Drexel's Thomas R. Kline School of Law was founded only two decades ago, and its short history explains almost everything distinctive about how it operates today. The school opened in 2006 as Drexel University College of Law, admitting its inaugural class of 183 students on August 16, 2006, with a median GPA of 3.4 and a median LSAT of 156. It was the sixth law school in the Philadelphia metro area and, notably, the first new law school opened by a doctoral university anywhere in the country in 25 years. The opening itself was improvised: construction delays, caused in part by Hurricane Katrina–related material shortages, forced the first classes to be held across Drexel's Main Campus, the Jenkins Law Library, and the auditorium of the National Constitution Center rather than in a dedicated law building. The school received provisional ABA accreditation in February 2008 and full accreditation in August 2011 — meaning every graduate today comes from a school that has now been fully accredited for well over a decade, even though the institution itself is barely two decades old.
The school has been renamed twice, and both renamings track major gifts. In May 2008 it became the Earle Mack School of Law after a $15 million donation from alumnus Earle I. Mack. In 2013 it reverted to the more generic Drexel University School of Law specifically to reopen the naming rights. That decision paid off in 2014, when trial lawyer Thomas R. Kline gave $50 million — the largest gift in Drexel University's history and, per the school's own account, the fifth-largest gift ever made to a law school. The Kline gift is not just a naming-rights transaction: it included a historic Horace Trumbauer-designed building, which became home to the Kline Institute of Trial Advocacy (KITA). For prospective students, KITA is the tangible, on-campus legacy of that gift — a dedicated advocacy institute housed in a landmark building, rather than a line item in a general endowment.
Drexel Law's other defining feature is cooperative education — full-time, extended legal work placements built into the JD curriculum rather than offered as a summer-only add-on. Drexel was only the second law school in the country to run a co-op program, following Northeastern University's model, and the first co-op cycle launched in September 2007 with more than ninety participating organizations. This is not a marginal option: since the class entering in 2014, every Drexel JD student has been required to complete at least one co-op or clinical placement, on top of 50 hours of pro bono service, before graduation. In practice terms, the school's most recent reporting shows field placements filled by 120 students, alongside 73 students in the 80 available law clinic slots and 318 enrollments in simulation courses — a volume of experiential seats that is large relative to a JD class size of 181, and that reflects a curriculum built around the co-op requirement rather than around it as an elective extra.
Two smaller but concrete features round out the identity: every student is automatically enrolled in the Philadelphia Bar Association's Young Lawyers Section, and every student gets automatic membership in the Jenkins Law Library — the same library that hosted Drexel Law's first classes back in 2006. The school also publishes the Drexel Law Review and offers named concentrations in business and entrepreneurship law, criminal law, health law, and intellectual property law, giving students a way to build a co-op and clinical record around a declared area of focus rather than accumulating placements at random.
Taken together, the founding story and the co-op mandate answer the question of what kind of legal education Drexel is actually selling. It is not a century-old institution trading on longstanding faculty reputation or an alumni network built over generations — it is a 2006-founded school whose defining bet, baked into ABA-accreditation-era curriculum design from day one, was that a required rotation of full-time legal work (co-op) plus clinics and simulation courses would produce more practice-ready graduates than a traditional doctrinal-only track. The Kline gift then layered a dedicated trial-advocacy institute on top of that practical-training identity. An applicant deciding between Drexel and a more traditional peer school in the same market — Temple, Villanova, Rutgers, or Widener, for instance — is choosing, in part, between that co-op-centered model and a more conventional summer-associate/clinic structure; the required co-op placement and pro bono hours are structural features of the Drexel degree, not optional enrichment.
Drexel admitted about 29.6% of applicants in the most recent reporting cycle — 797 offers out of 2,689 applications, yielding a class of 181 students. That figure describes the overall applicant pool, not any individual applicant's chances, and Drexel does not publish — nor does this guide infer — anything about how an individual's odds shift with a given number. What the pack does support is a clear picture of where the enrolled class actually sits on the LSAT and GPA scales, which is the useful planning tool.
The enrolled class's LSAT splits are 154 at the 25th percentile, 160 at the median, and 162 at the 75th percentile. GPA runs 3.35 at the 25th percentile, 3.76 at the median, and 3.87 at the 75th percentile. Read as planning anchors rather than predictions: an applicant with a 160 LSAT and roughly a 3.76 GPA sits at Drexel's midpoint on both measures; someone at a 162/3.87 is at Drexel's 75th-percentile applicant on both metrics; someone at 154/3.35 is at the 25th percentile on both. Applicants whose numbers fall outside this 25th-75th band aren't told anything here about their prospects — only where they'd stand relative to Drexel's own recently enrolled cohort if admitted.
One useful, school-specific data point for context: when Drexel Law opened in 2006, its inaugural class had a median LSAT of 156 and median GPA of 3.4. The current median LSAT of 160 and median GPA of 3.76 show a meaningfully more credentialed class than the school's first cohort — useful context for understanding how the school's academic profile has shifted since its founding, though it says nothing about future cycles.
Seventy-six percent of Drexel's most recent entering class received a grant, with a median grant among grant recipients of $28,667. Of the class, 36% received an award covering less than half of tuition, and 35% received an award covering half to full tuition; the pack shows 0% in a full-tuition band. Because scholarships at most law schools scale with LSAT and GPA relative to the entering class, an applicant whose numbers sit above Drexel's medians is generally a stronger candidate for the upper end of that award range, while an applicant near or below the 25th percentile is more likely to land in the smaller-award band or receive no award at all — again, a statement about award distribution, not admission odds.
Yes, and the retention data is worth reading closely before counting on a scholarship's full value for three years. In the class entering in 2024-25, of the students on conditional scholarships, 4 out of 30 had their award reduced (13.3%). In the 2023-24 entering class, 7 of 31 lost some scholarship value (22.6%), and in 2022-23, 12 of 37 did (32.4%). That reduction rate has been trending down across the three most recent cohorts reported, but it has not been zero in any of them — meaning a meaningful minority of conditionally-scholarshipped students in each recent class ended up with less aid than they started with, typically tied to a GPA or class-rank condition. Anyone comparing a Drexel scholarship offer against another school's should ask specifically what GPA threshold attaches to it and weigh that against this multi-year reduction history rather than assuming the first-year number holds for all three years.
Some Drexel scholarships are conditional — tied to maintaining a set law-school GPA — and the school's own ABA-reported retention data show that a real, though shrinking, share of conditional scholarship recipients lose part of their award after 1L year. If you're admitted with a scholarship, the number that matters isn't just the dollar figure in your offer letter; it's the GPA floor attached to it and how many of your entering classmates have historically kept their money.
Drexel reports three years of conditional-scholarship data. Of the 37 students who entered with conditional scholarships in 2022-23, 12 had their awards reduced — a 32.4% reduction rate. The following year, 31 entered and 7 lost part of their scholarship (22.6%). Most recently, for the 2024-25 entering cohort, 30 students held conditional scholarships and only 4 saw a reduction, a rate of 13.3%. That's a meaningful three-year decline — from roughly one in three conditional recipients losing money down to about one in eight — and it's worth taking seriously in both directions: as a sign the risk has eased recently, and as a reminder that the risk has not disappeared.
Why would that trend be moving in a good direction? The data pack doesn't say, and any explanation would be speculation, so treat the improvement as an observed pattern rather than a guaranteed continuation. What you can say with confidence is that, across all three reported years, a non-trivial share of Drexel's conditional-scholarship holders ended up with a smaller award than they started with — meaning a bigger tuition bill for 2L and 3L year at a school whose full-time tuition is $57,000 plus roughly $1,850 in fees before living costs.
How the money is actually distributed. Drexel reports that 76% of its students receive some grant aid, and the median grant among full-time recipients is $28,667 — enough to cover roughly half of tuition, not all of it. Looking at the distribution: 36% of students receive an award covering less than half of tuition, and 35% receive one covering between half and full tuition. Notably, 0% of students report receiving a full-tuition award, based on this data pack. That tells you two things at once: financial aid is broadly distributed here — three-quarters of the class gets something — but the awards cluster in the partial range, and no one in the reported data is attending tuition-free.
What this means for your decision. If Drexel offers you a conditional scholarship, ask directly (before you commit) what GPA percentile or numeric cutoff triggers a reduction, and ask whether that cutoff is tied to a mandatory curve. Given that roughly a third of one recent cohort and now roughly one-eighth of the most recent cohort lost money, build your own budget around the possibility that your award could shrink after year one — not around the assumption that it won't. With Drexel's total estimated cost of attendance around $86,872 for a full-time student (tuition, fees, and living costs), a scholarship reduction in year two or three is not a rounding error; it can mean tens of thousands of additional dollars in loans over the remaining two years.
The practical move, covered in more depth in our scholarship-negotiation guide, is to get the retention terms in writing, model your budget under both the full-scholarship and reduced-scholarship scenarios, and treat the 13.3%-to-32.4% historical reduction range at Drexel as the realistic band of outcomes for a conditional award here — not the best case.
Illustrative: 3-year borrowing at the 2026-27 federal rate (8.07%) over 10 years; your figures depend on your offer and salary.
Yes, but in specific and unevenly distributed ways: Drexel places a real, double-digit share of its graduating class into large firms and a meaningful cluster into state and local clerkships, while federal clerkships and the largest firm tiers remain the exception rather than the rule. Of the 133 graduates in the reporting class, 89.5% were employed in jobs that were full-time, long-term, and either bar-required or J.D.-advantage — a solid overall placement figure, but one that includes a wide range of job types, from Big Law to small firms to business roles.
Big Law. Fifteen graduates — 11.3% of the class — landed at firms of 501 or more attorneys, the size category most people mean when they say "Big Law." That's a real outcome, not a rounding error, and it puts Drexel on the map for large-firm hiring in the Philadelphia market. But it's also worth reading the rest of the firm-size distribution to understand where the other outcomes land: 15 graduates went to firms of 1-10 attorneys, 5 to firms of 11-25, 8 to firms of 26-50, 11 to firms of 51-100, 12 to firms of 101-250, and 6 to firms of 251-500. In other words, the class splits across the entire firm-size spectrum rather than clustering at either extreme — a much larger share of graduates end up at small and mid-size firms than at the 501+ tier, which matches the national pattern of law placement being bimodal but tells you Drexel's center of gravity sits below the Big Law peak, not at it.
Clerkships. The pack reports 25 graduates in state and local clerkships and zero in federal clerkships for this cohort. A state or local clerkship is a legitimate, often excellent credential — particularly in Pennsylvania courts, given Drexel's Philadelphia location — but the complete absence of federal clerkships in this reporting year is notable if a federal clerkship specifically is part of your career plan. Federal clerkships are also generally rarer and more competitive across all but a handful of schools nationally, so a single-year zero shouldn't be read as a permanent verdict on Drexel's capacity to produce federal clerks, but it is the number this data pack actually shows, and applicants who want that specific outcome should ask the school directly for a longer multi-year clerkship history.
Government and public interest. Eleven graduates (8.3%) went into government roles and 9 (6.8%) into public interest positions — together accounting for roughly 15% of the class. Five graduates (a smaller slice) went into business and industry roles. The pack identifies Pennsylvania as the largest single employment jurisdiction for graduates, which tracks with Drexel's Philadelphia location and suggests the school's strongest institutional pull is regional rather than national — a relevant consideration if your career plan depends on practicing outside the mid-Atlantic.
Bar passage, which underlies all of the above. Drexel's first-time bar passage rate was 84.21%, compared to a state average of 79.5% for the same testing period — meaning Drexel graduates outperformed the statewide average on their first attempt. The two-year ultimate pass rate, which captures graduates who needed a second attempt, reached 91.50%. A strong ultimate pass rate matters because employment outcomes and clerkship offers are frequently contingent on bar admission, and a school whose graduates clear that bar at a high ultimate rate is delivering on the basic credential Big Law, government, and clerkship employers all require before a hire can actually start work.
Putting it together. If your goal is Big Law, Drexel's 11.3% placement rate into 501+ firms means it happens, but it is not the median outcome for a Drexel graduate — most of the class ends up at firms below that size tier, in government, in public interest, or in business roles. If your goal is a state or local judicial clerkship, Drexel has a track record; if it's specifically a federal clerkship, this year's data shows none, and that's worth probing further with the school before you build a career plan around it. And whatever path you're aiming for, Drexel's above-average first-time bar passage rate is a genuine structural advantage, since bar failure — not lack of employer interest — is often what actually derails a graduate's first job.
Yes — Drexel's most recent first-time bar passage rate of 84.21% ran nearly five points ahead of the Pennsylvania state average of 79.5% for the same cycle, and the school's two-year ultimate passage rate climbed to 91.50%.
That gap matters because Drexel draws from a class whose LSAT and GPA numbers sit in a middle band nationally — a 25th/50th/75th LSAT of 154/160/162 and GPA of 3.35/3.76/3.87 — rather than from the very top of the applicant pool. Outperforming the state average with that entering profile suggests the school's academic-support and bar-prep infrastructure is doing real work between matriculation and the bar exam, not simply admitting students who were always going to pass.
The two-year ultimate rate of 91.50% is the number worth anchoring on if you're trying to gauge your own odds of eventually being licensed, since it captures graduates who needed a second attempt in addition to those who passed on the first try. A first-time rate in the low-to-mid 80s paired with an ultimate rate above 90% is a pattern typical of schools where most graduates clear the bar within their first year or two of trying, even if not everyone clears it on the first sitting.
What the pack does not give us is a multi-year trend line, a breakdown by UBE jurisdiction versus Pennsylvania-specific takers, or how Drexel's rate compares to its named Philadelphia-area peers (Temple, Penn, Villanova, Rutgers, Widener) in the same cycle — so treat this as a single, favorable snapshot rather than a guaranteed trajectory. Applicants weighing Drexel against those peer schools should ask directly for multi-year first-time and ultimate bar data before assuming the gap over the state average is stable year to year.
The Kline Institute of Trial Advocacy (KITA) is Drexel's dedicated trial-skills center, housed in the historic Horace Trumbauer-designed building that came to the school as part of a $50 million gift from trial lawyer Thomas R. Kline in 2014 — the largest single gift in Drexel's history and, at the time, the fifth-largest gift ever made to a law school. The school itself was renamed the Thomas R. Kline School of Law in recognition of that donation.
What that gift bought, structurally, is a purpose-built home for advocacy training rather than a repurposed classroom — the Trumbauer building's architectural pedigree is real and documented, but the pack does not provide details on named courtrooms, faculty directors, competition records, or KITA's specific curricular offerings beyond its existence as a center. So the honest answer to whether the building translates into courtroom skill is that the physical and financial commitment is substantial and verifiable, while the outcomes evidence has to come from elsewhere in the record.
The strongest outcome-adjacent data point in the pack is clerkship placement: 25 of Drexel's most recent graduating class of 133 went into state and local clerkships, a meaningful share of a relatively small graduating cohort, though the pack reports zero federal clerkships for that class. State and local clerkships are themselves a strong proxy for practical courtroom readiness, since they place new graduates directly inside working trial and appellate courts.
Drexel's broader practical-training identity also predates KITA: the school launched the second law-school cooperative education (co-op) program in the country, after Northeastern, with its first cycle in September 2007 drawing more than ninety participating organizations. Since the class entering 2014, every student has been required to complete at least one co-op or clinical placement plus 50 hours of pro bono service, and all students receive automatic membership in the Philadelphia Bar Association's Young Lawyers Section and the Jenkins Law Library. Taken together, KITA sits inside a school-wide structure that pushes every student toward supervised practical experience before graduation, even where the pack doesn't let us verify KITA's specific trial-team results or bar-competition history.
Drexel makes 80 law clinic slots available, of which 73 were filled, alongside 120 filled field placements and 318 filled simulation-course seats in the most recent reporting period — a substantial volume of hands-on training relative to a total JD enrollment of 461 students. The pack does not name the individual clinics, so applicants should ask directly which practice areas those 73 filled clinic seats cover.
The scale here is worth putting in context: with 128 JD degrees typically awarded per graduating class, having 120 filled field placements and 318 filled simulation seats across the student body means most students are passing through more than one practical experience before graduation, not just satisfying a single-course requirement. That volume aligns with Drexel's structural requirement, in place since the class entering 2014, that every student complete at least one co-op or clinical placement plus 50 hours of pro bono service — meaning the field-placement and clinic numbers aren't optional enrichment but a floor everyone crosses.
Drexel's co-op program is the distinctive engine behind these figures: launched in 2007 as the second law-school cooperative education program in the country (after Northeastern), it places students with outside organizations for extended, credit-bearing practical work rather than the shorter clinical rotations typical elsewhere. The pack lists four co-curricular offerings on top of the clinics, placements, and simulations, though it does not specify what those four are.
On outcomes, 89.5% of graduates were employed in full-time, long-term bar-passage-required or JD-advantage roles — a figure consistent with a curriculum built around sustained practical placements rather than classroom theory alone. Employment by firm size shows the practical training feeding a genuinely mixed range of outcomes: 15 graduates (11.3%) went to firms of 501-plus attorneys, but the largest concentrations sit in small and mid-sized firms — 15 graduates at firms of 1-10 attorneys, 11 at firms of 51-100, and 12 at firms of 101-250 — alongside 11 graduates in government and 9 in public interest roles. That distribution suggests the clinics, field placements, and co-op program are training students for the kind of small-to-midsize-firm and public-sector practice where most of the class actually lands, not primarily as a pipeline into the largest firms.
What the pack doesn't specify is which clinics exist by name, how simulation courses map onto specific practice areas, or bar-passage/employment outcomes broken out by which experiential track a student completed — so treat the volume numbers as evidence of scale and required practical exposure, not as proof of outcomes tied to any one program.
Drexel's most recently reported entering class shows an LSAT range of 154 at the 25th percentile, 160 at the median, and 162 at the 75th percentile, paired with GPAs of 3.35, 3.76, and 3.87 at those same marks. Read these as planning anchors, not as a probability calculator: a 160 tells you that half of the students Drexel actually enrolled scored at or above that mark and half scored below it, while a 162 places you in the top quarter of the class on the LSAT axis alone. Neither number predicts your outcome — Drexel's admitted class of 797 offers out of 2,689 applications (a reported acceptance rate near 30%) also reflects GPA, writing sample, letters, and softs that a single score can't capture.
What's changed is the test itself. Since August 2024, the LSAT has dropped Logic Games entirely, leaving two scored Logical Reasoning sections, one scored Reading Comprehension section, and one unscored experimental section, plus a separate unscored, online-proctored Argumentative Writing sample submitted apart from test day. If you're aiming to move from a 154 toward Drexel's 160 median or its 162 75th-percentile mark, that shift now happens almost entirely through Logical Reasoning and Reading Comprehension drills rather than diagramming games — most people who gain several points do it over a few months of disciplined work with official released material, not through short-notice cramming. For a structured plan on how to build that kind of study runway, see our LSAT prep guide at /how-to-study-for-the-lsat.
Because law schools nationally are required to consider an applicant's highest LSAT score, a retake that pushes you from below Drexel's 25th percentile to at or above its median can matter more for how a file reads than almost any other single input — again, as a positioning signal against Drexel's own published bands, not as a guarantee. If your GPA already sits near or above Drexel's 3.76 median, a rising LSAT trajectory (even one still below 160) can round out an application in a way raw numbers alone don't show. Conversely, if your GPA sits below the 3.35 25th-percentile mark, a stronger LSAT — comfortably at or above 162 — is one of the more direct ways to offset that on paper. Neither move buys admission; it changes where your numbers land relative to the class Drexel actually seated.
Drexel reports an acceptance rate near 30%, drawn from 797 offers out of 2,689 applications for a class that ultimately enrolled 181 students — a large applicant pool relative to seat count, which makes the timing of your file, not just its contents, a meaningful variable. The pack does not list Drexel's specific application deadline or fee, so treat any date you find elsewhere as needing direct confirmation on Drexel's admissions page before you build a submission calendar around it.
The pack does not specify whether Drexel reviews applications on a rolling basis, but seats and scholarship dollars are finite at any school, so an application reviewed earlier in the cycle is generally competing against a shallower pool than one reviewed later. With roughly 2,689 applicants chasing 181 seats, submitting a complete file — with LSAT score, transcripts, letters, and personal statement together rather than arriving piecemeal — ensures the file is read in full rather than in pieces. For a month-by-month build of that early-cycle strategy, see /law-school-application-timeline.
Because a meaningful share of Drexel's admitted students also receive conditional scholarship offers rather than unconditional grants (more on that in the financing section below), timing matters as well: applicants generally have more runway to negotiate or compare offers against other schools before enrollment deposits are due elsewhere. If Drexel is one of several schools on your list, treat any scholarship offer as a starting point rather than a final number — for the mechanics of comparing and negotiating aid packages across schools, see /law-school-scholarship-negotiation.
One more timing consideration follows from the numbers themselves: because Drexel's LSAT median of 160 and GPA median of 3.76 represent applicants who were already competitive, a file that arrives below those medians benefits disproportionately from every other component being as strong and as early as possible — a compelling narrative in the personal statement, specific letters rather than generic ones, and any addendum needed to contextualize a score or transcript gap. None of this changes what your numbers are, but it changes how fully your file gets to make its case before the class fills.
Drexel's estimated full cost of attendance runs $86,872 for a year, built from $57,000 in tuition, $1,850 in fees, and $28,022 in estimated off-campus living costs — but the sticker price is not what most students actually pay. 76% of Drexel's students receive some grant aid, with a median grant of $28,667, which knocks a meaningful chunk off that headline number for most of the class. Even so, Drexel's own aid distribution shows the range is wide: 36% of grant recipients get less than half tuition covered, 35% get between half and full tuition, and the pack shows no students in the full-tuition band — so a grant letter needs to be read as a specific dollar figure against your specific budget, not assumed to land in any particular tier.
The harder number to plan around is scholarship durability. Drexel's own reporting on conditional scholarships shows real attrition: of the 30 students entering in 2024-25 with conditional awards, 4 (13.3%) had their scholarship reduced; the year before, 7 of 31 (22.6%) lost value; and in 2022-23, 12 of 37 (32.4%) did. If your offer carries a GPA-based renewal condition, that condition is not a formality — treat the stated minimum GPA as a real cliff, model your budget assuming you might land at or near it, and ask Drexel directly what percentage of students historically retain full value versus step down. That negotiation conversation, including how to ask for better or clearer terms before you commit, is covered at /law-school-scholarship-negotiation.
On the borrowing side, the federal lending landscape for law students changes in a way every incoming class needs to plan around. As of the 2026-27 cycle, Grad PLUS loans have been eliminated for new borrowers, and law — classified as a professional program — is capped at $50,000 in federal Direct Unsubsidized loans per year and $200,000 in aggregate, against a $257,500 lifetime federal borrowing ceiling, at a rate near 8.07% plus roughly a 1.057% origination fee. Against Drexel's own $86,872 annual cost estimate, a student without substantial grant aid could see a real gap between what federal loans cover and what a year actually costs — a gap historically filled by private loans, savings, or added scholarship negotiation, since Grad PLUS is no longer there to cover the difference automatically. Verify current caps and rates directly before finalizing any borrowing plan, since these figures are subject to change; general mechanics are covered at /law-school-loans-and-pslf.
Repayment structure matters just as much as the borrowing itself. New federal borrowers currently have only two repayment options: a Standard Plan, which is the automatic default and earns zero credit toward Public Service Loan Forgiveness, and the Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP), an income-driven option that must be actively elected. If your post-Drexel plan involves government or nonprofit work with an eye toward PSLF's ten-year forgiveness track, defaulting into Standard repayment without switching to RAP would quietly forfeit that path — a detail worth confirming with a loan servicer well before your first payment is due. For students weighing Drexel's cost against likely first-year earnings and the broader question of whether the investment pencils out, /is-law-school-worth-it walks through that framework in more depth.
There's no universal answer here — Kline Law is worth it for a specific kind of applicant: someone who wants structured, paid legal work experience built into the JD itself, plans to practice in or near Philadelphia, and can control total debt through scholarship money rather than borrowing the full cost of attendance. It's a harder case for someone chasing a national Big Law career or measuring value purely against U.S. News rank 82.
Start with the honest cost math. Kline's total estimated cost of attendance is $86,872 for a single year, built from $57,000 in tuition, $1,850 in fees, and roughly $28,022 in off-campus living costs. Under the federal lending rules that take effect July 1, 2026, Grad PLUS loans are gone for new borrowers, and Direct Unsubsidized loans are capped at $50,000 a year and $200,000 total — so a student paying sticker price at Kline would already be running into that annual ceiling and would need to close the gap with private loans, savings, or scholarship money. That makes the school's aid picture unusually important to the worth-it calculation. Kline reports that 76% of students receive some grant, with a median grant of $28,667 — enough, for many students, to bring the net price closer to $58,000 a year rather than $87,000. That's the actual lever prospective students should be pulling on, not the sticker price. (For the mechanics of negotiating and stacking that aid, see the scholarship-negotiation guide.)
But there's a catch worth flagging before anyone signs a scholarship letter: Kline's conditional-scholarship data shows real cliff risk. Of the 30 students entering in 2024-25 with conditional awards, 13.3% had their scholarship reduced; the year before, 22.6% of 31 students lost some award value; the year before that, 32.4% of 37 students did. In plain terms, roughly one in five to one in three conditionally-scholarshipped students in recent cohorts has seen their aid shrink after 1L year — usually tied to a GPA floor tied to the school's curve. Anyone accepting a conditional award here should model the worst case (full sticker price) as seriously as the best case, not just the number printed in the offer letter.
Then look at what that debt buys. Kline places 89.5% of graduates in full-time, long-term jobs that are bar-required or JD-advantage — a solid outcome by national standards. But the composition of those jobs matters more than the headline rate. Of 133 graduates, 15 (11.3%) landed at the largest firms (501+ attorneys) — the tier that anchors the roughly $215,000 first-year salary peak in the broader bimodal distribution of new-lawyer pay. The rest of the class is spread across a wide range of firm sizes: 15 in firms of 1-10 attorneys, 12 in the 101-250 range, 11 in 51-100 firms, and smaller clusters elsewhere, plus 11 graduates (8.3%) in government and 9 (6.8%) in public interest roles. Twenty-five graduates went into state or local clerkships. This is a real, functioning legal-employment pipeline — but it's overwhelmingly a regional, Pennsylvania-centered one (the school's own reporting flags Pennsylvania as its largest employment destination), not a pipeline built primarily around national Big Law placement. If the goal is specifically a large-firm associate track, an 11.3% capture rate is the number to sit with, not the 89.5% overall placement figure, which includes many jobs paying well below the six-figure peak.
The co-op program is Kline's actual differentiator, and it changes the return-on-investment conversation. Founded in 2006 as the second law school in the country (after Northeastern) to build cooperative education into the JD, Kline requires students to complete at least one co-op or clinical placement plus 50 hours of pro bono service. Combined with the school's experiential footprint — 80 clinic seats, 120 filled field placements, and 318 filled simulation-course seats reported for a class this size — a Kline JD comes with built-in, supervised practical experience as part of the required co-op and clinical structure. That has real value for students who learn by doing and who want employers to see demonstrated work product, not just a transcript. It does not, however, substitute for the kind of on-campus interview pipeline that feeds Big Law hiring at higher-ranked schools; those two forms of value (practical competence vs. elite-firm access) are different currencies, and it's worth being honest with yourself about which one you're actually trying to buy.
Bar passage is a genuine strength. Kline's first-time bar pass rate of 84.21% beats the state average of 79.5%, and the ultimate two-year pass rate reaches 91.5%. Whatever else is true about rank or placement, this suggests the school delivers on the baseline promise of getting its graduates licensed — a real and sometimes underweighted piece of the worth-it equation, since an unlicensed JD with six figures of debt is the worst-case outcome the whole analysis is trying to avoid.
Where does rank 82 fit into this? U.S. News rank is a blunt instrument, but it correlates loosely with the two things prospective students actually care about: employer recognition outside the school's home market and the size of the applicant pool competing for the same scholarship dollars. A rank-82 school with a 160 LSAT median and a 3.76 GPA median is a solid regional program, not a national brand — which is consistent with the employment data above. That's not a criticism so much as a calibration: the value proposition here is regional density (Pennsylvania placement, Philadelphia Bar Association membership built into enrollment, the Kline Institute of Trial Advocacy) rather than national mobility.
Bottom line: Kline Law is worth it if you want Philadelphia-anchored practice, value hands-on training as much as prestige, and can secure meaningful scholarship money while going in with clear eyes about conditional-award attrition risk. It's a weaker bet if the primary goal is a national Big Law track, where an 11.3% capture rate and a rank-82 position mean the odds run against that specific outcome for most of the class. For the general framework behind these trade-offs — debt caps, repayment plans, and how to run your own numbers — see the loans and PSLF guide and the broader is-law-school-worth-it framework.