FIU College of Law posted the highest July bar passage rate of any law school in Florida for eight consecutive years, from 2015 through 2023, and has ranked in the top three among Florida law schools on every administration of the Florida Bar Exam since July 2015 — finishing first 13 times out of 19 administrations. On the most recent first-time bar exam reported in the data pack, 85.9% of FIU takers passed, against a state average of 75.93% for that same administration — a gap of roughly ten points. Its two-year ultimate pass rate, which captures graduates who needed a second attempt, reaches 93.59%.
That is an unusually long and unusually wide margin. Florida is a large, competitive bar jurisdiction with multiple ABA-accredited law schools sending graduates to sit the same exam, so beating the state average by double digits, year after year, is not something a single strong class can produce by accident. The consistency across nearly a decade points to something structural in how FIU prepares students, not a one-time cohort effect.
What the pack shows about FIU's academic model that plausibly feeds this record
FIU is a relatively young law school — it opened in 2002 and received full ABA accreditation in December 2006. A few concrete features stand out in FIU's own reporting:
The pack does not disclose FIU's specific bar-prep curriculum, whether it runs a formal bar-support course, or how it allocates academic resources to at-risk students — those mechanics are not publicly broken out in the data available here, so they should not be assumed. What can be said honestly is that the bar outcomes are real, sustained, and well above the state average. The pack does not establish a causal connection between FIU's curricular and scholarship features and its bar-passage record.
Faculty with bench and regulatory experience
FIU's faculty roster includes Adalberto Jordan, Robert N. Scola Jr., a former U.S. Secretary of Labor and law school dean (Alexander Acosta), and Elizabeth Price Foley and Jerry W. Markham. A faculty with this composition of bench and government experience does not by itself explain a bar-passage streak, but it reflects faculty members with judicial and high-level government experience listed among FIU's notable faculty.
The bottom line for applicants
An applicant weighing FIU against other Florida options is choosing a school whose bar outcomes are not aspirational but already proven over eight consecutive testing years, with the most recent gap over the state average sitting at roughly ten percentage points. That track record is one of the strongest concrete, non-rank data points in FIU's favor, and it is worth weighing independently of where the school sits in the U.S. News rankings.
FIU's acceptance rate of 18.77% is far tighter than its U.S. News position of 77th (tied) out of 196 law schools would suggest, and that gap is the first thing an applicant should understand before writing the school off as a rank-driven safety option. Out of 3,100 applications, FIU extended only 582 offers, filling a class of 175 students (143 full-time, 32 part-time). FIU's acceptance rate and its U.S. News rank are measuring different things, and at FIU they diverge noticeably.
Where FIU's LSAT and GPA numbers actually sit
FIU's entering class posted a 25th/50th/75th LSAT split of 159/161/162 and a GPA split of 3.66/3.80/3.89. Framed as planning anchors rather than predictions: an applicant with a 161 LSAT and a 3.80 GPA is sitting at FIU's medians on both dimensions, while a 162 LSAT and 3.89 GPA would place someone at the 75th percentile on both. A 159 LSAT with a 3.66 GPA sits at FIU's 25th percentile — still a real, non-trivial academic profile, not a marginal one, given how few applicants (fewer than one in five) actually receive an offer.
This matters because U.S. News rank is a composite of many inputs — reputation surveys, resources, employment outcomes, and selectivity metrics among them — and a relatively young school (FIU opened in 2000 and only reached full ABA accreditation in 2006) can carry a lower composite rank while still running a genuinely selective admissions process on the numbers that matter most directly to an applicant: how hard is it to get in, and how strong is the student body you'd be joining. FIU is also recognized separately as 40th among public law schools and 12th among public part-time programs by U.S. News, rankings that isolate it from the much larger pool of private schools and land it in a materially stronger position than the overall #77 figure alone communicates.
What this means for how to read FIU's numbers
An applicant should not treat FIU's overall rank as a proxy for how competitive its seat is. The acceptance rate and LSAT/GPA medians describe a school where a majority of applicants are turned away and where the middle 50% of admits cluster in a fairly narrow LSAT band (159–162) and a GPA band running from the mid-3.6s to high 3.8s. Comparing your own numbers to these medians — not to the #77 ranking — is the more accurate way to gauge where you'd land in FIU's applicant pool, and it is a more useful reference point than rank alone for a school whose bar outcomes and public-school standing (see above) already outperform its composite position.
An FIU Law scholarship is not a locked-in, three-year guarantee — it typically comes with a condition attached (commonly a minimum law school GPA), and FIU's own reported numbers show that a real share of conditional-scholarship holders end up with a smaller award after their first year, not the same award they started with.
Start with who gets money at all: FIU reports that 55% of full-time students receive some grant or scholarship aid. Among those award recipients, the size of the award varies widely. FIU's disclosed distribution bands show 28% of students receiving a grant worth less than half of tuition, 11% receiving between half and full tuition, and 9% receiving a full-tuition-or-greater award. The reported median (50th percentile) grant for a full-time student is $10,365 per year. Note what the pack does not give you: a clean sticker-price tuition figure or a total cost-of-attendance estimate, so you cannot back into "what percent of tuition is $10,365" from this data alone — treat that gap as something to confirm directly with FIU's financial aid office before you compare offers. What the pack does confirm is FIU's estimated off-campus living cost of $33,176 a year, which is the number you should be stacking against any award letter to see what's actually left to cover out of pocket or borrow.
Now the part that matters most if you're holding a conditional offer: FIU publishes, as ABA-required disclosure, how many of its conditional-scholarship recipients kept their full award after year one versus how many had it reduced. Three consecutive cohorts tell a consistent story. In 2022-23, 104 students entered with conditional scholarships and 18 had their award reduced — a 17.3% reduction rate. In 2023-24, 123 entered and 28 were reduced — 22.8%. In 2024-25, 91 entered and 16 were reduced — 17.6%. Averaged across those three years, that's consistently in the high-teens-to-low-20s percent range: roughly one in five to one in six FIU conditional-scholarship holders lost part of their award after their first year of study.
That is not a rounding error, and it is not a hypothetical. It means that for every entering cohort of roughly 90-125 conditionally-scholarshipped students, somewhere between 16 and 28 walked into year two with a smaller check than the one they were promised on day one. Because FIU (like every ABA school) grades on a mandatory curve, a scholarship condition tied to a GPA cutoff is a condition tied to relative class rank, not just personal effort — a portion of any entering cohort will fall below almost any cutoff by the mechanics of the curve alone, which is exactly why this kind of retention data exists as a required disclosure in the first place.
The pack does not specify FIU's exact renewal GPA threshold, how it's calculated relative to the curve, or whether it varies by scholarship tier — that's a detail every admitted student holding a conditional offer should get in writing from FIU's financial aid office before enrolling, not rely on ranking-site summaries. If you're comparing a conditional offer here against another school's, the general mechanics of how to negotiate and stress-test a scholarship letter — asking for the exact renewal formula, whether it's a hard GPA number or a percentile band, and what happens if you're a fraction of a point short — are covered in general terms at /law-school-scholarship-negotiation; apply that framework specifically to FIU's 17-23% historical reduction rate rather than to a generic assumption.
The honest summary: more than half of FIU's full-time class gets some grant money, the typical award is a partial-tuition amount rather than a full ride for most recipients, and if your offer is conditional, FIU's own three-year track record says there's a meaningfully non-trivial chance — not a remote one — that the award shrinks after 1L year. Budget your first-year finances as if the second- and third-year number could be lower than what's printed in your acceptance letter, and ask FIU directly for the renewal terms before you sign anything.
FIU Law does place graduates into 501+ attorney Big Law firms — 25 of its most recent graduating class of 157, or 15.9% — but the school's more defining strength, backed by its own numbers, is a Florida-rooted pipeline into small-and-mid-size firms, state government, and public interest work, anchored by the best bar passage record among Florida's law schools.
Look at where the class actually lands by firm size. Of the reported employed graduates, 31 went to firms of 1-10 attorneys and 20 to firms of 11-25 attorneys — together the largest single concentration of the class, well over 50 graduates in small-firm practice. Mid-size firms account for a smaller slice: 5 graduates at firms of 26-50 attorneys, 3 at 51-100, and 2 at 101-250. The 251-500 attorney band picked up 2 graduates. Then, at the very top of the market, 501+ attorney firms — the Big Law category — hired 25 graduates, making it FIU's second-largest single firm-size bucket after the smallest firms. In other words, if you enroll at FIU, the modal outcome is a small or mid-size Florida firm, but a meaningful minority — about one in six graduates — does reach the 501+ tier that most applicants mean when they say "Big Law."
Government and public interest, taken together, form another major channel: 20 graduates (12.7%) went into government positions and 21 (13.4%) into public interest roles, meaning roughly one in four graduates entered public-sector legal work. Clerkships are a minor pathway by comparison — the pack reports just 1 federal clerkship and 1 state/local clerkship in this cohort, so judicial clerking is not a significant part of FIU's outcomes profile the way it might be at a clerkship-focused national school. Business and industry roles absorbed another 12 graduates.
The employment data pack also flags Florida itself as FIU's largest employment category — consistent with FIU's identity as the only public law school in South Florida, built to serve the regional market rather than compete nationally for lateral Big Law placement. Overall, 93% of the class landed in a job that was either bar-passage-required or JD-advantage, a strong headline placement figure regardless of firm size or sector.
Where FIU genuinely separates itself from Florida peers is bar passage, and this is the number that most directly supports its Florida-market strength. FIU's first-time bar passage rate was 85.9%, against a state average of 75.93% for the same administration — a double-digit gap above the state mean. Its ultimate (two-year) passage rate climbs to 93.59%. This isn't a one-time result: FIU reports the highest July bar exam passage rate in Florida for eight consecutive years, 2015 through 2023, and ranked in the top three among all Florida law schools in every bar administration since July 2015 — finishing first in 13 of those 19 administrations. For a school whose graduates overwhelmingly practice in Florida, a bar-passage track record like that functions as the real credential: it's the thing that gets a graduate licensed and working in the market FIU is built to serve, more reliably than most of its in-state competitors manage.
Put plainly: FIU is not primarily a Big Law feeder, and applicants who need a 501+ firm outcome as their baseline expectation should treat the 15.9% figure as a real but minority outcome, not the median result. The stronger, more representative story in FIU's own data is a graduate working in a Florida small or mid-size firm, a state or local government office, or a public interest organization, backed by the highest bar passage rate of any law school in the state for the better part of a decade.
FIU College of Law builds its practical training around eight in-house clinics, several hundred field placements and simulation-course seats, and a first-year course requirement most law schools leave as an elective: An Introduction to International and Comparative Law, which every incoming JD student must take.
FIU runs eight named clinics: the Carlos A. Costa Immigration and Human Rights Clinic, the Community Development Clinic, the Consumer Bankruptcy Clinic, the Family Law and Education Advocacy Clinic, the H.E.L.P. (Health, Ethics, Law and Policy) Clinic, the Education Advocacy Clinic, the Immigrant Children's Justice Clinic, and the Investor Advocacy Clinic. Per the school's most recent ABA reporting, 72 of 152 available clinic seats were filled — a signal that clinic capacity exists beyond current enrollment, so admitted students weighing hands-on training can reasonably expect access rather than a lottery.
Beyond the clinics, FIU reports 238 filled field-placement slots and 663 filled simulation-course seats in the same reporting period, plus 39 co-curricular offerings (competitions, journals, and similar programs). Together these numbers describe a curriculum where supervised fieldwork and simulation courses, not just clinics, carry a large share of the practical-skills load — useful context if your interest in FIU is driven by wanting courtroom- or transaction-adjacent experience rather than clinic work specifically.
Every 1L takes An Introduction to International and Comparative Law as a required course, an unusual choice that reflects FIU's identity as Miami's public law school and its stated International and Comparative Law Program concentration. Students who want to specialize further can also pursue certificates in Intellectual Property or Environmental & Natural Resources Law, or a Certificate in Military Law. On top of the JD, FIU offers a JM, an LLM, an MSLT (Master of Science in the Law of Technology), a paralegal studies program, and graduate certificates.
FIU supports two student-edited journals, the FIU Law Review and the FIU World Arbitration and Mediation Review, plus a moot court team — meaning students who want appellate-writing or oral-advocacy credentials have more than one outlet to pursue them.
FIU College of Law exists because Florida's legislature, under Governor Jeb Bush, created it in 2000 — the culmination of a push that began back in 1986, when FIU president Modesto A. Maidique first sought a public law school for South Florida and ran into resistance from the state Board of Regents. The 2000 legislative action also re-established a law school at Florida A&M University in the same push.
Leonard Strickman became the college's inaugural dean, and the school opened its doors in August 2002. Provisional ABA accreditation followed in August 2004, full accreditation came on December 1, 2006, and the first class graduated on May 22, 2005 — with graduate Rosann Spiegel briefly giving FIU a 100% bar-passage rate nationally. The school's home building, Rafael Díaz-Ballart Hall, designed by architect Robert A.M. Stern, was dedicated on February 10, 2007.
In 2009, Alexander Acosta took over as dean, leading the college until 2017, when he departed to become U.S. Secretary of Labor. Today FIU remains the only public law school in South Florida and is described as the third highest-ranked law school in Florida — an identity built, within roughly two decades, on rapid accreditation, a landmark Stern-designed home, and a bar-passage record that became central to how the school describes itself.
FIU's most recently reported entering class sits on an LSAT band of 159 (25th percentile), 161 (median), and 162 (75th percentile), with GPAs of 3.66, 3.80, and 3.89 at those same points. A 161 LSAT and a 3.80 GPA put you at FIU's reported medians — the two single numbers the school itself uses as planning anchors, not a guarantee of any particular outcome. Scoring at or above the 75th percentile (162 LSAT / 3.89 GPA) puts you in the strongest quartile of the numbers FIU reports; scoring at or below the 25th (159 LSAT / 3.66 GPA) puts you in the softer quartile, where the rest of an application typically has to work harder.
FIU received about 3,100 applications and extended roughly 582 offers for its most recent cycle, an 18.77% offer rate, seating a class of 175 (143 full-time, 32 part-time). That volume matters for how you should read your own numbers: a school admitting under one in five applicants is not a safety option for anyone, regardless of where you sit on the LSAT/GPA bands, and the published medians should be read as where the middle of the admitted class actually landed, not as a threshold that guarantees anything.
FIU reports that 55% of students receive some grant aid, with a median full-time grant of $10,365, and a scholarship-band breakdown showing 28% of students receiving less than half-tuition support, 11% between half and full tuition, and 9% full-tuition awards. Because law school scholarships are typically calibrated to where your LSAT and GPA land relative to a school's own medians, a score at or above FIU's 75th percentile (162/3.89) is the profile most likely to be in play for the stronger half of that scholarship distribution, while a score near or below the 25th percentile is more likely to land in the smaller-award band or no award at all — though the pack does not break out award size by individual LSAT/GPA cell, so treat this as a general pattern rather than a formula. It's also worth knowing that scholarship retention is not automatic everywhere: FIU's own conditional-scholarship data show that between roughly 17% and 23% of conditionally-scholarshiped students across the three most recent entering classes had their award reduced or eliminated, typically tied to law-school GPA benchmarks — a reminder to read any conditional scholarship letter's fine print before counting on a number for all three years.
Since August 2024 the LSAT has dropped Logic Games, so the test now consists of two scored Logical Reasoning sections, one scored Reading Comprehension section, an unscored variable section, and a separate unscored writing sample submitted online. Schools consider your highest score, so if your current score sits below FIU's 25th percentile (159), a retake after a structured study block using official practice material is the standard way applicants move a few points before reapplying — see the guide's LSAT-prep spoke for the general mechanics. If you're deciding whether a marginally higher score is worth another testing cycle versus applying now, the scholarship-negotiation and application-timeline spokes lay out the trade-offs in more detail.
Roughly 3,100 people applied for FIU Law's 175 seats in the most recent reporting cycle, and only 582 of them received an offer — an acceptance rate near 18.8%. That number describes the applicant pool as a whole, not your individual chances, so the more useful exercise is lining your own LSAT and GPA up against FIU's published 25th/50th/75th percentiles: 159/161/162 on the LSAT and 3.66/3.80/3.89 on GPA. A 162 and a 3.89 sit you at or above the middle of FIU's admitted class; a 159 and 3.66 put you at the bottom quarter, where the file review (personal statement, addenda, letters) tends to carry more weight in the committee's decision.
Because FIU is a public law school inside a much larger university, and because the pack here doesn't include a published hard deadline, confirm FIU's actual application deadline and admissions timeline directly with the school before planning when to submit. If you're still building your LSAT score, remember the test has been Logic-Games-free since August 2024 and is now two scored Logical Reasoning sections plus one scored Reading Comprehension section; most people who move their score meaningfully do it through sustained practice with official material over months, not weeks (see our LSAT prep guide for the mechanics: /how-to-study-for-the-lsat).
A few concrete moves matter more than polish. First, if your GPA sits below FIU's 25th percentile because of a rough semester or an upward trend, an addendum explaining context (not excusing it) gives the committee something to weigh alongside the raw number — admissions committees read trend lines, not just cumulative GPAs. Second, if your LSAT is below 159, consider whether a retake before submitting is realistic; schools consider your highest score, so there's rarely a downside to another sitting if your timeline allows it. Third, because FIU draws heavily from South Florida and the wider state, a personal statement that connects your interest in law to a plausible Florida practice trajectory (even loosely) tends to read as more coherent to a committee evaluating regional fit alongside numbers — though this is a framing point, not a formula.
Finally, sequence your applications around your strongest test date and your recommenders' availability rather than an arbitrary 'early' target — a complete, well-supported file submitted a few weeks after opening usually beats a rushed one filed on day one. For a fuller walkthrough of building out a timeline across multiple schools, see /law-school-application-timeline.
More than half of FIU Law students — 55% — receive some form of grant, with a median award among grant recipients of $10,365. But that same dataset shows a real retention risk: across the three most recent entering cohorts, between 17.3% and 22.8% of students holding conditional scholarships had them reduced after their first year. In the most recent reported year, 91 students entered with conditional awards and 16 of them (17.6%) saw a reduction. That pattern is a direct product of the law school curve: conditional scholarships almost always come with a GPA-retention clause, and because only a set share of any class can land in the top of the curve, a meaningful slice of scholarship recipients each year fall below the line and lose part of their award — this is standard across most conditional-scholarship programs, not unique to FIU, but FIU's own numbers show it happening to roughly one in five to one in four recipients most years.
On the award side, FIU's reported distribution shows 28% of students receiving a grant covering less than half of tuition, 11% receiving half-to-full coverage, and 9% receiving a full-tuition award. If you're offered a conditional scholarship, the single most important number to get from the school before you enroll is the exact GPA threshold required to keep it — and to ask how many students in recent cohorts actually cleared that bar. Given FIU's own retention data, negotiating for the most generous unconditional (non-GPA-contingent) award you can get, rather than the largest headline number, is often the financially safer move. For the mechanics of that conversation, see /law-school-scholarship-negotiation.
On raw cost, this pack does not carry a reliable published tuition or total cost-of-attendance figure for FIU — the only cost data point available is an estimated off-campus living cost of $33,176 per year, which covers housing and living expenses but not tuition itself. Anyone building a real budget should pull FIU's current published tuition and fees directly from the school before committing, rather than relying on any secondhand figure.
On the borrowing side, the federal rules changed meaningfully for new borrowers: Grad PLUS loans are gone, and the Direct Unsubsidized loan available to law students is capped at $50,000 per year and $200,000 in aggregate (within an overall $257,500 lifetime federal cap), at a rate near 8.07% for 2026-27 plus roughly a 1% origination fee. If FIU's real cost of attendance — tuition plus that $33,176 living estimate — exceeds what federal loans and your grant can cover, the gap has to come from savings, private loans, or a larger scholarship, so it's worth running that math with a real tuition figure in hand before you commit. New borrowers also now choose between a Standard repayment plan (which earns no PSLF credit) and the income-driven Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP); anyone planning toward Public Service Loan Forgiveness — relevant here given that roughly a quarter of FIU's graduates go into government or public-interest work — needs to affirmatively enroll in RAP rather than defaulting to Standard. See /law-school-loans-and-pslf for the full mechanics.
FIU Law is worth it most clearly for someone committed to practicing in Florida — especially South Florida — who values a strong, consistent bar-passage record over a shot at a national Big Law career. FIU graduates posted an 85.9% first-time bar passage rate against a 75.93% state average, and an ultimate pass rate of 93.59% within two years of graduation. The school reports the highest July bar-passage rate in Florida for eight consecutive years (2015–2023) and top-three finishes in nearly every administration since 2015. For a prospective student weighing risk, that track record materially lowers one of the biggest financial risks in legal education — failing to pass the bar after already paying for three years of tuition.
On employment, 93% of graduates land in jobs that are bar-required or JD-advantage roles within the reporting window, and the employer data skews heavily toward Florida itself — the pack identifies "Florida" as the largest single employment category, consistent with FIU's role as the only public law school in South Florida. Within that outcome, the distribution matters: 25 graduates (15.9% of the class) went to firms of 501+ attorneys — the Big Law tier where salaries cluster near the high end of the profession's bimodal salary curve described in the shared labor-market data — while the much larger share of the class spread across small and mid-sized firms (31 graduates at firms of 1–10 attorneys, 20 at 11–25, smaller numbers above that), 20 graduates (12.7%) in government, 21 (13.4%) in public interest, and a small number of clerkships (one federal, one state/local).
That shape tells you who this degree serves best. If your goal is a guaranteed national Big Law trajectory, FIU does place some graduates there — nearly one in six — but the bulk of the class builds careers in Florida's small-firm, government, and public-interest markets, not in New York or DC megafirms. If your career plan is regional (Miami-Dade and South Florida legal markets, Florida state government, Florida-based public interest work), FIU's local bar dominance, its Florida-heavy employer network, and its status as the only public law school in South Florida are real, usable advantages rather than marketing language. If your plan requires a specific national firm market or a T14-level credential for a non-Florida judicial clerkship pipeline, the pack's clerkship numbers (one federal, one state/local placement) suggest that path is uncommon here, not impossible.
The socioeconomic angle matters too: with 55% of students receiving some grant and a public, in-state tuition structure (even though the exact figure isn't reliably captured in current data), FIU can be a more accessible route into a legal career for a Florida resident who might not have unlimited resources — provided they go in target ing Florida practice rather than a national market the employment data doesn't strongly support. Anyone running this calculation seriously should also stress-test it against their own expected debt load and realistic starting salary rather than the highest-profile outcome; the general framework for that comparison is at /is-law-school-worth-it.