Chicago-Kent is the law school of Illinois Institute of Technology, a relationship that dates to 1969, when Chicago-Kent College of Law merged with IIT. That merger is not a footnote — the school describes itself as the nation's only law school tied to a technology-focused research university, and that identity shows up in the curriculum, the research centers, and the concentrations a student can actually build a transcript around.
The clearest evidence is Chicago-Kent's own history with computing in legal education. In 1984, the school became the first law school to make the computer an integral part of the study of law — decades before "legal tech" was a recruiting buzzword at other schools. That early bet is still visible today in the Law Lab, directed by Professor Daniel Martin Katz, and in the Legal Innovation and Technology concentration, which lets students structure coursework around computational and data-driven approaches to practice rather than treating technology as an elective afterthought. The school also houses the Center for Information, Society, and Policy and the Center for Access to Justice & Technology, both of which point coursework and research toward the intersection of law, data, and access — a natural fit for a law school sitting inside a STEM-oriented university rather than a standalone or liberal-arts-affiliated one.
A Privacy Law concentration sits alongside Legal Innovation and Technology in Chicago-Kent's list of formal concentrations, which also include Intellectual Property Law, Business Law, Environmental and Energy Law, Labor and Employment Law, Litigation and Alternative Dispute Resolution, International and Comparative Law, Criminal Litigation, and Public Interest Law. For a prospective student trying to figure out whether the IIT affiliation is marketing or substance, the honest answer sits in the middle: Chicago-Kent offers the standard menu of concentrations found at most ABA-accredited schools, but layers on a technology- and data-oriented track that is unusually well-supported by named centers and a dedicated faculty lab — something schools without a technical parent university typically cannot replicate as easily.
The school also runs the Center for Information, Society, and Policy, the Institute for Science, Law and Technology, and hosts long-standing legal-technology projects including CALI (the Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction) and the Oyez Project, the online archive of U.S. Supreme Court audio and case materials. These aren't marketing lines invented for admissions materials; they are functioning institutes and projects that predate the current wave of "legal tech" enthusiasm across legal education, which lends some credibility to the claim that Chicago-Kent's tech identity is structural rather than cosmetic.
Beyond the technology angle, the IIT affiliation shows up in interdisciplinary institutes that would be harder to sustain at a freestanding law school: the Institute for Law and the Workplace, the Institute for Law and the Humanities, and the Institute on Biotechnology and the Human Future all draw on cross-university expertise, and the law school's own materials list an IIT Center for Diabetes Research and Policy among its affiliated centers — a reminder that being embedded in a research university with science, engineering, and design programs opens institutional doors that a stand-alone law school does not have.
What this means practically for an applicant is narrower than the marketing suggests. Chicago-Kent is not a joint JD-in-computer-science factory, and the data pack does not show enrollment numbers specific to the Legal Innovation and Technology concentration or joint IIT programs. What it does show is a JD curriculum offering standard joint-degree programs, an LL.M., and non-degree certificate programs, all administered by a law school whose institutional parent is a technology and engineering university rather than a liberal-arts college or a comprehensive research university with a large undergraduate base. For students who want their legal education to sit adjacent to STEM thinking — data analysis, computational methods, information policy — Chicago-Kent's IIT tie is a genuine structural advantage. For students uninterested in that intersection, it changes little: the school still offers the traditional range of clinics, journals, and concentrations found at most private, ABA-accredited law schools in a major legal market.
The practical upshot: if a prospective student's interest is squarely in privacy law, legal technology, computational law, or information policy, Chicago-Kent's tie to IIT is one of the more concrete, long-running institutional assets in its favor nationally — not merely a name on the diploma, but a set of labs, centers, and a formal concentration built around exactly that intersection. For every other practice interest, the IIT relationship is a secondary fact about the school's institutional structure rather than the reason to choose or avoid it.
Chicago-Kent's practical, clinic-heavy identity is not a recent branding exercise — it traces back more than a century, making it the second-oldest law school in Illinois after Northwestern Law. The school began in 1888 as the Chicago College of Law, founded by Judge Thomas A. Moran and Judge Joseph Bailey, who initially held classes in their own judicial chambers to prepare students for Illinois's newly instituted bar examination. From 1889 to 1892 the young school was affiliated with Lake Forest University as its legal department, before striking out on its own again.
A parallel institution, Kent College of Law, was founded by Marshall D. Ewell and named for Chancellor James Kent. Within roughly ten years, the two schools merged to form Chicago-Kent College of Law — the combination that gives the school its name today. Even in these earliest decades the school was breaking ground on access: Emma Baumann became its first woman graduate in 1891, and Ida Platt graduated with honors in 1894, becoming the first Black woman admitted to the Illinois bar. The school moved several times over the following decades, from 116 North Michigan Avenue in 1912, to 10 North Franklin Street in 1924 (its home for roughly fifty years), and eventually to its current location at 565 West Adams Street.
The defining institutional turn came in 1969, when Chicago-Kent merged with the Illinois Institute of Technology, attaching the law school to a research university built around science and engineering rather than the liberal arts. That merger set up the decades of "firsts" that now define the school's practice-ready reputation. In 1971, Chicago-Kent established its trial advocacy program, which has since become a fixture among the nation's top-ranked programs and has won the National Trial Competition in 1988, 2007, 2008, and 2015. A Moot Court Honor Society followed in 1978.
On the clinical side, Chicago-Kent established the first in-house, fee-generating law school clinic in the country in 1976 — the model that evolved into today's C-K Law Group, an in-house law firm structure used for live-client clinical training rather than a simulated exercise. Two years later, in 1978, the school pioneered a three-year legal writing and research program, the first of its kind in U.S. legal education, at a time when most schools treated legal writing as a single-semester requirement rather than a sustained, multi-year skill.
The technology "firsts" arrived next: in 1984, Chicago-Kent became the first law school to make the computer an integral part of the study of law, years ahead of the field. The school's Order of the Coif chapter was established in 1989, marking recognition of its academic standing among national peers. More recently, in 2019, Anita K. Krug was appointed dean, becoming the first woman to hold the position on a permanent basis, and she served through 2025.
Taken together, these milestones explain why Chicago-Kent markets itself on practical training rather than pure doctrine: the trial advocacy program, the three-year legal writing sequence, and the in-house clinic model are not recent additions layered onto a traditional curriculum — they are multi-decade institutional commitments, several of them literal national firsts, that predate almost every peer school's version of the same idea. For an applicant evaluating how seriously to take Chicago-Kent's "practice-ready" branding, the relevant fact is that the school was doing hands-on legal-writing and clinical training before most of the current generation of skills-focused law school reforms existed anywhere else.
Largely, yes — the C-K Law Group is a genuine in-house law firm, not a simulated classroom exercise, and the volume of students actually cycling through it backs up the school's practice-ready pitch. Chicago-Kent established the first in-house, fee-generating law school clinic in the country in 1976, and that structure survives today as the C-K Law Group, an umbrella under which students work real client matters across eight distinct clinics: the Criminal Defense Litigation Clinic, Civil Litigation Clinic, Estate Planning, Probate, and Transactional Law Clinic, Family Law Clinic, Immigration Law Clinic, Intellectual Property, Entertainment, and Entrepreneurship Law Clinic, Tax Law Clinic, and a Special Intensive Clinic.
The numbers suggest this isn't a boutique offering reserved for a lucky few. The school reports 228 clinic seats available with 212 filled, meaning the overwhelming majority of slots are used rather than left empty for lack of interest or capacity — a rough 93% fill rate. On top of that, 123 field placements were filled, sending students into outside government offices, corporate legal departments, or public interest organizations for supervised real-world experience beyond the walls of the C-K Law Group itself. Simulation courses, which are lower-stakes than live-client clinics but still built around practicing skills rather than absorbing doctrine, drew 824 enrollments — evidence that skills training extends well past the clinical program into the broader curriculum. A further 36 co-curricular offerings (competitions, journals with a practice bent, and similar programming) round out the picture of a school that structures a meaningful share of the JD experience around doing legal work rather than only reading about it.
Trial advocacy is the other leg of this claim, and it has real institutional depth behind it. Chicago-Kent's trial advocacy program dates to 1971 and has been rated among the nation's top 10 programs on a sustained basis; the school's teams have won the National Trial Competition four times — in 1988, 2007, 2008, and 2015. A Moot Court Honor Society has operated since 1978, giving appellate advocacy the same kind of institutional backbone the trial program has. Combined with Chicago-Kent's history as the first law school to build a three-year, integrated legal writing and research curriculum (adopted in 1978 and later copied widely) and the first to weave computer instruction into legal study (1984), the throughline across nearly five decades is a school that has repeatedly staked its identity on skills-first legal education rather than a purely casebook model.
Where the practice-ready claim gets a real-world test is in what graduates actually do with those skills. Chicago-Kent reports that 82.3% of graduates land in jobs that are either bar-required or JD-advantage roles — the standard measure of a JD paying off in a law-specific way. The firm-size distribution among employed graduates skews toward small and mid-sized practice: 40 graduates land at firms of 1-10 attorneys and 27 at firms of 11-25, which is exactly the kind of hands-on, generalist environment where clinical trial and transactional experience translates most directly into day-one competence. A smaller but real 12.5% of the class (29 graduates) placed into Big Law firms of 501-plus attorneys, and 18 graduates went into government roles, with 6 clerkships (1 federal, 5 state/local) rounding out the litigation-adjacent placements. None of this proves the clinical model caused any individual outcome, but it is consistent with a curriculum built to produce lawyers who can walk into small-firm and solo practice — the dominant destination for this class — and start working immediately.
On bar passage, the results are respectable but not standout: Chicago-Kent's first-time bar pass rate is 79.71%, running slightly behind the state average of 81.05%, while the ultimate pass rate within two years of graduation reaches 92.57% in the school's most recent compiled reporting. A separately reported figure — a 90.57% ultimate pass rate tied specifically to the 2021 graduating cohort — appears in the school's own bar-passage disclosures and reflects a different measurement window than the two-year ultimate figure above; applicants who want the most current single number should check Chicago-Kent's official ABA-required disclosures directly rather than rely on any one figure in isolation. What's clear across both readings is that most Chicago-Kent graduates who don't pass on the first attempt do pass on a later one, which matters more for career trajectory than the first-time number alone.
One honest caveat: the data pack does not name which specific faculty supervise each clinic or specify clinic caseloads and hours, so prospective students should confirm current staffing and course offerings directly with the school before assuming continuity year to year.
An LSAT of 161 puts you exactly at Chicago-Kent's median for the entering class; a 156 sits at the 25th percentile and a 164 at the 75th percentile. GPA runs alongside it at a 3.45/3.72/3.89 25th/50th/75th split, so an applicant near a 3.72 with a 161 is sitting squarely in the middle of Chicago-Kent's admitted range on both dimensions, while someone above both medians is positioned in the school's stronger cohort rather than merely 'competitive' — these are planning anchors, not predictions of any individual outcome.
Chicago-Kent received 2,212 applications and extended 854 offers for a reported acceptance rate of 38.61%, then enrolled 245 total students — 216 full-time and 29 part-time. That acceptance rate is a school-wide average across the full range of files reviewed; where any individual applicant's numbers sit relative to the 25th/50th/75th benchmarks above is a far more useful reference point than the topline rate itself, since a single blended percentage says nothing about how a specific LSAT/GPA combination is likely to be read.
The school accepts both the LSAT and the GRE, so applicants with a stronger quantitative or GRE testing history than LSAT history have an alternate path into the file — worth weighing against how much additional LSAT preparation would realistically move a score, a question covered in general terms at /how-to-study-for-the-lsat. For the 2026 JD cycle, Chicago-Kent has waived its application fee, which lowers the cost of applying but has no bearing on the merits of any individual file.
Scholarship exposure at Chicago-Kent is broad rather than narrow: 92% of students receive some grant aid, and the reported median grant among full-time students receiving one is $35,000 a year. Looking at how that aid is distributed, 26% of grant recipients get an award covering less than half of tuition, 62% land in the half-to-full-tuition band, and the pack reports 0% of recipients in a full-tuition band. In practical terms, the largest share of funded students at Chicago-Kent is getting somewhere between half and full tuition covered, not a token award — which makes an applicant's LSAT and GPA position relative to the 156/161/164 and 3.45/3.72/3.89 medians directly relevant to the size of scholarship offer worth pursuing or negotiating, a process covered generally at /law-school-scholarship-negotiation. The pack does not report Chicago-Kent's tuition figure or a full cost-of-attendance estimate, so any net-cost comparison should be built from the school's current published tuition and the $27,964 living-expense figure reported for students living off campus, rather than assumed.
One data point worth flagging for context rather than alarm: the pack's conditional scholarship retention fields for the last three entering classes are reported as zero across the board, meaning the data doesn't show how many scholarship recipients kept their awards after 1L year. Applicants relying on a conditional scholarship as part of their financing plan should ask the admissions office directly about the GPA threshold required to retain it, since that mechanic can matter as much as the initial award size.
Ninety-two percent of Chicago-Kent's students receive some form of grant aid, which means the sticker price is, for nearly everyone who enrolls, a starting point rather than a final number. The median grant awarded to full-time students is $35,000 a year — a figure worth anchoring on, because it tells you what a roughly median-credentialed admit can expect the school to discount off tuition before you even open a negotiation conversation.
The distribution behind that median matters more than the median itself. Chicago-Kent reports that 26% of grant recipients get an award covering less than half of tuition, while 62% land in the half-to-full-tuition band. Notably, the data pack shows 0% of students in the full-tuition-or-more band for this cohort — so while the school's Honors Scholars Program is described institutionally as offering full-tuition awards, the reported aid bands for the broader class do not show anyone landing in that top bracket in this data cycle. Practically, that means the realistic range to plan around is a grant somewhere between roughly half and all of tuition, with the median sitting at $35,000.
What you can't get from the pack is the tuition sticker price itself or a full cost-of-attendance estimate — those fields are not populated in Chicago-Kent's current reporting, so treat any tuition figure you see elsewhere as something to verify directly with the school before you build a budget around it. What the pack does give you is a concrete living-cost anchor: Chicago-Kent estimates off-campus living expenses at $27,964 per year for students budgeting independently in Chicago. That number, not tuition, is the one piece of the cost-of-attendance puzzle you can rely on from this data as fixed and current.
Putting these pieces together, the real financial question for an admitted student isn't "what does Chicago-Kent cost" in the abstract — it's "what does my specific grant offer bring my net cost down to, relative to that $27,964 living-cost floor plus whatever tuition figure the school quotes you directly." Because 92% of the class is getting a grant, and most of those grants fall in the half-to-full-tuition range, an offer letter with no scholarship attached, or one clearly below the $35,000 median, is a signal worth revisiting — both to confirm your numbers against the school's published median LSAT (161) and GPA (3.72), and to ask directly whether additional aid is available. For general tactics on how to open that conversation and what schools can and can't move on, see our scholarship-negotiation guide.
One more caution belongs here. As of the 2025-26 admissions cycle, the federal financing backdrop for law students is changing in ways that make the grant question more consequential, not less: Grad PLUS loans are being eliminated for new borrowers, and federal Direct Unsubsidized loans are capped at $50,000 a year and $200,000 in aggregate. That means students who don't cover the gap between grants and total cost through savings or scholarships may need to turn to private loans to bridge any shortfall — a real possibility given that the pack does not show tuition or full cost-of-attendance figures for Chicago-Kent, so applicants should get those numbers in writing before assuming federal loans alone will cover the balance. (See our federal loan and PSLF explainer for how the new borrowing caps and repayment plans work.)
Finally, the pack's conditional-scholarship retention fields for the last three entering classes are reported as zero across the board, which does not give a basis to describe a stacking-loss pattern (where students lose scholarships after 1L for falling below a GPA cutoff) at Chicago-Kent one way or the other — that's a fact worth confirming directly with admissions if a conditional scholarship is part of your offer, since the pack doesn't resolve whether that data means "no conditional scholarships were reduced" or "data not reported."
Big Law is a real outcome at Chicago-Kent, but it's a minority outcome: 29 of the school's graduates — 12.5% of the class — landed at firms of 501 or more attorneys, the size bracket that includes the highest-paying national firms. That's a meaningful foothold, not a fluke, but it means roughly seven in eight graduates build their careers somewhere else, and the honest way to evaluate Chicago-Kent is to look at where that "somewhere else" actually is.
The firm-size breakdown answers that question directly. The single largest employer bracket among Chicago-Kent graduates is small firms of 1-10 attorneys, which absorbed 40 graduates — more than any other category, including Big Law. Add the next tiers up — 27 graduates at firms of 11-25 attorneys, 16 at firms of 26-50, 10 at firms of 51-100, and 11 at firms of 101-250 — and you get a substantial cluster of 64 graduates in the broad mid-size-firm range (11-250 attorneys), plus another 4 at firms of 251-500. In other words, Chicago-Kent's real center of gravity is small-to-mid-size Chicago-area practice, not the handful of firms above the 500-lawyer line. If you're targeting a mid-size Chicago firm rather than a downtown Am Law 100 tower, the data suggests that's not a backup plan at this school — it's the mainstream path.
Beyond firms, government work employs 18 graduates (7.8% of the class) and public interest employs 11 (4.7%), while 24 graduates went into business and industry roles — a sizable non-firm outcome worth noting if you're weighing a J.D. as a credential for corporate or compliance work rather than courtroom practice. Clerkships are modest in number: 1 federal clerkship and 5 state/local clerkships reported for this graduating class, which tells you that a federal appellate or district clerkship is achievable but not a common outcome, while a state or local court clerkship is somewhat more attainable.
The pack identifies "Illinois" as Chicago-Kent's largest employment category, underscoring what you'd expect from a school located at 565 West Adams Street in downtown Chicago: this is fundamentally a school that trains lawyers for the Illinois market, and Chicago's mid-size and boutique firm ecosystem — not a national Big Law feeder pipeline — is where most graduates land. That regional concentration is also a practical advantage if your own career plan centers on Chicago or Illinois: local firms recruiting from Chicago-Kent are drawing from a known, adjacent talent pool, and the school's clinical infrastructure (228 clinic seats filled, 123 field placements, 824 simulation-course enrollments) reflects a curriculum built around exactly the kind of practice-ready litigation and transactional skills that small and mid-size firms value.
On outcomes that determine whether any of this matters, 82.3% of the class secured a job that is full-time, long-term, and either bar-passage-required or J.D.-advantage — a reasonable, though not top-tier, employment outcome nationally, and one where the remaining roughly 18% either found part-time, short-term, non-J.D., or unreported outcomes. Passing the bar is the other gate before any of these jobs matter: Chicago-Kent's first-time bar pass rate is reported at 79.71%, trailing the state average of 81.05% by roughly a point and a half. The ultimate pass rate, which captures graduates who eventually pass within two years of graduation, is considerably stronger at 92.57% (a separate published figure from Chicago-Kent puts a similar two-year ultimate rate at 90.57% for the 2021 graduating cohort specifically — the two figures come from different reporting cycles, so treat the exact percentage as approximate rather than a single fixed number). Either way, the pattern is consistent: a meaningful number of Chicago-Kent graduates who don't pass on the first attempt do pass on a subsequent one, so bar passage is a multi-attempt reality for a portion of each class, not strictly a first-sitting result.
Put together, the honest framing for a prospective applicant is this: if your goal is specifically a 501+-attorney firm, Chicago-Kent places a documented but modest slice of its class there (12.5%). If your goal is practicing law in Chicago at a firm sized for local business — the 1-10, 11-25, or 26-50 attorney range where the bulk of the class lands — Chicago-Kent's placement data supports that as the more probable and better-supported outcome.
Chicago-Kent's most recently reported first-time bar pass rate is 79.71%, compared with an Illinois statewide average of 81.05% for the same test administration — a gap of roughly 1.3 percentage points. That is a real but narrow shortfall, not a wide divergence, and it sits close enough to the state average that a single administration's mix of retakers, part-time students, or first-generation test-takers could move it in either direction the next cycle.
The more revealing number is what happens over time: Chicago-Kent's ultimate bar pass rate climbs to 92.57% within two years of graduation. That means the large majority of graduates who don't clear the bar on the first attempt do pass on a subsequent try, which matters if you're evaluating the degree's real-world value rather than a single test date. (A separately reported ABA disclosure also cites a 90.57% ultimate pass rate for the 2021 graduating cohort specifically, a slightly different measurement window from the two-year ultimate figure above — worth confirming which cohort year you're comparing if bar outcomes are central to your decision.)
The data pack does not break down why the first-time rate trails the state average — it doesn't isolate curriculum, student preparation timelines, or bar-prep participation as causes, so any explanation beyond the numbers themselves would be speculation. What an applicant can reasonably do is treat the first-time rate as one data point, weigh it against the strong two-year recovery, and ask current students or the registrar directly about bar-prep support structures if that gap is a deciding factor. If your career plan requires Illinois bar admission specifically, verify the most current first-time and ultimate figures directly with Chicago-Kent or the Illinois Board of Admissions to the Bar, since these percentages shift by cohort and year.
Chicago-Kent's alumni roster includes Weymouth Kirkland, the namesake partner behind Kirkland & Ellis, one of the largest and highest-grossing law firms in the world — a direct line from this school to modern Big Law's upper echelon. On the public-sector side, Kwame Raoul currently serves as Illinois Attorney General, and Jim Ryan is a former Illinois Attorney General, giving the school two occupants of the state's top legal office across different eras.
The judiciary list is deep for a school of Chicago-Kent's size: Anne M. Burke sits on the Illinois Supreme Court, Ilana Kara Diamond Rovner became the first woman appointed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, and Abraham Lincoln Marovitz served as a federal judge in the Northern District of Illinois. Cook County government has also drawn heavily on Chicago-Kent graduates, including former State's Attorney Anita Alvarez and current Cook County Treasurer Maria Pappas.
The school's earliest history produced its own firsts: Ida Platt graduated in 1894 and became the first Black woman admitted to the Illinois bar, and Robert Sengstacke Abbott, founder of the influential newspaper the Chicago Defender, is also a Chicago-Kent graduate. Outside law and politics, Carson Block built the short-selling research firm Muddy Waters Research after earning his degree here — a reminder that the alumni network runs beyond traditional legal practice into finance and investigative work.
Chicago-Kent offers eleven formal concentrations, letting students build a transcript around a specific practice area rather than a generalist JD. The list spans Business Law, Criminal Litigation, Environmental and Energy Law, Intellectual Property Law, Labor and Employment Law, Privacy Law, Legal Innovation and Technology, Public Interest Law, International and Comparative Law, Litigation and Alternative Dispute Resolution, and Workplace Litigation and Alternative Dispute Resolution. The Legal Innovation and Technology concentration is distinctive given the school's Law Lab, directed by Professor Daniel Martin Katz, and its status as the only law school affiliated with a technology-focused university (Illinois Institute of Technology).
On the scholarship side, Chicago-Kent publishes eight journals, giving students more editorial and research outlets than many peer schools of similar size: the flagship Chicago-Kent Law Review, plus the Chicago-Kent Journal of Environmental and Energy Law, the Employee Rights and Employment Policy Journal, the Illinois Public Employee Relations Report, the Chicago-Kent Journal of Intellectual Property, the Seventh Circuit Review, the Journal of International and Comparative Law, and Satyam, the school's journal on South Asia and the law.
The pairing is fairly coherent: students drawn to the IP concentration have a matching IP journal, those interested in labor and workplace law have two related journals (Employee Rights and Employment Policy Journal and the Illinois Public Employee Relations Report), and the Seventh Circuit Review gives litigation-focused students a direct outlet tied to the federal appellate court that covers Illinois. Anyone choosing between concentrations should treat journal membership as a possible complement rather than a separate decision — several tracks have a natural home in one of the eight publications.
Chicago-Kent admitted 38.61% of its 2,212 applicants for the most recent entering class, putting it well outside the most selective tier of law schools — but an acceptance rate alone tells you nothing about your own file, and no honest guide will translate it into your personal odds. What matters more is where your LSAT and GPA land relative to Chicago-Kent's published medians: an LSAT of 161 and a GPA of 3.72 sit at the school's 50th percentile, while a 164 LSAT or 3.89 GPA would put you at its 75th percentile; a 156 LSAT or 3.45 GPA marks the 25th percentile. Those bands function as planning anchors, not predictions — they tell you how your numbers compare to the class Chicago-Kent actually enrolled, which is the same lens scholarship committees typically use.
That framing matters financially as much as it does for admission itself. Chicago-Kent reports that 92% of its students receive some grant aid, with a median grant of $35,000 among full-time recipients; 62% of students receive an award covering half to full tuition, while 26% receive less than half. Because scholarship bands at most schools are pegged to where an applicant's LSAT and GPA fall against the medians, a score at or above Chicago-Kent's 75th percentile (164 LSAT) is the kind of number that typically opens the door to negotiating a larger award — worth raising directly with the admissions office, and worth reading up on before you do (see /law-school-scholarship-negotiation).
Since the LSAT's 2024 format change, the test consists of two scored Logical Reasoning sections and one scored Reading Comprehension section, with Logic Games removed and an unscored writing sample submitted separately; most applicants who move their score meaningfully do so through sustained practice with official material over several months rather than a single retake (see /how-to-study-for-the-lsat). If you're retaking, know that schools generally consider your highest score, so a jump from the mid-150s toward Chicago-Kent's 161 median or 164 75th-percentile mark is the kind of improvement that can shift both your position in the applicant pool and your scholarship conversation simultaneously.
Given that Grad PLUS loans are gone for new federal borrowers starting July 2026 and federal borrowing is capped, the size of any scholarship offer also determines how much of Chicago-Kent's cost you'd need to cover through private loans or savings — a live math problem before you accept, not after (see /law-school-loans-and-pslf and /is-law-school-worth-it for how to run those numbers, and /law-school-application-timeline for when scholarship decisions typically land relative to admission decisions).
Applying to Chicago-Kent costs nothing out of pocket: the school has waived its application fee for 2026 J.D. applicants, which removes one of the small but real friction points that keeps some applicants from applying to a wider range of schools. Chicago-Kent also accepts either the LSAT or the GRE, a flexibility increasingly common among law schools that lets applicants with a strong quantitative or research background — or those who have already taken the GRE for another graduate program — submit that score instead of sitting for a second standardized test.
Beyond that, the mechanics are the same ones that apply everywhere: applicants go through LSAC, submit a personal statement, letters of recommendation, and a transcript summary, and most schools evaluate applications as they arrive rather than waiting for a single deadline to pass. That rolling-style review, common across the market, generally rewards applying earlier in the cycle — file quality typically has more room to stand out from a smaller applicant pool in the fall than from a large last-minute rush closer to any final deadline. Because a specific application deadline is not something this pack captures, prospective applicants should confirm the current-cycle deadline directly with Chicago-Kent's admissions office rather than assume last year's date carries forward unchanged.
For a full walk-through of the LSAT decision, timing your file, and building a competitive application, see the shared guides on studying for the LSAT and the law school application timeline — the mechanics there apply to Chicago-Kent's process as much as to any other school's.
Financing three years at Chicago-Kent starts with a genuinely favorable fact: 92% of students receive some grant aid, and the median grant among recipients is $35,000 a year. That is a real, widely-distributed discount off sticker tuition — but the pack does not report a specific current tuition figure, so no one should assume a net price without confirming this year's published cost of attendance directly with the school.
What the pack does make clear is the shape of the grant distribution: 62% of grant recipients land in the half-tuition-to-full-tuition band, 26% receive less than half tuition, and full-tuition awards are not reported as a meaningful share of the class. In practical terms, a scholarship offer at or near the middle of that range is the realistic target for most admitted students, and an applicant whose LSAT sits at or above Chicago-Kent's 75th percentile (164) or whose GPA clears its 75th percentile (3.89) is in the strongest position to ask for more — the general mechanics of using your numbers against a school's own medians to negotiate is covered in the shared scholarship-negotiation guide, and it applies directly here given these bands.
On the cost-of-living side, Chicago-Kent's own estimate for off-campus living is $27,964 a year, which is a meaningful addition to whatever tuition figure you confirm — Chicago is not a cheap city, and that number should be built into any three-year budget alongside books, fees, and health insurance.
On the borrowing side, the federal rules that will govern anyone borrowing for law school starting in the 2026-27 year are worth internalizing before you sign anything. Grad PLUS loans — which used to let students borrow up to the full cost of attendance — have been eliminated for new borrowers. In their place, the Direct Unsubsidized Loan for law students is capped at $50,000 a year and $200,000 in aggregate, inside an overall $257,500 lifetime federal borrowing limit. That structural change matters more at schools where tuition isn't fully covered by scholarships, because any gap between what federal loans allow and what a year actually costs has to be filled by savings, private loans, or additional aid — private loans typically come with fewer borrower protections and no path to forgiveness. Given that 92% of Chicago-Kent's class gets a grant and most of those grants fall in the half-to-full range, a substantial share of students should be able to close much of that gap, but anyone offered a smaller award (the 26% receiving less than half tuition) should model the loan caps carefully before enrolling.
Repayment strategy should also factor into the decision. As of the 2026-27 cycle, new federal borrowers choose between a Tiered Standard Plan and the Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP), an income-driven option. Standard is the default and earns no credit toward Public Service Loan Forgiveness — a borrower who wants to preserve the PSLF path toward government or nonprofit work needs to actively enroll in RAP rather than assume forgiveness happens automatically. Given that Chicago-Kent places meaningful numbers of graduates into government and public-interest roles (detail on that below), this is not a hypothetical for a chunk of its class — anyone planning that route should build loan strategy around RAP from day one, not backfill it in year eight of repayment. For the fuller mechanics of loan caps, RAP, and PSLF, see the shared guide on law school loans and PSLF; for negotiating grant offers specifically, see the scholarship-negotiation guide.
For most of Chicago-Kent's class, the honest answer is: it depends on what you compare it to, and whether you go in with a realistic map of where its graduates actually land. Chicago-Kent puts 12.5% of its graduates — 29 out of roughly 232 — into firms of 501 or more attorneys, the Big Law tier where salaries cluster near the high end of the national bimodal distribution. That leaves the other 87.5% of the class distributed across a very different labor market, and that market is where most applicants should be doing their real cost-benefit math.
Look at where the rest of the class actually goes. The firm-size breakdown shows 40 graduates in firms of 1-10 attorneys, 27 in 11-25, 16 in 26-50, 10 in 51-100, and 11 in 101-250 — in other words, the great majority of Chicago-Kent graduates practice at small and mid-sized firms, not at the marquee names. Beyond firms, 7.8% of graduates go into government work, 4.7% into public interest, and 24 graduates (roughly 10% of the class) go into business and industry roles. Clerkships are a small slice: one federal clerkship and five state/local clerkships from this graduating class. None of these numbers are bad outcomes on their own — small-firm, government, and business-and-industry paths are real, sustainable legal careers — but they pay very differently than Big Law, and a financing plan built on the assumption of a 501+ firm salary is the wrong plan for seven or eight out of ten students who enroll.
The employment headline number worth anchoring on is that 82.3% of graduates land in full-time, long-term jobs that require bar passage or give a J.D. advantage. That is a solid outcome for a school ranked 105th by U.S. News for 2026-27, and it means the large majority of the class is working in law or law-adjacent roles within the reporting window — but it also means close to one in five graduates is not in that category, which matters when you're deciding whether the investment clears the bar for you specifically, given your own career goals and risk tolerance.
Bar passage is a second checkpoint. Chicago-Kent's first-time bar pass rate is 79.71%, a bit below the state average of 81.05% — a gap worth noting but not catastrophic, especially once you look at the two-year outcome: 92.57% of the class ultimately passes the bar within two years of graduation. That two-year number is the more meaningful one for career planning, since it captures nearly everyone who eventually gets licensed, even if not on the first sitting. If you are the kind of test-taker who benefits from more preparation time or a second attempt, that gap between first-time and ultimate pass rates should inform how you budget your first year after graduation, both financially and in terms of bar-prep planning — not something to treat as a red flag on its own, but something to factor into your post-grad timeline.
So is it worth it if you're not headed to Big Law? A few things make the answer more favorable than a bare ranking number would suggest. First, Chicago-Kent's clinical and skills training is unusually deep for a school this size: 228 clinic seats with 212 filled, 123 field placements filled, 824 simulation-course enrollments, and a trial advocacy program that has placed in the nation's top tier and won the National Trial Competition four times. For a graduate heading into a small firm, government office, or solo practice — which, per the numbers above, is where most of this class ends up — that kind of hands-on litigation and client-facing training is arguably more directly useful than a big firm's associate-training pipeline would be. Second, the school's grant profile (92% of the class receiving aid, a $35,000 median grant, 62% of recipients landing in the half-to-full tuition band) means a meaningful share of students are not paying full freight, which changes the debt side of the worth-it calculation substantially. Third, for the roughly 12.5% combined government-and-public-interest slice of the class, the RAP/PSLF path discussed above is directly relevant and can make the debt load manageable over a ten-year horizon, provided the borrower actively enrolls in the right repayment plan.
What should give a prospective applicant real pause is the same thing that should give pause at any school outside the very top of the market: if your goal is specifically Big Law, a 12.5% placement rate means you are the exception, not the expectation, and you should not finance your three years as though the 501+ outcome is the likely one. If your goal is a durable legal career in Chicago or Illinois more broadly — small firm, government, business counsel, or public interest — the outcomes data here reads as reasonably solid, particularly once cost is managed through the grant bands most students actually receive. For the general framework on weighing sticker cost, debt, and realistic outcomes against each other, see the shared is-law-school-worth-it guide — the mechanics there are generic, but Chicago-Kent's own numbers above are what should fill in the variables.