand for Carlisle?

Dickinson Law's entering class posts a 25th-50th-75th LSAT profile of 157-159-161, meaning a 159 sits you exactly at the school's published median for LSAT. If your score is 161 or above, you're at or above the 75th percentile the school reports; a 157 places you at the 25th percentile. These are planning anchors, not predictions — Dickinson Law does not publish an admissions formula, and this guide makes no claim about anyone's odds. What the numbers do tell you is where your file sits relative to the class the school actually enrolled.

GPA tells a similar story: the 25th-50th-75th band is 3.5-3.71-3.86. A candidate near the 75th percentile on both LSAT and GPA (161+/3.86+) is positioned differently in the applicant pool than one near the 25th on both (157/3.5) — again, positioning, not a guarantee of outcome.

On volume, Dickinson Law received 1,912 applications for its most recent reported cycle and extended 822 offers, an acceptance rate of about 43%. That's a comparatively accessible rate relative to the most selective national programs, and it reflects a school pulling from a broad applicant pool rather than a hyper-narrow one. The class that resulted numbers 215 full-time students, with no part-time division reported — everyone at Dickinson Law is in the same full-time cohort, which matters for scheduling, section assignments, and the shared 1L experience.

Context for the LSAT itself: the exam changed format in August 2024, dropping Logic Games in favor of two scored Logical Reasoning sections and one scored Reading Comprehension section, plus an unscored variable section and a separate unscored Argumentative Writing sample. Schools consider your highest score, so if your current score sits below Dickinson Law's 159 median, a retake after focused preparation with official practice material is the standard route applicants take to move their number — see /how-to-study-for-the-lsat for the mechanics of a study plan.

Dickinson Law's current U.S. News rank is 62 for the 2026-27 cycle, which is useful context for where the school sits nationally, though rank alone says nothing about fit, cost, or your own outcome. For where LSAT and GPA fit into the broader timeline of building and submitting an application, see /law-school-application-timeline.

The 2026 Race and Equal Protection Controversy: What Applicants Should Know

In May 2026, the Washington Free Beacon published internal audio recordings taken from a mandatory first-year course at Dickinson Law titled "Race and the Equal Protection of the Laws." The publication set off public debate, a student named David Blackman resigned from the program, and federal civil rights complaints alleging violations of Title VI and Title VII were filed. That is the extent of what is publicly documented about the episode as of this writing, and applicants weighing Dickinson Law should treat it as a live, unresolved matter rather than a closed chapter.

The course sits inside a broader institutional structure: Dickinson Law lists an Antiracist Development Institute (ADI) among its centers, with a stated mission of dismantling structures that support systemic racial inequality. The mandatory 1L course that generated the recordings appears connected to that same institutional commitment, though the data available does not specify the exact curricular relationship between the ADI and the course, nor whether the course predates the institute or was created alongside it.

Timing matters here. The controversy surfaced during a period of significant institutional change at Penn State's law school. The two campuses — Penn State Law at University Park and Dickinson Law at Carlisle — had operated as legally distinct ABA-approved schools since 2014, after having run as a single school with two campuses from 2006. A task force announced in November 2022 began working to reunify them, and the two schools came back together into one law school during the 2024–2025 academic year, with Carlisle established as the primary location and University Park retained as a second campus. The Race and Equal Protection controversy broke roughly a year into that reunified structure, which means it is unfolding inside a school that was still settling its own administrative and curricular architecture.

What is not established in the public record available here is equally important: there is no confirmed information about the outcome of the federal civil rights complaints, whether the course remains a mandatory first-year requirement in its original form, whether the school has changed the course's content or delivery in response to the recordings, or whether any faculty or administrative personnel changes followed. Sarah J. Williams is listed as interim dean, but the pack does not indicate whether that interim status connects to this controversy or is simply part of an unrelated leadership transition.

For an applicant deciding whether to apply or enroll, the practical takeaway is not to guess at how this resolves. Because the underlying facts — the content of the recordings, the substance of the Title VI/VII complaints, and any resulting policy change — are contested, actively litigated, or simply not yet public in verifiable form, the responsible move is to ask Dickinson Law's admissions office directly about the current status of the 1L Race and the Equal Protection of the Laws requirement, whether it remains mandatory, and whether the federal complaints have been resolved, dismissed, or are still pending. Anyone who cares about how a law school handles contested speech and civil-rights compliance should also check whether the Department of Education's Office for Civil Rights or the Department of Justice has issued any public findings, since agency actions of that kind are typically searchable independent of the school's own communications.

This is also a useful moment to separate two different questions that can get blurred in coverage of stories like this one. One is a legal/regulatory question — whether the course or the institute violates federal civil rights law, which is for investigators and courts to determine, not for a prospective student to adjudicate in advance. The other is a personal fit question — whether a mandatory course built around this subject matter, in whatever form it currently takes, is something an applicant wants as part of a required 1L curriculum. Those are legitimate and separate things to weigh, and the second one is answerable only by asking the school what the course looks like today, since the recordings and reactions circulating from May 2026 describe a specific moment that may not reflect the current syllabus.

Because of how recent, fluid, and factually contested this situation is, applicants should independently verify the current status of the course, the ADI's role in it, and the complaints before treating any secondhand summary — including this one — as a final account.

Six of Twelve: How Dickinson Law's Experiential Mandate Actually Plays Out

Dickinson Law requires every J.D. student to earn at least six of their 12 required experiential learning credits in a real-world practice setting, meaning half of the school's hands-on curriculum has to happen through an actual clinic, field placement, or simulation course rather than a classroom exercise alone. In practice, this is not a paper requirement: the school reports 181 clinic seats filled, 263 field placement seats filled, and 638 simulation course seats filled in its most recent reporting, numbers that reflect a student body of 665 total J.D. enrollment running through a genuinely large experiential pipeline.

The clinic roster is broad enough to let students specialize early. Options include the Arts, Sports and Entertainment Law Clinic, the Center for Immigrants' Rights Clinic, the Children's Advocacy Clinic, the Civil Rights Appellate Clinic, the Community Law Clinic, the Entrepreneur Assistance Clinic, the Family Law Clinic, the Intellectual Property Clinic, the Medical-Legal Partnership Clinic, the Rural Economic Development Clinic, and the Veterans and Servicemembers Legal Clinic. That range covers everything from immigration and family law to IP and rural economic development, and it lines up with the school's four formal concentrations — Business Law; Intellectual Property, Technology and Privacy Law; Litigation and Dispute Resolution; and Administration, Regulation, and Compliance — so a student can plausibly build a concentration and a clinic experience around the same subject matter rather than treating them as separate tracks.

This emphasis on practice-based training is not a recent marketing pivot. Dickinson Law is listed among the first law schools in the country to offer in-house legal clinics, so the current six-of-twelve mandate reads as a formalization of something the school has done since early in its history rather than a bolt-on requirement designed to chase accreditation trends. The school also reports 39 co-curricular offerings, which suggests the experiential emphasis extends past credit-bearing clinics and field placements into competitions, extracurricular skills programs, and similar activities that sit alongside the formal curriculum.

What the data does not specify is which clinics carry the heaviest enrollment relative to capacity, how field placements are matched to students, or whether particular concentrations funnel students toward particular clinics as a matter of course design. Applicants who want that level of granularity — for example, whether the Rural Economic Development Clinic or the Medical-Legal Partnership Clinic runs at capacity every year — should ask current students or the clinical faculty directly, since the published figures describe total seats filled across the program rather than a clinic-by-clinic breakdown.

From Tom Ridge to the Middle District Bench: Who Does the Dickinson Network Include?

Dickinson Law's alumni network runs more than 8,000 law graduates deep, plus access to the more than 800,000-strong Penn State alumni base overall, and its most visible names cluster heavily in Pennsylvania public life and the federal judiciary. Tom Ridge served as Pennsylvania governor and became the first U.S. secretary of Homeland Security. Rick Santorum, a former U.S. senator, is also an alumnus, as is John E. Jones III, a former judge on the U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania who went on to serve as the 30th president of Dickinson College.

The judiciary connection is the network's real backbone. Matthew W. Brann currently serves as chief judge of the U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania, and Dickinson-trained judges have filled that same Middle District bench across generations, including Sylvia H. Rambo, the first woman to serve as its chief judge, along with Christopher Conner, Edwin Michael Kosik, Julia K. Munley, and Joseph F. Saporito Jr. D. Brooks Smith sits as a senior judge on the Third Circuit Court of Appeals, extending the school's judicial footprint beyond the district level.

That concentration in Pennsylvania courts and government tracks the school's own reported outcomes: Pennsylvania is listed as the largest employment destination for graduates, 23.3% of the most recent graduating class went into government work, and graduates landed 4 federal and 15 state or local clerkships. For an applicant who wants to practice in Pennsylvania, especially in or around the state's courts, agencies, or public sector, that is a genuinely deep and locally rooted network to plug into — one built on more than 190 years of Dickinson Law history rather than a marketing claim.

So Is Penn State Dickinson Law Worth It For You?

Whether Dickinson Law is worth it depends less on its rank and more on the math you personally run: what you'll actually pay after scholarships, what kind of job you're likely to land, and whether your loan payments will fit your future income. On the published numbers, Dickinson Law's total cost of attendance is estimated at $88,573 for a single year (tuition plus fees of roughly $60,479 and living costs of about $28,094). Multiply that by three years, adjusting for annual increases the school doesn't guarantee will stay flat, and you get a sense of the sticker price before aid — a number worth sitting with before you assume the degree pays for itself.

The good news is that essentially nobody pays full sticker. One hundred percent of students receive some grant aid, with a median award around $36,000 a year — which, against roughly $60,000 in tuition, covers well over half the tuition bill for a typical student. Digging into the distribution: 72% of students land in the 'half-to-full tuition' scholarship band, and 22% get less than half covered; nobody in the reporting period received a full ride. That tells you two things. First, an offer letter without a scholarship attached is a signal worth questioning, not accepting at face value. Second, if you're admitted with numbers at or above the school's LSAT median (159) and GPA median (3.71), you're in a strong position to ask for more — merit aid at public law schools like this one is usually negotiable, and it's worth pushing before you commit (see our scholarship negotiation guide for tactics).

How should you think about the debt you'll actually take on?

As of the 2025-26 cycle (verify current figures before you borrow), the federal loan system for law students has changed in ways that matter here. Grad PLUS loans — which used to let students borrow up to the full cost of attendance — have been eliminated for new borrowers starting July 1, 2026. In their place, law students get access only to the Direct Unsubsidized Loan, capped at $50,000 a year and $200,000 total, inside an overall $257,500 lifetime federal cap. If Dickinson Law's roughly $88,500 annual cost of attendance holds and your scholarship doesn't close most of the gap, you may need private loans or personal resources to bridge the difference between the federal cap and your actual bill — a real planning constraint that didn't exist for borrowers a few years ago.

On repayment, new borrowers will choose between a Standard repayment plan and the Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP), an income-driven option. Critically, the Standard Plan earns zero credit toward Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) — you have to actively enroll in RAP if forgiveness is part of your plan. That detail matters more at a school like Dickinson Law than at a pure Big Law feeder, because a meaningful share of its graduates go into public-service-adjacent work: 23.3% into government roles and 8.5% into public interest, together nearly a third of the class, plus 19 judicial clerkships (federal and state combined). For that cohort, PSLF's ten-year forgiveness timeline is a realistic part of the financial picture, and getting the repayment plan election right from day one is not a minor administrative detail — it's the difference between forgiveness eligibility and paying full freight.

What does the job market actually look like for Dickinson Law graduates?

This is where the affordability math either works or doesn't. Only 6.3% of the most recent graduating class (14 of roughly 223) landed at a firm of 501+ attorneys — the 'Big Law' tier at the top end of the firm-size distribution. The rest of the class is distributed across smaller firms (a plurality in firms under 50 attorneys), government, public interest, business and industry, and clerkships. That means most Dickinson Law graduates are not going to be repaying law-school debt on a Big Law salary; they're repaying it on salaries typical of mid-size firm practice, government service, or public-interest work, which are real and often stable careers but pay meaningfully less in the first several years. If you're assuming you'll be the exception who lands the 501+ firm job to justify heavy borrowing, treat that as a low-probability outcome to plan around, not a baseline assumption.

What does look genuinely strong is bar passage: an 87.56% first-time pass rate against an 80.17% state average, and a 96.7% ultimate pass rate within two years. Whatever else you weigh, a degree only pays off if you can get licensed, and on that measure Dickinson Law's graduates clear the bar at a rate well above their state's average and eventually clear it almost universally. Combined with an 86.5% rate of graduates in full-time, long-term, bar-required or J.D.-advantage jobs, the practical risk of 'debt with no usable credential' looks low here — the bigger financial risk is a debt-to-salary mismatch, not a debt-to-unemployment one.

A framework for your own decision

Run three numbers before you commit: your actual net price after any scholarship offer, your realistic post-graduation salary given that only about 1 in 16 graduates lands a Big Law-scale salary, and your monthly payment under RAP versus Standard on whatever balance remains. If your net cost after aid is manageable relative to a government, public-interest, or mid-size-firm salary — and especially if you can see a plausible path to PSLF — Dickinson Law's combination of strong bar outcomes, a 100%-grant-recipient student body, and its Pennsylvania public-sector and judiciary alumni network can make the investment sound. If you're financing most of the $88,573 annual cost of attendance with debt while banking on a Big Law outcome to make the math work, recognize that outcome is the exception here, not the rule, and plan your borrowing accordingly. For the fuller mechanics of loans, RAP, and PSLF eligibility, see our dedicated guides linked below.