George Mason's law school carries Antonin Scalia's name because of a 2016 gift, not because the late Supreme Court justice ever taught or studied there — and the naming itself came with a bruising public rollout that says something real about the school's identity.
The school's roots go back to 1972's International School of Law in Washington, D.C., which relocated to Arlington but could never secure ABA accreditation on its own. The Virginia General Assembly authorized George Mason University to absorb it, and the merged institution was formally founded on July 1, 1979, gaining full ABA accreditation the following year. For 37 years it operated simply as George Mason University School of Law. That changed in 2016, when the school received a $30 million naming gift — $10 million from the Charles Koch Foundation and $20 million from an anonymous donor later reported to be Barre Seid — to rename itself in honor of Justice Scalia, who had just died. The initial name choice generated enough controversy over its abbreviation that the university revised it to "Antonin Scalia Law School," formally ratified May 17, 2016. In 2019 the school received a separate $50 million gift from the estate of Allison and Dorothy Rouse — the largest gift in the university's history — which is unconnected to the naming but underscores how much outside philanthropy has shaped the school's trajectory since 2016.
What the name signals in practice. This isn't just a plaque on the building. The school has built a cluster of centers and institutes that reflect a law-and-economics, textualist, administrative-law-skeptical intellectual orientation: the Law & Economics Center, the C. Boyden Gray Center for the Study of the Administrative State, the Liberty & Law Center, the Global Antitrust Institute, and the National Security Institute. Faculty names tied to that tradition — David Bernstein, Ilya Somin, F. H. Buckley, Henry N. Butler, Douglas H. Ginsburg, Timothy Muris, and Todd Zywicki — anchor much of the scholarly output. A 2023 New York Times report described the school as having cultivated close ties to Republican-appointed Supreme Court justices, comparing its role in conservative legal circles to what Yale or Harvard represent for the broader legal establishment.
What this means day-to-day for a student. The practical upside is access: an Arlington, Virginia campus, a Supervised Externship program that places students directly on Capitol Hill, and specialized clinics like the Administrative Law Clinic, the NSI Cybersecurity and AI Clinic, and the Supreme Court Clinic that would be hard to replicate at a school without this footprint or this donor network. The school also runs LLM concentrations in Cybersecurity, Global Antitrust, and Intellectual Property that draw directly on these institutes' expertise. The school markets itself explicitly as "Washington's School for Civil Discourse" and reports a 4.2:1 student-to-faculty ratio, which is a genuinely small-cohort experience for a public law school this connected to federal power centers.
The honest tradeoff is ideological positioning. A student who wants a law school culture organized loosely around law-and-economics and originalist/textualist scholarship will find a concentrated version of that here, including in the composition of visiting speakers and the centers' programming. A student looking for a more ideologically neutral or left-leaning environment should know what they're walking into before enrolling — this is not incidental branding, it runs through the curriculum, the centers, and the faculty roster. Either way, the pipeline into government and the judiciary is real and documented: George Mason places graduates into government positions (44 graduates, 26.3% of the class) and into judicial clerkships (13 federal, 17 state/local) at rates that reflect this network, not just the Scalia name on the door.
George Mason's Antonin Scalia Law School admitted 15.87% of applicants in its most recent reported cycle — a rate that looks more like a top-15 school than a #32-ranked one (U.S. News, 2026-27 rankings), and the reason is arithmetic, not mystery. The school received 2,792 applications for a class that ultimately enrolled only 159 students total (132 full-time, 27 part-time), extending 443 offers along the way. When a fixed, small number of seats meets a national applicant pool of nearly 2,800, the acceptance rate compresses no matter how the school is ranked.
The scores behind the seats. The entering class's LSAT band runs 162 (25th percentile) to 169 (median) to 171 (75th percentile), with GPAs of 3.55 / 3.93 / 3.98 at the same percentiles. Those numbers function as planning anchors, not odds: an applicant with a 169 LSAT sits at this class's median, a 171 places them at the 75th percentile, and a 162 sits at the 25th percentile — meaning a meaningful share of the admitted class scored below that number. None of this predicts any individual applicant's outcome; it only shows where a given LSAT/GPA combination falls relative to the students who actually enrolled.
Why the rate is this low despite the rank. A few forces converge here. First, the class is genuinely small — 159 total seats is a fraction of what many similarly-ranked or lower-ranked schools enroll, so even a modestly sized applicant pool produces a tight acceptance rate. Third, a rate this selective sits alongside strong numerical medians (169 LSAT, 3.93 GPA) that are competitive with many higher-ranked peers, even though U.S. News's composite ranking weighs additional factors beyond raw admissions numbers.
What this means for evaluating the rank-versus-selectivity gap. A #32 ranking and a sub-16% acceptance rate are not contradictory once class size is factored in — they describe a school that is more numerically selective, on paper, than its overall rank alone would suggest, mainly because it isn't scaling its class size to match application volume. For an applicant, the practical takeaway is to weigh their own LSAT and GPA against the 25th/50th/75th figures above as the most concrete signal available, rather than inferring anything from the rank or the acceptance rate in isolation. Neither number tells an individual applicant their own likelihood of admission; both simply describe the pool the school drew from and the class it built out of it.
Short answer: at George Mason's Antonin Scalia Law School, these centers aren't ceremonial nameplates — each one anchors a specific journal, clinic, LLM track, or faculty cluster that a JD student can actually plug into, and each has a documented pipeline into the kind of government and regulatory jobs the school's graduates disproportionately land.
NSI is the school's hub for national security, intelligence, and cybersecurity law, and it connects directly to coursework students can point to on a resume. The school publishes a dedicated National Security Law Journal, and the clinical program includes the NSI Cybersecurity and AI Clinic, giving students supervised practice in an area most law schools only teach as a seminar. Because the law school sits in Arlington, Virginia — inside the Washington, D.C. legal and policy corridor rather than merely near it — NSI's programming has an obvious feeder relationship to the federal agencies and intelligence-adjacent employers clustered in that market. The school's alumni list includes Chris Krebs, former director of the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA), and Ken Cuccinelli, former Acting U.S. Deputy Secretary of Homeland Security — both concrete evidence that the national-security track has produced people who went on to run the agencies it studies, not just write about them.
GAI is built around competition law and economics, and it has its own degree credential: the school offers a Global Antitrust LLM concentration, so a student who wants to specialize doesn't have to improvise a curriculum — there's a named track for it. On the faculty side, GAI draws on economists-turned-lawyers like Henry N. Butler and Timothy Muris, part of a law-and-economics faculty bench the school leans on across multiple programs, not just antitrust. The alumni roster includes Maureen Ohlhausen, a former commissioner of the U.S. Federal Trade Commission, and Kathleen Casey, a former SEC commissioner — regulators whose careers are exactly the kind of outcome GAI training is aimed at producing.
LEC is the oldest and broadest of the three, reflecting the law-and-economics orientation the school is known for across its curriculum — a distinctive feature the school itself leans into rather than downplays. It has a dedicated outlet in the Journal of Law, Economics & Policy, and its influence runs through faculty such as F.H. Buckley and Todd Zywicki, whose scholarship sits squarely in the law-and-economics tradition. LEC functions less as a single classroom program and more as an intellectual throughline connecting corporate law, regulatory theory, and administrative law coursework across the school.
Beyond the three flagship institutes, George Mason also houses the C. Boyden Gray Center for the Study of the Administrative State, the Liberty & Law Center, and the Center for the Middle East & International Law. The Gray Center's administrative-law focus lines up with the school's own Administrative Law Clinic, one of thirteen named clinics and field placements the school runs (others include the Free Speech Clinic, the Supreme Court Clinic, and the Mason Veterans and Servicemembers Legal Clinic, or M-VETS). The Center for the Middle East & International Law has an obvious pairing with the George Mason International Law Journal. Faculty associated with this broader ideological and scholarly identity — including David Bernstein, Ilya Somin, and Douglas H. Ginsburg — are part of why a 2023 New York Times report characterized the school as a hub of conservative legal scholarship comparable in influence, within that ideological lane, to how Yale or Harvard function on the other side of the spectrum. That reputation is a genuine differentiator, not a neutral one: applicants who want a program built around free-market, textualist, and originalist legal thought will find George Mason's institutes unusually concentrated in that direction; applicants looking for an ideologically mixed or progressive-leaning environment should weigh that fact honestly before enrolling.
The throughline across all of it is placement. George Mason reports 44 graduates (26.3% of the class) going into government roles and 30 graduates into federal or state/local clerkships (13 federal, 17 state/local) — outcomes that plausibly track back to a curriculum built around administrative law, national security, and regulatory economics, delivered inside externship programs that include a Capitol Hill placement and a federal bankruptcy court externship. In short: if your interest is regulatory, national-security, or antitrust law and you want a law school where the institute isn't decorative, the journal, clinic, LLM, and faculty pieces here actually interlock — and the alumni outcomes are the receipts.
George Mason's Antonin Scalia Law School is ranked second among all U.S. law schools for lowest debt-to-earnings ratio, according to The National Jurist — trailing only Harvard.
The school's published full-time tuition is $24,864 per year, plus $2,968 in fees — about $27,832 combined before any aid. Add the school's off-campus living estimate of $38,342, and the total estimated cost of attendance comes to $66,174 for a full-time student. The pack doesn't break tuition out by residency, so applicants should confirm directly with the school whether $24,864 reflects an in-state, out-of-state, or blended rate before budgeting off it. Even at the higher end of that uncertainty, a roughly $66,000 all-in annual estimate is low relative to many private law schools, and it's the base number the debt-to-earnings ranking is built on.
84% of students receive some grant aid, and the median grant among full-time recipients is $21,000 per year — enough to cover roughly three-quarters of the combined tuition-and-fees bill for a typical grant recipient. Looking at how that aid is distributed: 32% of students receive a grant covering less than half of tuition, 46% receive a grant covering between half and full tuition, and 5% receive a full-tuition award. By arithmetic, that leaves roughly 17% of the class without a grant. If you're admitted with an offer, ask specifically which band you're in — "half-to-full" covers a wide range, and the difference between the low and high end of that band is a meaningful swing in what you'll actually owe.
One gap worth flagging for anyone negotiating a scholarship offer: the school's reported conditional-scholarship retention data for the three most recent cohorts shows no entering or reduced-award figures, meaning the pack does not surface a breakdown of how many conditional scholarships get reduced or lost after 1L year. Don't assume your award is guaranteed for all three years without asking the admissions office directly what GPA or class-rank benchmark, if any, attaches to your specific offer — this is standard due diligence at any school offering conditional scholarships, and it's covered in general terms at /law-school-scholarship-negotiation.
Of 167 total graduates, 97.6% landed in jobs categorized as bar-required or JD-advantage — a strong absorption rate for the graduating class as a whole. Within that outcome mix, 18 graduates (10.8%) went to law firms of 501 or more attorneys, the "Big Law" tier associated with the highest reported first-year salaries nationally; another 44 graduates (26.3%) went into government roles, and 30 more secured clerkships (13 federal, 17 state/local). The school's largest single employment category is Virginia itself, meaning most graduates who take jobs stay in the Commonwealth rather than scattering nationally — useful context for anyone evaluating this degree as a Virginia or D.C.-market credential specifically rather than a national one.
Bar passage supports that outcome picture: George Mason reports an 86.34% first-time bar passage rate against an 83.39% state average in the reporting period covered by the pack, with a 93.92% ultimate pass rate within two years. A separately reported figure puts the school's July 2023 Virginia first-time passage rate at 90.7%, third among Virginia's eight law schools — the two figures come from different tables and reporting windows, so treat them as consistent directionally (Mason outperforming the state average) rather than as the same statistic.
The debt-to-earnings math works because the two halves reinforce each other: the roughly $66,000 annual all-in cost (before the median $21,000 grant many students receive) is modest by national law school standards, while the graduate outcome mix — a real Big Law tier at the top, a large and stable government/clerkship base in the middle, and a 97.6% overall placement rate — produces earnings that are solid without needing to be spectacular to make the ratio favorable. For students who will still need to borrow the remaining gap after grants, current federal direct unsubsidized loan rules cap borrowing at $50,000 per year and $200,000 aggregate for law students as of the 2026-27 cycle — verify current limits before enrolling, since federal loan policy is time-sensitive; see /law-school-loans-and-pslf for the mechanics and /is-law-school-worth-it for how to run this school's specific numbers through a broader worth-it framework.
Illustrative: 3-year borrowing at the 2026-27 federal rate (8.07%) over 10 years; your figures depend on your offer and salary.
The largest single employment category for Antonin Scalia Law School graduates is a government employer in Virginia or the D.C. area, not a large law firm — government is the single largest employment category for the class, ahead of any private-practice band. Of the 167 graduates in the reporting class, 97.6% were employed in bar-passage-required or JD-advantage jobs, and the school's own data flags Virginia as the largest employment jurisdiction, which tracks with the school's Arlington location a few miles from the Pentagon, Capitol Hill, and the federal agency corridor.
Government work absorbed 44 graduates (26.3% of the class) — the largest single bucket in the outcomes data, well ahead of Big Law. That is consistent with the school's institutional identity: the National Security Institute and Global Antitrust Institute sit inside the law school, and its clinics and field placements (including a Supervised Externship on Capitol Hill, an Immigration Litigation Field Program, and M-VETS, a veterans and servicemembers clinic) are built around federal and state agency practice rather than pure private-sector corporate work. Public interest placements add another 7 graduates (4.2%), and business/industry accounted for 18 (10.8%).
Eighteen graduates — 10.8% of the class — landed at firms of 501 or more attorneys, the category the market treats as "Big Law." That is a real but minority outcome: most graduates who go into private practice at George Mason land at considerably smaller firms. The full firm-size breakdown for the class: 1 solo practitioner, 23 at firms of 1-10 attorneys, 4 at firms of 11-25, 5 at firms of 26-50, 7 at firms of 51-100, 3 at firms of 101-250, 5 at firms of 251-500, and 18 at firms of 501+. Summed, private practice across all firm sizes accounts for 66 of 167 graduates (about 39.5% of the class) — larger than government employment alone (44 graduates, 26.3%), and within private practice, boutique and mid-size Virginia and D.C.-area firms outnumber Big Law placements by more than three to one.
Clerkships are a genuine strength of the outcomes profile: 13 graduates secured federal clerkships and another 17 secured state or local clerkships, for 30 total — roughly 18% of the graduating class. That is a notably high clerkship rate for a school of this size, and it lines up with the alumni network the school points to, which includes sitting federal judges (on the Third Circuit, the Eastern District of Virginia, the Southern District of Indiana, and the District of Montana, among others) as well as justices on the Virginia and Rhode Island supreme courts. For an applicant weighing clerkship ambitions, this is one of the more concrete, checkable signals in the data pack.
Location and institutional design both point the same direction. Arlington puts students inside commuting distance of the U.S. Capitol, federal agencies, the Eastern District of Virginia, and Virginia's own state government in Richmond — all of which shows up in the employment data as a heavy tilt toward government and clerkship placements over corporate Big Law. The school's research centers reinforce that tilt: the Law & Economics Center, the C. Boyden Gray Center for the Study of the Administrative State, and the Global Antitrust Institute all specialize in regulatory, administrative, and antitrust law — exactly the practice areas that route graduates into federal agencies and government-adjacent private practice rather than large corporate transactional firms.
If your goal is a guaranteed Big Law seat, the data shows that outcome reaches about 1 in 9 graduates (10.8%), so it is a realistic but non-default outcome, not the school's center of gravity. If your goal is federal or Virginia state government work, a clerkship, or agency-adjacent practice, the placement data — 26.3% into government, an 18% clerkship rate, and location inside the D.C.–Northern Virginia corridor — suggests the school's actual outcomes track closely with those ambitions. The pack does not break out which specific firms recruit on campus or provide salary distributions by sector, so applicants weighing a Big Law salary against a government salary should treat this section as directional rather than a guarantee of outcome in either direction.
George Mason graduates pass the bar at a rate that beats the state average: the school reports an 86.34% first-time pass rate against an 83.39% state average, and a 93.92% ultimate pass rate within two years. That combination — above-average on the first attempt and over 93% eventually — indicates that most graduates who don't pass on the first try clear the bar on a subsequent attempt rather than stalling out.
The pack also cites a specific historical data point: for the July 2023 Virginia bar exam, George Mason's first-time pass rate was 90.7%, which ranked third among Virginia's eight law schools. That figure is higher than the 86.34% headline first-time rate cited elsewhere in the school's reporting, which likely reflects a different administration or a different reporting cycle (the two numbers appear to come from different testing dates) rather than a contradiction — but applicants should treat bar-passage figures as time-sensitive and verify the most current published administration before relying on either number.
Because the largest employment outcomes for this class run through Virginia — government agencies, state and federal clerkships, and Virginia-based firms — a strong showing on the Virginia bar specifically (not just a national aggregate) is the more relevant signal for most admitted students. A school can look fine on a blended multi-state bar figure while underperforming in the one state where most of its graduates actually need to practice; George Mason's reported top-three finish among Virginia's eight ABA-accredited law schools in a recent July administration suggests its bar preparation is calibrated well for the jurisdiction where its graduates are concentrated.
Use the 83.39% state average as your baseline and the 86.34%/93.92% figures as George Mason's performance against it, not as a prediction about your own outcome — bar passage depends heavily on individual preparation, and Virginia (like New York and Massachusetts) administers the Uniform Bar Exam, so a UBE score earned after graduating from George Mason is portable to other UBE jurisdictions within their score-transfer windows. Because both bar rules and pass-rate reporting change from cycle to cycle, confirm the current published administration's numbers directly with the school before treating any single year's rate as durable.
Scalia Law's alumni network runs directly through federal courthouses and federal agencies, a pattern that tracks the school's Arlington, Virginia address minutes from Washington, D.C. Graduates who have gone on to Article III judgeships include Katherine A. Crytzer (U.S. District Judge, Eastern District of Tennessee), David J. Porter (U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit), Liam O'Grady (U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Virginia), Richard L. Young (U.S. District Court, Southern District of Indiana), and William W. Mercer (U.S. District Court, District of Montana, and former U.S. Associate Attorney General). At the state level, alumni sit as Justice of the Rhode Island Supreme Court (Melissa A. Long), Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia (Wesley G. Russell Jr.), and on Virginia's general district court bench (William W. Eldridge IV).
That bench-and-agency orientation shows up in the school's own outcomes data: of 167 graduates in the reporting class, 13 landed federal clerkships and 17 landed state or local clerkships, a combined 30 clerkships, and government work was the single largest employment category at 44 graduates (26.3%), consistent with the school's reported strongest placement being in Virginia itself. Beyond the judiciary, alumni have held senior executive-branch posts — Ken Cuccinelli (Acting U.S. Deputy Secretary of Homeland Security and former Virginia Attorney General), Chris Krebs (director of the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency), Anna Escobedo Cabral (U.S. Treasurer), Maureen Ohlhausen and Kathleen L. Casey (commissioners at the FTC and SEC respectively), and David Warrington (White House Counsel) — plus one former member of Congress, David Jolly.
This is not a coincidence of geography alone. The law school carries the name of Justice Antonin Scalia since 2016 and has been described by a 2023 New York Times report as functioning for conservative legal thought the way Yale or Harvard function for the mainstream legal academy; its research arms — the National Security Institute, the Global Antitrust Institute, the C. Boyden Gray Center for the Study of the Administrative State, and the Law & Economics Center — feed students and alumni directly into the regulatory and national-security agencies clustered in the D.C. area. Faculty such as Douglas H. Ginsburg, Ilya Somin, and Todd Zywicki reinforce that pipeline through scholarship and networks that extend into the same agencies and courts where alumni now serve.
Applicants should read this pipeline for what it is: a strong, documented track record of placing graduates into federal and Virginia government, clerkships, and policy institutions, not a guarantee of any particular judicial clerkship or agency job. The network's usefulness will depend heavily on whether an applicant's own career goals run toward government, regulatory, or public-law work rather than, say, a coastal Big Law market outside Virginia.
Yes — Scalia Law runs a substantial live-client and externship program, and a large share of its roughly 438 total JD students use it: the school reports 101 clinic seats filled out of 124 available, 270 field placements filled, and 541 simulation-course enrollments in a single reporting cycle. That volume means clinical and experiential learning is not a boutique offering here but a standard part of the JD path for most students.
The clinic and field-placement roster leans into the school's D.C.-adjacent location and its policy-and-national-security identity. Offerings include the Administrative Law Clinic, the Free Speech Clinic, the Supreme Court Clinic, the NSI Cybersecurity and AI Clinic (run through the National Security Institute), the Immigration Litigation Field Program, the Mason Veterans and Servicemembers Legal Clinic (M-VETS), the Poverty Law Field Program, the Startup Company Practicum, and the Arts & Entertainment Advocacy Field Program. Several of these put students directly in front of live clients or live litigation rather than in a purely simulated setting.
For students aiming at the government and policy track that dominates the school's employment outcomes, the supervised externship slate is the more distinctive piece: dedicated placements exist for Capitol Hill, for Virginia state practice, and for the U.S. Bankruptcy Court, alongside general fall/spring/summer externship placements. Given that government work accounts for 26.3% of the most recent graduating class's employment and that Virginia is reported as the school's largest single employment jurisdiction, the Capitol Hill and Virginia-practice externships in particular function as a direct bridge between the classroom and the jobs Scalia Law graduates actually take.
What the data pack does not specify is unit-by-unit clinic capacity, which students can expect a Supreme Court Clinic seat versus a general field placement, or how competitive individual clinic enrollment is in a given year — prospective students should confirm current clinic rosters and seat counts directly with the school before assuming a specific clinic will be available in any given semester.
At Scalia Law, the numbers that matter most as planning anchors are a 169 median LSAT and a 3.93 median GPA, set against roughly 2,792 applications and 443 offers — an acceptance rate near 15.9% for a class that lands around 159 students. Those figures do not translate into an odds calculation for any individual applicant; they describe where the school's admitted class actually sits, which is the only honest way to use median data.
The school's 25th-75th percentile bands give a fuller picture than the median alone: LSAT scores run from 162 at the 25th percentile to 171 at the 75th, and GPA runs from 3.55 to 3.98. A 171 LSAT places an applicant at Mason's 75th percentile, a strong position relative to the enrolled class; a 162 sits at the 25th percentile, meaning roughly a quarter of enrolled students had scores at or below that level. The same logic applies to GPA — a 3.98 is at the 75th percentile, while a 3.55 marks the 25th. Applicants whose numbers land below the 25th percentile on both metrics are furthest from the class profile the school has actually enrolled; applicants above the 75th on both are closest to its strongest admitted cohort. None of this predicts an individual outcome, since holistic factors, letters, personal statements, and softs also weigh in every file review.
Because the LSAT is scored 120-180 and schools consider an applicant's highest score, a retake strategy matters more at a school like Mason than a one-and-done approach might suggest: moving from, say, the 25th-percentile range to the median or 75th-percentile range is a meaningfully different position on Mason's own scale, not just a few points on a curve. The current LSAT format — two scored Logical Reasoning sections, one scored Reading Comprehension section, and an unscored variable section, with Logic Games removed since August 2024 — rewards the kind of structured, official-material-based prep outlined at /how-to-study-for-the-lsat; that guide covers the mechanics in depth so this section won't repeat them.
LSAT and GPA also drive Mason's own aid picture, which is worth pairing with test strategy rather than treating as a separate decision. Scalia Law reports that 84% of students receive some grant, with a median grant of $21,000 for full-time students; roughly 46% get an award between half and full tuition, and about 5% receive full-tuition awards, while about 32% receive less than half. Because scholarship money at most law schools is awarded largely on the strength of the LSAT and GPA an applicant brings in, a score at or above Mason's median LSAT and GPA is the more realistic lever for reaching the school's stronger grant bands than assuming a below-median file will be offset by financial need alone — and any offer received should be checked against the negotiation approach at /law-school-scholarship-negotiation before it's accepted. Application deadlines, LSAT-acceptance policies, and fee amounts are time-sensitive and not specified in current school data here, so applicants should verify current cycle details directly with the admissions office before finalizing a testing or application timeline; see /law-school-application-timeline for how that timeline typically works in general.
George Mason's Antonin Scalia Law School received 2,792 applications for a class that landed at 159 students (132 full-time, 27 part-time), extending offers to 443 applicants — an acceptance rate of about 15.9%. That is a genuinely selective number, but selectivity alone doesn't tell you where you personally stand; what matters is how your LSAT and GPA sit against the school's own distribution.
Mason's most recently reported class had an LSAT split of 162 (25th percentile), 169 (median), and 171 (75th percentile), with GPAs of 3.55, 3.93, and 3.98 at the same three points. Read those numbers as planning anchors, not as a probability calculator: a 169 LSAT places you at the school's median, meaning roughly half of an admitted class sits above that score and half below it on that single metric. A 171 puts you in the top quarter of the class on LSAT; a 162 puts you in the bottom quarter. Neither position guarantees or forecloses an outcome — GPA, writing sample, résumé, and softs all move independently — but it does tell you which side of the scholarship and admissions conversation you're likely to be having, especially since GPA medians here (a 3.93 midpoint) are unusually high and can matter as much as the LSAT once you're inside Mason's range.
Because Mason sits in Arlington, in the Washington DC metro area, it draws from — and competes against — one of the densest concentrations of ABA-accredited law schools and law-adjacent employers in the country. That density cuts two ways for applicants. It means the regional applicant pool is deep and self-selecting (many candidates are aiming at government, regulatory, or policy-adjacent careers and are applying to a cluster of DC-area schools simultaneously), but it also means a school with Mason's specific institutional identity — heavy in law and economics, national security, and administrative law — can be a genuinely differentiated choice rather than an interchangeable one, if that intellectual orientation matches what you actually want to study and who you want to learn from.
On timing mechanics: applicants should confirm directly with the school whether admissions decisions in this cycle are rolling or decided after a single deadline, since the pack does not specify Mason's review process. If you're aiming for Mason, that argues for having your LSAT score, transcript, letters, and personal statement ready to file as early in the cycle as your preparation allows, rather than waiting until close to whatever the current cycle's stated deadline is — verify that deadline directly with the school, since it can shift year to year. For the score itself, remember the LSAT is now a two-scored-Logical-Reasoning, one-scored-Reading-Comprehension exam with Logic Games removed, and schools consider your highest reported score, so a disciplined, multi-month prep runway using official material is the standard path to moving from the 162 range toward the 169-171 band that defines Mason's middle and upper cohort. Our LSAT prep guide (/how-to-study-for-the-lsat) and application timeline walkthrough (/law-school-application-timeline) go through that mechanics in more depth than belongs here.
The practical takeaway: know your number, place it honestly against 162/169/171, and file early — positioning, not luck, is what a rolling, numbers-anchored process rewards.
Most George Mason JD students get some scholarship money, but the size of that money varies enormously, and knowing which band you're likely to land in matters more than the headline 84% figure. Mason reports that 84% of its full-time students receive grant aid, with a median full-time grant of $21,000. Broken into bands, about 32% of students receive a grant covering less than half of tuition, 46% receive one covering between half and the full tuition amount, and only 5% receive a full-tuition award. Do the arithmetic on those bands and you'll notice they sum to roughly 83% — consistent with the 84% headline, but also a reminder that a meaningful minority of admitted students (roughly the remaining 16-17%) pay full sticker price with no grant at all.
Sticker price at Mason, a Virginia public university, is itself lower than at most peer private law schools: tuition and fees run $24,864 plus $2,968 in fees for full-time students, and the school's own estimated full cost of attendance — including an estimated $38,342 for off-campus living — comes to roughly $66,174 per year. That baseline matters because a half-tuition scholarship at Mason is worth meaningfully less in absolute dollars than the same percentage discount at a $70,000-tuition private school, even though the proportional relief is similar. In other words, Mason's relatively low starting sticker price means even students in the lower grant bands are financing a smaller total debt load than students at comparably ranked private schools charging two or three times as much in tuition.
George Mason's public disclosures do not include conditional-scholarship retention data in the years reported here — that is, the share of students whose scholarships were reduced or eliminated after 1L year for falling below a GPA threshold. Where a school does publish that data, it is one of the most important things to ask about before committing to a conditional scholarship, since a scholarship tied to maintaining a class rank you can't predict in advance functions differently than a guaranteed award for all three years. Without that data point for Mason specifically, treat any scholarship offer letter you receive as the primary source of truth: read the renewal conditions line by line, and ask the financial aid office directly whether awards are guaranteed for all three years or contingent on a GPA or class-rank cutoff.
On the borrowing side, the federal loan landscape for a student starting law school changed materially as of July 1, 2026: Grad PLUS loans were eliminated for new borrowers, and the Direct Unsubsidized Loan is now capped at $50,000 per year and $200,000 in aggregate, inside a $257,500 lifetime federal cap. For a program with total cost of attendance near $66,000 a year, a student without meaningful scholarship support could hit the annual federal cap and need to cover a shortfall through savings, family support, or private loans — a materially different calculus than the older system, where Grad PLUS filled whatever gap remained. That makes the size of your Mason scholarship offer — not just whether you receive one — a genuinely load-bearing part of your financing plan, not a marginal discount.
Repayment options have also narrowed: new federal borrowers choose between a Tiered Standard Plan (the default, which earns no credit toward Public Service Loan Forgiveness) and the Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP), an income-driven option required if you're aiming for PSLF. Given that a notable share of Mason graduates go into government roles — a path where PSLF's ten-year forgiveness track can matter — actively electing RAP rather than defaulting to the Standard Plan is a decision worth making deliberately, ideally before your first payment is due. For the full negotiation playbook on turning a Mason offer into a better one, and for the loan and PSLF mechanics in more depth, see /law-school-scholarship-negotiation and /law-school-loans-and-pslf.
Whether George Mason's Antonin Scalia Law School is worth it depends less on prestige-chasing and more on whether its specific identity — a law-and-economics-oriented, government-and-regulatory-facing program with a distinctly lower price tag than most similarly ranked schools — matches the career you actually want. On the numbers Mason does report, the case is stronger than its U.S. News rank (32 for 2026-27) alone would suggest: 97.6% of graduates were employed in bar-passage-required or JD-advantage jobs, first-time bar passage sat at 86.34% against a state average of 83.39%, and the two-year ultimate bar passage rate reached 93.92%. Those are the fundamentals — you pass the bar and you find law-related work — and Mason clears both comfortably.
Where Mason gets genuinely distinctive is in the shape of its outcomes, not just their existence. Government work is the largest single placement category, at 26.3% of graduates (44 total), and the school layers on 13 federal clerkships and 17 state or local clerkships for a single graduating class of 167 — a substantial clerkship pipeline for a school this size. Big Law placement (the 501+ attorney firm category) captured 10.8% of graduates, 18 people, which is a real but modest slice compared to elite national placement schools; the bulk of Mason's class is going into government, mid-size and boutique firms, and business/industry roles (18 graduates) rather than into the largest firms. If your goal is specifically a Big Law-or-bust track, Mason is not built around that outcome the way a top-14 school is. If your goal is federal agency work, a judicial clerkship, national security law, antitrust and regulatory practice, or a Virginia-based legal career, Mason's placement pattern — reinforced by home-state strength (Virginia is its largest employment jurisdiction) and centers like the National Security Institute and Global Antitrust Institute — is a much closer fit.
The ideological identity is real and worth naming plainly rather than euphemizing. Scalia Law is explicitly associated with a conservative and libertarian law-and-economics tradition, renamed in 2016 after Justice Antonin Scalia following a $30 million gift, and it has been characterized in outside reporting as cultivating close ties to Republican-appointed federal judges and Supreme Court justices. Faculty names like Ilya Somin, David Bernstein, Douglas Ginsburg, and Todd Zywicki, and institutes like the C. Boyden Gray Center for the Study of the Administrative State and the Liberty & Law Center, are not incidental branding — they reflect a genuine intellectual orientation that shapes coursework, speaker programming, and networking opportunities. That is an asset if you want training and connections inside that specific legal and policy tradition, particularly for federal clerkships and administrative-law-adjacent government work; it is a mismatch if you're looking for a more ideologically pluralistic or progressive-leaning environment, and you should weigh that honestly rather than discovering it in your 1L year.
On pure cost-effectiveness, Mason's case is unusually strong for a public law school in an expensive metro area. Tuition and fees run under $28,000 a year before aid, total estimated cost of attendance is around $66,000, and the school has been ranked second among all U.S. law schools — behind only Harvard — for lowest debt-to-earnings ratio by The National Jurist. Combined with an 84% grant-recipient rate and a median $21,000 grant, a Mason JD can be financed at a reduced debt level relative to the full sticker cost, even before accounting for the employment outcomes described above.
Put together: Scalia Law is worth it for an applicant who wants a rigorous, ideologically distinct law-and-economics education, values a real (if not top-tier) clerkship and federal-government pipeline, is comfortable in or drawn to a conservative-leaning legal community, and wants to minimize debt relative to earnings. It is a weaker fit for someone whose only acceptable outcome is a Big Law-anchored career or who wants a more ideologically mixed faculty environment. For the general framework on how to weigh any law school's cost against its outcomes, see /is-law-school-worth-it.