The short answer: Mitchell Hamline is a regional, access-oriented law school whose own reported numbers show a real bar-passage gap against the Minnesota average and almost no pipeline into large law firms — so it only makes financial sense if you go in with your eyes open about where its graduates actually land. None of what follows is a prediction about your own outcome; it is what the school's own reported data show about its recent classes, and it's the math you should run before you sign a enrollment deposit.
Full-time tuition is $55,300 a year plus about $1,000 in fees, and Mitchell Hamline's own estimated full-time cost of attendance — tuition, fees, and an off-campus living allowance of $16,848 — comes to roughly $73,148 for a single year. Part-time tuition runs $39,930 a year, which matters here more than at most schools: 227 of the 364 students in the entering class are part-time, meaning the majority of the class is explicitly choosing the slower, lower-cost track rather than the standard three-year sprint.
Every admitted student who receives aid gets a grant — 100% of the class does — but the distribution is uneven. Only 5% of grant recipients get a full-tuition scholarship, and 39% land in the half-to-full range, while 57% receive less than half of tuition covered. The reported 50th-percentile full-time grant is $34,730, which would cover a little over 60% of the $55,300 sticker tuition for a student at the median award — a meaningful discount, but one that still leaves most students borrowing close to full cost of attendance for living expenses and the remaining tuition. Before enrolling, get your own award letter in writing and run the net number against the outcomes below, not against the sticker price.
Mitchell Hamline admitted 51.4% of its 1,603 applicants for a recent class, filling 364 seats. Its reported LSAT range is 151 at the 25th percentile, 154 at the median, and 158 at the 75th percentile; GPA runs 2.96 / 3.29 / 3.60 across the same bands. If your numbers sit at or above the 154/3.29 median, you're in the range the school itself reports as typical for its class; if you're below the 151/2.96 25th-percentile mark, you're outside the range most of the entering class occupies. These are planning anchors for comparing your numbers to the school's own reported class profile — not a probability of admission.
No, essentially not. Of the school's reported graduating class, only 2 graduates — 0.6% of the class — went to firms of 501 or more attorneys, the size bracket generally associated with "Big Law" starting salaries. That is not a rounding artifact; it is the entire large-firm output of a graduating class. The firm-size breakdown the school reports skews heavily toward the smallest end of practice: 73 graduates went to firms of 1-10 attorneys, 34 to firms of 11-25, and 8 identified as solo practitioners, with only single-digit counts scattered across the 26-50, 51-100, 101-250, and 251-500 attorney brackets. If your goal on day one of law school is a large firm's $200K+ starting salary, Mitchell Hamline's own reported placement data should factor heavily into that decision — this is a school built around a very different employment profile.
Mitchell Hamline reports that 69% of its graduates land in jobs requiring bar passage or where a JD provides a meaningful advantage, with government work absorbing 45 graduates (13.8%) and public-interest jobs absorbing another 16 (4.9%); business and industry roles account for roughly 54 graduates (about 16.6% of the class), and the school identifies Minnesota as its single largest employment destination — this is fundamentally a Twin Cities-and-Minnesota-market law school. Clerkships are modest: 2 federal and 27 state/local.
The bar-passage numbers deserve direct attention because they are the starting gate for nearly every one of those outcomes. In the most recent ABA compilation, Mitchell Hamline's first-time bar pass rate was 71.95%, against a state average of 82.93% for that testing cycle — an 11-point gap below the average first-time passer in the jurisdictions its graduates sat for. The two-year ultimate pass rate is considerably better at 85.02%, meaning most graduates who don't pass on the first attempt do pass eventually, but that also means a real share of graduates spend a year or more retaking the exam before they can practice. A separately reported, older data point on the Minnesota bar specifically found that of 180 Mitchell Hamline graduates sitting for the 2021 Minnesota exam, 120 passed for a 66.67% first-time rate — 12.81 points below the average for all ABA-approved-school graduates taking that exam, 13.43 points below University of St. Thomas, and 29.03 points below the University of Minnesota. That same cohort's overall pass rate across all states in 2021 was 59.55%. That is an older snapshot, not the current-cycle number above, but the direction is consistent across both data points: this school runs behind its Minnesota peers on first-time bar passage.
Mitchell Hamline is ranked 152nd nationally by U.S. News for 2026-27 (verify the current-cycle rank before relying on it), and its own reported outcomes — the bar-passage gap, the near-absence of Big Law placement, and heavy concentration in small Minnesota firms and government work — are consistent with that positioning. That does not make it a bad choice for every applicant: for someone committed to practicing in Minnesota, valuing its part-time/flexible options, or attracted to its clinical and externship strength, the calculus can still work, especially with a strong scholarship. But run the real net cost against the real reported outcomes above before you commit, not against the aspirational version of law school.
Mitchell Hamline (through its predecessor William Mitchell College of Law) pioneered blended/hybrid legal education in the early 2000s, and that history still shows up today in a class where the majority of students are enrolled part-time rather than in the traditional full-time track. If flexible scheduling is a major factor in your decision, this is a school with a genuine, decades-long institutional claim to that space — not a program bolted on recently to chase enrollment.
The school's blended-learning program launched under the ABA's own Task Force on the Future of Legal Education, and its first cohort was deliberately non-traditional: 85 students who included holders of MBAs, MDs, and PhDs, ranging in age from 22 to 67, and representing 30 states and two countries. That founding cohort tells you what the model was designed to solve — giving working professionals, career-changers, and people outside the immediate Twin Cities commuting radius a path into law that didn't require quitting a job or relocating. It was not designed as a slower version of the standard JD for people who couldn't get into a full-time program; it was built around a different kind of student from day one.
Yes, in the composition of the current class. Of the 364 students in Mitchell Hamline's entering class, 227 are enrolled part-time and 137 full-time — meaning nearly two-thirds of the class is on the part-time track, a proportion far higher than at most law schools, where part-time programs are typically a small side offering. Part-time tuition is also priced separately, at $39,930 a year against $55,300 for full-time, which is worth factoring into any cost comparison if the flexible track fits your life circumstances. The school's currently reported program list shows both a full-time JD and a part-time JD as its degree offerings; the pack does not specify the exact current day-to-day structure of the hybrid/blended format (how much is delivered online versus in-person, the weekend or evening components, or residency requirements), so if the specific mechanics of a blended schedule matter to your planning, verify the current curriculum structure directly with admissions rather than assuming the early-2000s model still operates unchanged.
Mitchell Hamline also reports it offers more practical externships than any other school in the Upper Midwest, which pairs naturally with a part-time or blended population that often includes people already working or with obligations that make a purely classroom-based, nine-to-five law school experience impractical. Concretely, the school reports 364 filled field placements, 631 filled simulation-course seats, and 92 filled clinic seats out of 202 available slots, plus 22 co-curricular offerings — a substantial base of experiential learning options that a part-time or working student can typically build a schedule around more easily than a heavy load of required doctrinal seminars. The school is also separately recognized for dispute resolution, ranked ninth nationally in that area, which is a discipline that lends itself well to practice-based and simulation-heavy coursework of the kind a blended-format student would encounter.
If you are a working professional, a career-changer, or someone for whom relocating to Saint Paul full-time isn't realistic, Mitchell Hamline's part-time/blended track and its long institutional experience serving that population are genuine, verifiable differentiators worth weighing — few schools can point to two decades of building programs around exactly that kind of student. If your priority instead is finishing in three years on a traditional full-time timeline to maximize on-campus recruiting and clerkship cycles, look closely at how the full-time track's schedule, class size (137 full-time seats), and employment outcomes compare to what you need, since the pack doesn't detail whether full-time students are otherwise integrated into the same blended-format courses.
Yes — at Mitchell Hamline, part-time students actually outnumber full-time ones. Of the 364 students in the entering class reflected in the school's most recent ABA reporting, 227 enrolled part-time and only 137 enrolled full-time, meaning roughly 62% of the class chose the part-time track. That split is the single most defining structural fact about this law school, and it did not happen by accident.
Mitchell Hamline's DNA runs through a 2015 merger of Hamline University School of Law and William Mitchell College of Law — itself already the product of earlier mergers among Twin Cities law schools, including St. Paul College of Law. William Mitchell brought something specific into that merger: in the early 2000s, under the ABA's Task Force on the Future of Legal Education, it pioneered one of the first blended/hybrid learning programs in American legal education. The first cohort enrolled 85 students who held MBAs, MDs, and PhDs, ranged in age from 22 to 67, and came from 30 states and two countries. That is not a footnote — it is the template the current school still runs on, and it explains why a majority-part-time class is the norm here rather than the exception.
What the part-time option actually costs The part-time track isn't just a scheduling accommodation; it also changes the annual bill. Full-time tuition is listed at $55,300 (plus roughly $1,000 in fees), while part-time annual tuition is $39,930. Applicants weighing whether to go part-time should recognize this as a real trade-off: a lower annual tuition figure spread differently against a longer program timeline versus full-time's higher annual cost compressed into fewer years. (Mitchell Hamline's pack does not specify the exact number of years for part-time completion, so anyone comparing total cost of attendance across the two tracks should confirm the part-time program length directly with admissions before running the math.)
Scholarship support is broad rather than selective: 100% of students receive some grant aid, and the median full-time grant sits at $34,730 against the $55,300 sticker tuition — a substantial discount for the typical full-time student. Looking at how that aid is distributed, 57% of the aided population receives less than half tuition covered, 39% land between half and full tuition, and only 5% get a full ride. In other words, grants here are wide but shallow: almost everyone gets something, few get everything.
Practical training built for working schedules A majority-part-time student body needs practical training that can flex around jobs, and Mitchell Hamline's numbers suggest it has built its curriculum around exactly that. The school describes itself as offering more practical externships than any other school in the Upper Midwest, and the placement data backs that framing: 364 field placements were filled — a number matching the entire entering class — alongside 631 filled simulation-course seats and 92 filled clinic seats out of 202 available slots. Add 22 co-curricular offerings, and the picture is a school that leans heavily on externships, simulations, and applied coursework rather than a purely seminar-and-casebook model, which suits students who are simultaneously working, parenting, or managing careers around a J.D.
What this means if you're deciding between tracks If you are choosing between Mitchell Hamline's full-time and part-time J.D., you are choosing between two versions of the same institution rather than a "real" program and a lesser add-on. With nearly two out of three entering students opting for part-time, the school's course scheduling, field-placement infrastructure, and student-support systems are built around the assumption that most people in the building have a job, a family, or another commitment competing for their time. Applicants who need — or want — that flexibility are choosing a school where they will be the majority, not an accommodated minority. Applicants who want the more traditional three-year, fully immersive residential law school experience are still served here (137 full-time seats exist), but they should understand they'll be attending an institution that was built primarily for the other 62% of the room.
Mitchell Hamline admitted 51.4% of applicants in the cycle reflected in its ABA reporting — 824 offers out of 1,603 applications for a class of 364. That acceptance rate places it well above the highly selective end of the market, meaning the school casts a comparatively wide net rather than screening down to a narrow band of applicants.
An acceptance rate, though, is not a personal probability — it describes what happened to the applicant pool as a whole, not what will happen to any one file. The more useful exercise is to see where your own numbers sit against the school's published medians. Mitchell Hamline's entering class shows an LSAT range of 151 at the 25th percentile, 154 at the median, and 158 at the 75th percentile. A 154 LSAT puts an applicant squarely at the school's midpoint; a 158 puts them at the top quarter of the class; a 151 sits at the bottom quarter but is still consistent with a meaningful share of the admitted class. The GPA band runs 2.96 (25th) to 3.29 (median) to 3.60 (75th), a noticeably wide spread that signals the school is willing to weigh a range of academic records rather than clustering tightly around one profile.
Only the LSAT — no GRE track One detail worth flagging for test planning: Mitchell Hamline's reported testing policy accepts the LSAT, with no GRE alternative listed in its current data. Applicants who were planning to submit a GRE score in lieu of the LSAT should confirm current policy directly with the admissions office, since test-acceptance rules can change between cycles — but based on this school's own reporting, the LSAT is the pathway.
Reading the band, not gaming it Because the school's median LSAT sits at 154 and median GPA at 3.29, applicants comparing their own numbers should treat those two figures as planning anchors rather than passing thresholds. A candidate above both medians is positioned differently in the pool than one below both — but "positioned differently" describes where a file sits relative to the rest of the applicants, not a guaranteed outcome. Given the wide GPA spread (2.96 to 3.60) and the school's 51.4% overall acceptance rate, Mitchell Hamline's published GPA and LSAT bands show a wide spread, including admitted students whose numbers fall outside the 75th-percentile range. That said, none of this is stated as formal policy in the school's published data; it is an inference from the shape of the numbers, and applicants should not read it as a promise.
Where Mitchell Hamline sits regionally Mitchell Hamline is based in Saint Paul, Minnesota, and its own materials list the University of St. Thomas School of Law and the University of Minnesota Law School as regional peer institutions. For an applicant weighing Twin Cities options, the practical admissions takeaway is that Mitchell Hamline's LSAT and GPA bands, combined with its 51.4% acceptance rate, describe a school that is more accessible on paper than a flagship state law school — useful context for anyone triangulating where their own numbers might land across a set of regional applications, though each school's medians and acceptance rate must be checked independently rather than assumed.
Illustrative: 3-year borrowing at the 2026-27 federal rate (8.07%) over 10 years; your figures depend on your offer and salary.
Yes — Mitchell Hamline's first-time bar passage rate runs well below both the Minnesota state average and its two in-state peer schools, and the gap has been a persistent, double-digit problem rather than a one-year dip. In the most detailed year-over-year comparison the school reports, 180 Mitchell Hamline graduates sat for the Minnesota bar for the first time and 120 passed — a 66.67% first-time rate. That was 12.81 points below the pass rate posted by all ABA-approved law school graduates taking the Minnesota bar that year (79.48%), 13.43 points below the University of St. Thomas School of Law (80.1%), and 29.03 points below the University of Minnesota Law School (95.7%). Those three numbers are the clearest evidence available that Mitchell Hamline sits at the bottom of the Twin Cities legal education market on this particular metric.
The school's more recently reported aggregate first-time bar passage figure is 71.95%, against a state-average comparator of 82.93% — again an 11-point shortfall, consistent with the pattern shown in the year-specific Minnesota breakdown even though the two figures come from different reporting cycles and shouldn't be read as describing the identical graduating class. The direction and rough magnitude of the gap, however, are consistent across both data points: Mitchell Hamline graduates pass the bar on their first attempt at a meaningfully lower rate than the typical Minnesota-licensed law graduate, and at a substantially lower rate than students coming out of St. Thomas or Minnesota Law.
Why does this matter more than a single percentage? Because first-time passage is the number that best predicts how quickly a graduate can start earning as a licensed attorney, and because law schools with persistent double-digit gaps below their state average draw scrutiny from the ABA's bar-passage accreditation standard, which requires schools to clear a compliance threshold measured over multiple cohorts. Mitchell Hamline's own data shows the gap is not a fluke of one class: the 2021 Minnesota-specific comparison and the more recent aggregate figure both land in the same double-digit-below-average range, which is the pattern the title of this section describes as a "13-29 point" trail.
The good news, to the extent there is any in the pack, is in the second-attempt numbers. Mitchell Hamline's ultimate two-year bar passage rate — the share of a cohort that eventually passes a bar exam within two years of graduation, counting repeat attempts — is 85.02%. That is a meaningfully better outcome than the 66.67%-71.95% first-time figures suggest on their own, and it means a large share of graduates who fail on the first sitting do pass on a later attempt. But "eventually passing" comes at a real cost: a delayed license means a delayed start date for bar-required jobs, delayed income, and, for many graduates, months of unpaid or underpaid bar-study time layered on top of already-substantial law school debt. An applicant evaluating Mitchell Hamline should treat the two-year rate as evidence that the credential is attainable for most people who enroll, not as evidence that the first-time gap doesn't matter.
It's also worth noting the broader context buried in the same disclosure: of the 309 Mitchell Hamline graduates who sat for a bar exam in any state that year, only 59.55% passed on the first try across all jurisdictions combined — lower still than the Minnesota-only figure, which suggests graduates who sit outside Minnesota may do even less well on their first attempt than those testing in-state. That is consistent with a school whose curriculum, bar-prep support, and student body are oriented primarily toward the Minnesota exam and the Minnesota market rather than toward portability elsewhere.
What should an applicant do with this? First, treat first-time bar passage as the sharpest single distinguishing data point between Mitchell Hamline and its two closest local competitors — a gap of 12-13 points against St. Thomas and nearly 30 points against Minnesota Law is not noise, and it should factor into any comparison shopping among Twin Cities options. Second, ask the school directly (in an admitted-students session or via the career office) what structured bar-prep support, timeline, and outcomes it offers to entering students, especially those admitted with lower LSAT/GPA numbers, since Mitchell Hamline's 25th percentile LSAT of 151 and 25th percentile GPA of 2.96 indicate the school enrolls a meaningful share of students who enter with academic indicators correlated, nationally, with higher first-time bar risk. Third, budget financially and emotionally for the possibility of a second attempt: with an ultimate two-year rate of 85.02% against a first-time rate in the 67-72% range, a large fraction of any given class is passing on attempt two, and that reality — not just the first-time headline — should shape expectations about time-to-licensure and the debt load accumulated in the interim.
Mostly, it means small firms and Minnesota government or business roles — not Big Law. Of the 326 graduates in the reporting cohort, only 69% landed in full-time, long-term jobs that were either bar-passage-required or J.D.-advantage — a figure worth sitting with, since it means roughly three in ten graduates were in part-time, short-term, or non-J.D.-related work (or unemployed) by the reporting date. That 69% is the honest starting point for evaluating what a Mitchell Hamline degree typically leads to.
Within the jobs graduates did land, the firm-size distribution tells a clear story: 73 graduates went to firms of 1-10 attorneys, another 34 to firms of 11-25, and only a combined 10 graduates landed at firms above 100 attorneys (5 at 101-250, 3 at 251-500, and just 2 — 0.6% of the class — at firms of 501 or more attorneys, the "Big Law" category that anchors the high end of the national salary distribution). Add the 8 graduates who went solo, and roughly 35% of the graduating class's known employers were solo practices or firms under 25 attorneys. This is a school whose graduates predominantly practice at small and mid-size firms, not at the large national firms that pay the six-figure salaries clustered at the top of the market.
Outside private practice, government work is the single largest identifiable category after small firms: 45 graduates (13.8%) took government jobs, and state and local clerkships added another 27 graduates, with just 2 landing federal clerkships. Public interest employers accounted for 16 graduates (4.9%), and business and industry roles — in-house counsel, compliance, and similar positions that may or may not require a J.D. — absorbed 54 graduates, one of the largest single categories in the data. Taken together, government, clerkships, and public-interest work account for roughly 90 graduates, comparable in scale to the entire small-firm placement pool, which underscores how central Minnesota's state courts and public sector are to this school's outcomes.
The data pack also flags Minnesota itself as the largest single employment category — consistent with everything else in the outcomes profile: this is a locally rooted school whose graduates overwhelmingly stay and practice in the Twin Cities and greater Minnesota market rather than dispersing nationally. For an applicant who wants to build a career in Minnesota state government, small-firm practice, or in-house work at a Minnesota employer, that concentration is a feature. For an applicant hoping to use the degree as a springboard to a national or coastal legal market, the placement data gives little evidence that Mitchell Hamline is built for that path.
Why the small-firm and state-court concentration, specifically? Part of the answer is structural. Mitchell Hamline reports 202 clinic seats with 92 filled, 364 field-placement slots filled, and 631 simulation-course enrollments — a practical-training infrastructure the school describes as offering more externships than any other law school in the Upper Midwest. That kind of hands-on, externship-heavy curriculum tends to feed directly into the kind of employers who value practice-ready associates on day one: small firms, government agencies, and local courts, rather than the large-firm recruiting pipelines (on-campus interview programs feeding into national firms) that produce Big Law placement numbers at other schools. Mitchell Hamline's 0.6% Big Law placement rate is consistent with a school whose career infrastructure and student preferences are oriented toward exactly the employers the outcomes data shows: solo and small-firm practice, Minnesota government, and business/industry roles.
What should an applicant take from this? If your goal is Twin Cities small-firm practice, Minnesota state government service, a state or local clerkship, or an in-house business role reachable through externship-driven training, the placement pattern here is directly on point — and the school's own distinctive claim to more externships than any other school in the region supports that path. If your goal is a large national firm, a federal clerkship, or a coastal legal market, the numbers say plainly that this is not where most Mitchell Hamline graduates end up: federal clerkships numbered just 2 in the reporting year, and firms above 500 attorneys hired only 2 graduates out of 326. The 69% full-time, long-term, bar-required/J.D.-advantage placement rate should also be weighed directly against the cost of attendance before enrolling, since roughly three in ten graduates were not in that category at the time of reporting.
Yes — Mitchell Hamline's dispute resolution program is ranked ninth in the nation, making it the school's clearest externally validated academic strength even though its overall U.S. News standing sits at 152. That gap between a niche top-ten ranking and a modest overall rank is worth sitting with: it tells you the school's value is concentrated in specific practice-ready training rather than broad prestige, and dispute resolution is where that concentration is most visible.
The rest of the curriculum backs up that practical orientation. The school reports 364 filled field placements — externships that put students into real courts, agencies, and legal offices rather than only classroom simulations — and describes its externship offerings as the most extensive of any law school in the Upper Midwest. Alongside that, 92 of 202 available law clinic seats were filled in the most recent reporting period, and simulation courses (courtroom, negotiation, and drafting exercises built around realistic fact patterns) drew 631 enrollments. The school also lists 22 co-curricular offerings, giving students multiple ways to stack practical credentials — moot court, mediation competitions, and clinic work — on top of doctrinal coursework.
Two centers extend this practice focus into specific subject areas: the Health Law Institute and the Indian Law Program, both of which connect classroom study to Minnesota's actual health-law and tribal-law communities. Scholarly output runs through three journals — the Mitchell Hamline Law Review, Cybaris (an intellectual property law review), and the Mitchell Hamline Journal of Public Policy and Practice — which give students writing and editing experience even if a candidate isn't drawn to the litigation-skills side of the curriculum.
For an applicant weighing this school specifically for dispute resolution, mediation, or arbitration work, the ninth-place ranking is a genuine differentiator worth confirming against the current cycle's published rankings before you commit weight to it in your decision, since specialty rankings are refreshed annually and can move. For an applicant more interested in generalist litigation or transactional practice, the externship volume and clinic capacity matter more directly, because they represent the hands-on hours that Minnesota and most states expect before a new graduate is fully useful to an employer.
Mitchell Hamline School of Law was formed on December 9, 2015, through the merger of Hamline University School of Law and William Mitchell College of Law — and that 2015 merger was itself the latest chapter in a longer consolidation story. William Mitchell had already absorbed several earlier Twin Cities law schools, including St. Paul College of Law, before it merged into Mitchell Hamline.
That lineage carries real historical weight: Warren E. Burger, the fifteenth Chief Justice of the United States, graduated from St. Paul College of Law, one of the predecessor institutions folded into what is now Mitchell Hamline. The school's law library is named in his honor, a direct institutional link between a sitting law school and a former Chief Justice's legal education.
Mark C. Gordon served as Mitchell Hamline's founding dean from the 2015 merger until stepping down in 2019, overseeing the school's first years as a combined institution. For applicants, the practical takeaway is that Mitchell Hamline's identity is built on absorbing and integrating multiple Twin Cities legal-education traditions rather than growing from a single unbroken lineage — a history that also explains why its alumni network reaches deep into Minnesota's judiciary and legislature.
Realistic peer schools to weigh against this one: University of St. Thomas School of Law, University of Minnesota Law School
A 154 LSAT sits exactly at Mitchell Hamline's median, a 151 sits at its 25th percentile, and a 158 sits at its 75th percentile — those three numbers are the planning anchors for where your application lands relative to the class the school actually enrolled, not a prediction of your admission odds. On the GPA side, the school's 25th/50th/75th percentiles run 2.96/3.29/3.60, so a file with a GPA above 3.6 and an LSAT above 158 is, on paper, above both medians simultaneously — a combination schools generally reward with stronger scholarship offers rather than admission certainty.
That scholarship dimension matters more here than at many schools, because Mitchell Hamline reports that 100% of its students receive some grant aid, yet the size of that aid varies enormously: 57% of grant recipients get less than half tuition covered, 39% get between half and full tuition, and only 5% get full tuition. The 50th-percentile grant is $34,730 against full-time tuition of $55,300, meaning a median grant recipient is still covering roughly $20,000 of tuition alone before living costs. Where your LSAT and GPA land relative to the school's own medians is the single biggest lever you have over which of those three grant bands you fall into — an applicant above both medians is a more realistic candidate for the half-to-full tier, while an applicant below the 25th percentile on both metrics should expect to land in the smaller or no-grant range.
Because the LSAT is scored on the current two-Logical-Reasoning, one-Reading-Comprehension format (Logic Games were removed in 2024), a retake strategy built on official practice material remains the most reliable way to move a score meaningfully; schools consider your single highest score, so there's no penalty structure to weigh against a retake here. If your first score lands below 154, a retake aimed at clearing the median — or better, the 158 75th percentile — is the highest-leverage move available before you submit, for positioning your file against the school's published medians and for the scholarship negotiation that follows. Once you have offers in hand, comparing them against Mitchell Hamline's published grant bands gives you concrete language for a negotiation conversation rather than a guess; see the shared scholarship-negotiation playbook for how that conversation typically works, and the LSAT-prep guide for how to structure a retake timeline before you apply.
Mitchell Hamline accepts the LSAT and evaluates applications through the standard cycle most ABA-accredited schools use, but this pack does not contain a published application deadline or fee for the current cycle, so don't rely on a specific date here — confirm the live deadline directly with the school's admissions office before you plan your submission timeline. In general, law school admissions run on a rolling basis: applications submitted earlier in the cycle (fall through early winter) are typically reviewed against a fuller scholarship pool than applications submitted in the spring, which is a structural reason to apply early even in the absence of a hard deadline.
Because Mitchell Hamline runs both full-time and part-time JD tracks, part-time applicants should also confirm whether the school evaluates that track on a separate timeline or the same rolling cycle as the full-time program — a distinction that matters if you're working while applying and need to plan around a start date. For the generic mechanics of building an application file — LSAT timing, letters, personal statement sequencing, and when to submit relative to scholarship deadlines — see the shared law school application timeline guide, and treat any specific date you find for Mitchell Hamline as provisional until confirmed on the school's own admissions page.
Every single admitted student who enrolls at Mitchell Hamline receives some form of grant aid — the school reports 100% of its J.D. students getting a scholarship. That universal-grant model doesn't mean everyone pays the same net price, though: the size of the award varies sharply by scholarship band, and where you land changes the math on how much you'll actually borrow.
The median full-time grant at Mitchell Hamline is $34,730 a year against a $55,300 full-time tuition sticker price — roughly 63 cents back on every tuition dollar for the student sitting exactly at the middle of the distribution. But the bands around that median are wide. The school reports that 57% of grant recipients get less than half of tuition covered, 39% land between half and full tuition, and a narrow 5% receive a full-tuition award — essentially a free ride on tuition (fees and living costs are separate). That last group is small by design: full-tuition scholarships are typically reserved for the applicants furthest above the school's LSAT/GPA medians, and Mitchell Hamline's median LSAT (154) and median GPA (3.29) give you the benchmark to judge where your own numbers might land you within that scale — not a promise of any particular award. For how to actually negotiate or appeal a scholarship offer once you have it, see /law-school-scholarship-negotiation.
Run the full cost-of-attendance math before assuming a scholarship solves affordability. Mitchell Hamline's estimated full-time cost of attendance is $73,148 (tuition, fees, and off-campus living), so even the median grant of $34,730 still leaves roughly $38,400 a year to fund through savings, income, or borrowing. That happens to sit comfortably under the federal Direct Unsubsidized loan's per-year professional-school cap, but a student in the largest band — the 57% getting less than half tuition covered — could see a funding gap meaningfully closer to or past that annual ceiling, especially once fees and living costs are added in.
That ceiling matters more than it used to. As of the 2025-26 cycle (verify current figures before you borrow), Grad PLUS loans have been eliminated for new federal borrowers, and law students are capped at $50,000 per year and $200,000 in aggregate federal borrowing, inside an overall $257,500 lifetime limit. Because Mitchell Hamline offers both full-time and part-time tracks — the part-time program runs a lower $39,930 annual tuition rate — a student weighing years-to-completion against the federal borrowing cap should model both paths: a longer part-time timeline spreads tuition out but also stretches the years you're paying rent and forgoing full salary, while full-time compresses cost into three years but pushes closer to that $50,000 annual ceiling faster.
One caveat: the pack's conditional-scholarship-retention data (whether entering students keep their grant after 1L year) is not populated for the last three reporting years, so this guide cannot tell you Mitchell Hamline's specific stipulation or reduction rate — ask the admissions or financial aid office directly what GPA or class-rank threshold, if any, is attached to your specific offer before you enroll. Whatever the terms, if your award depends on future forgiveness rather than repayment, that plan depends on enrolling in the income-driven Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP) rather than the default Standard Plan — the standard plan alone earns no PSLF credit. See /law-school-loans-and-pslf for how that mechanism works.
Whether Mitchell Hamline is worth it depends far more on what you want out of a law degree than on its U.S. News rank of 152. The honest way to answer the question is to compare the school's actual outcome data against your own goal — BigLaw, government service, a Minnesota solo or small-firm practice, or a career change made possible by an evening schedule — because those goals lead to very different verdicts.
If the goal is a large law firm, the data says look elsewhere or treat Mitchell Hamline as an unlikely path there: only 2 of its graduates, or 0.6%, landed at firms of 501+ attorneys, the category that anchors the widely cited $215,000 BigLaw salary peak. That's consistent with the general labor-market pattern that new-lawyer salaries are bimodal — a small spike at the biggest firms and a much larger cluster of everyone else — and Mitchell Hamline's graduates sit overwhelmingly in that larger cluster. The most common employment outcome by a wide margin is small-firm practice: 73 graduates went to firms of 1-10 attorneys, easily the largest single category, with another 34 at 11-25-attorney firms. Add government work (45 graduates, 13.8%), state and local clerkships (27), business and industry (54), and public interest (16, 4.9%), and a picture emerges of a school whose graduates mostly practice law regionally, in Minnesota and its neighboring states, in smaller organizations rather than large national firms.
That regional, practice-ready orientation is baked into the school's structure, not incidental to it. Mitchell Hamline runs both a full-time division (137 students in the entering class) and a substantially larger part-time division (227 students) — nearly two-thirds of the class attends part-time, a ratio that signals a student body weighted toward people balancing law school with jobs, families, or a career change rather than a traditional three-years-only cohort. If you're evaluating "worth it" as a working adult who needs a flexible schedule to make law school possible at all, that structural fact matters as much as any ranking.
Bar passage is the other number to weigh honestly. Mitchell Hamline's first-time bar pass rate is 71.95%, running behind the state average of 82.93% for that cohort — a real gap, not a rounding difference. The ultimate pass rate within two years climbs to 85.02%, meaning most graduates who don't pass on the first attempt do pass eventually, but the first-time gap means you should budget mentally (and financially) for the possibility of a second sitting, including a second round of bar-prep costs and a delayed start to full salary. Because the Uniform Bar Exam is portable, a passing UBE score earned in Minnesota can transfer to other UBE jurisdictions within their score and time windows, which is relevant if your post-graduation plans aren't fixed to one state — see how that mechanic works generally at /is-law-school-worth-it.
Put the pieces together and the framework looks like this: compare your net cost after any grant offer (see the financing section above) against the realistic outcome bands this data shows — small-firm and government-heavy employment, a modest BigLaw pathway, and a bar-passage curve that rewards persistence over a single sitting. For an applicant whose priority is practicing law in Minnesota, valuing flexible part-time study, or entering government or public-interest work, that combination can be a reasonable, affordable route into the profession, especially for a student receiving one of the stronger scholarship bands described above. For an applicant whose primary goal is a national BigLaw career, the school's own placement numbers say that's not the well-worn path here, and it's worth weighing schools with a stronger track record in that specific outcome before enrolling. Either way, run your own numbers against the LSAT and GPA medians (154 / 3.29) using /law-school-application-timeline and /how-to-study-for-the-lsat before deciding what to apply with, since where you land relative to those medians is the strongest lever you have over both your admission profile and your scholarship band.